We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They sang happy birthday to my brother.”
Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rumi Punku
Ranked #18 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“They sang happy birthday to my brother.”
Reviewed 27 November 2010

My brother and I stayed at Rumi Punku before our trip to Machu Picchu and again for a few days after we got back. The hotel made arrangements to pick us up at airport. Upon arriving we were welcomed with some coca tea to deal with the altitude as we were checking in. The hotel has a great reception area and lobby along with numerous courtyards. The rooms themselves are nothing great, simply a bed and bathroom but served our purposes. The price includes a decent breakfast consisting of eggs, meat, cheeses and pastries, fruits, cereals and juice. I told the staff it was my brother's birthday and a short time later we were summoned to the lobby where Jesus (not the real one), Carla and Uri sang happy birthday to my brother and had purchased a cake for him. We had an impromptu party with other guests, which turned out to be a lot of fun. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel, it is about a 5 minute walk to Plaza de Armas, has 4 computers in the business center which was great considering how small the hotel is, and the staff is very helpful in making recommendations and coordinating taxis to the airport or for sight seeing.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WCLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    396
    72
    22
    4
See reviews for
255
623
102
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2010

We really loved the Rumi Punku. The staff was excellent. From the front desk to the wait and kitchen staff to the bellmen/security men. Always a smile and making sure your day is going 'as planned'. The breakfast is so enjoyable - extremely fresh cut fruit - cereals - and made to order eggs along with great coffee hit the spot every morning. The business center had 4 pc's that were always functioning - and the hotel has excellent secured wifi. We were there for 3 nights then went trekking for a week and stayed another 3. I had no problem leaving my laptop and other gear for them to hold for the week. They were so detail orientated. They made excellent dinner suggestions (Inka Grill, Patcha pappa). The hotel is in a good location, 3 blocks from the Plaza des Armes we loved that it was close but far enough to be a little removed from the shops/commotion. There street is well lit and there is always a bellman/guard there to welcome you back. It didnt seem necessary, but it was very reassuring. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely reccomend it to anyone stayng in Cusco.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treedsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Lovely hotel! Spacious rooms with good bathroom. Excellent breakfast! Only thing missing is a large pool. Otherwise perfect!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linziluzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We were picked up from the airport and taken to the hotel. Despite arriving prior to checkin time we were welcomed and given a hot cup of coco tea to help adjust to the altitude. Breakfast was excellent every morning. Happy to store our bags while we walked the Inca Trail for 4 days free of charge.
Lovely english speaking staff.
Very happy with the service and room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanaSNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2010

We stayed at Rumi Punku in Oct before we were headed to Machu Pichu. Beautiful hotel! Good size rooms. Comfy beads and very quite in the evenings. Breakfast was amazing with eggs, bacon or sausage, fruits, pastries and hot beverages! The Inka Cafe down the street had the most amazing food! Great Qinoa soup and chicaron (pork cutlet) sandwiches for an affordable price. Jacks was also good.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottekill, New York, USA
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Hotel Rumi Punku in Cusco, Peru looked decent on Trip Advisor, but honestly by the time I got around to booking a room there, I wasn't able to spend my usual amount of time comparing the hotel to others.
What a pleasure when we walked though the genuine, but nondescript Incan stone door frame and saw flowers and beauty everywhere! We were immediately handed cups of tea to help alleviate elevation sickness while being greeted by Jesus the manager. He sat us down in the sitting area while our bags were quietly removed to our intended room. He talked us though paperwork and any potential questions. Then he escorted us though hallways and open air areas filled with tropical plants, vased flowers and comfortable seating spaces. When we got to our room, it opened onto one of the fountained, roofless squares, filled with greenery. The room was lovely with comfortable bedding, a vase of flowers, furniture, flatscreen TV and modern bath. It was a good size for the two of us.
We spent 3 days and 4 nights at the Rumi Punku. It was quiet and serene 24/7. We enjoyed the included buffet breakfast with an assortment of fresh squeezed juices and cut up fruit, along with rolls, cheese, meats, cereals, and fresh eggs prepared to your liking. All the staff we met were courteous, helpful and very accommodating.
We would love to return to Cusco. If we do, we will definitely stay again with Jesus and his staff at the Rumi Punku! Thank you all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2010

The Rumi Punku, is set in a quiet area of Cusco but within easy reach of the main square, San Blas, shops, etc.

We had the opportunity to stay in three different rooms, due to us using it as a base in between trips. We found the rooms to be in good condition, clean and have comfortable beds.

Structurally the hotel is interesting with rooms located over three floors looking in on a series of courtyards and verandas, these are decorated with plans and ornaments with plenty of chairs and tables making this a relaxed and attractive environment .

The hotel also benefits from the addition of a separate internet room, with four computers.

A good quality buffet breakfast is served in an attractive dining area over a very flexible time period.

We found all staff very friendly, courteous and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 167 in Cusco
1,471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Property: Hotel Rumi Punku
Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing