We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel with great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ruinas

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Ruinas
Ranked #51 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Garner
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent hotel with great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The rooms at the hotel are OK. Not fabulous but not horrible. There is no elevator so being on the third floor in a high elevation climate was exhausting but do-able for most people. The staff was excellent, always helpful and wearing multiple hats so you know they are working their tails off. The food was actually really good but the only soup that is gluten free is the quinoa. They also had quinoa cereal for breakfast which was really tasty. The palta rellena was fabulous! Location was very convenient to other restaurants and shopping. Would definitely recommend this hotel for the value and service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lzc, Director Comercial at Hotel Ruinas, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your seggestion.
You help us to improve our service.

Our best.

HOTEL RUINAS
Larissa Zúñiga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    93
    35
    5
    0
See reviews for
43
86
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Centrally located (about 3 blocks from the main plaza and a 10-minute walk to the Sun Temple), Hotel Ruinas makes it easy to explore Cusco on foot.

Very cute lobby/atrium area, which our room overlooked (can get a bit loud at times but an interesting view for sure). The rooms themselves are pretty basic, though our triple was quite roomy (2 connecting rooms). A lot of things are a bit dated, and I'm not a huge fan of hotels that still have the old school bed covers, but honestly, that's just me being nit picky. No major issue.

Reception clerks are very knowledgeable about best route to key sights, as well as good restaurants near by, so when in doubt, just ask. Their service in general is great - helping us make calls/arrangements in Spanish (life saver!) and giving useful tips about cost of taxis, etc. The only downside was the taxi they helped us arrange our last morning ended up trying to price gauge us, so I'd suggest asking for the hotel to help negotiate the rate beforehand (in their defense, the hotel did tell us the going rate, which was how we realized we were being ripped off in the first place!).

Overall, very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the atrium can be a bit loud (though only sporadically) but are also warmer becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeteorLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lzc, Director Comercial at Hotel Ruinas, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped

Muchas gracias por su visita, nos alegra que haya tenido una estadía grata en el Hotel Ruinas. Los esperamos en una proxima visita.

atentamente
HOTEL RUINAS
Larissa Zúñiga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Great hotel with a fantastic staff, within walking distance of main square. A true Peruvian place to stay without sacrificing creature comforts. The staff handled all of my questions during my almost 2 week stay in Cusco. I would most definitely stay here again and recommend to my friends who want a place that is quaint, accessible to everything, is affordable and above all else takes the extra steps to make its guests welcome! Thank you very much from Hal in North Carolina.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harmstrong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, ON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This hotel is 2 blocks from the main square in Cuzco and surrounded by great restaurants. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was nice and simple... not a lot of stuff but pretty much all hotels that I stayed at seem to offer the same: 2-3 juice options, break, cold cuts/cheese eggs, bacon/sausage, yogurt/cereal and fruit. My first room faced the back and it was a bit hard to sleep as there were dogs barking during the night. My second night (on the way back from Machu Picchu) the room was quieter than the first. Overall it was a very nice place and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Great hotel near the main square of Cusco, provides a good breakfast and their partner travel agency, Ruinas Travel, offers impeccable service and guided tours for an excellent price. We used the travel agency for our entire time in Peru, and their service and the guide they provided made it one of the best vacations we have ever had. Ask for Romulo!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lzc, Director Comercial at Hotel Ruinas, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for your choice. You help us to improve our service.
We hope this is not the first time.

Our best.
HOTEL RUINAS
Larissa Zúñiga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed at Hotel Ruinas for a total of two nights in May and June 2013. The hotel is nice and decorated really beautifully. The rooms are small but comfortable. They offer a basic breakfast which was good. We ordered dinner in the room the first night. The meals were fine but no where near the best meals we had in Peru or Cuzco. The best thing about the hotel is the location. It is really close the main square, museums, restaurants, etc. We were able to walk everywhere and easily stop back at the hotel to drop off things, rest or pick up a coat or camera.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naturetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lzc, Director Comercial at Hotel Ruinas, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your choice. We hope this is not the first time.
Our best

HOTEL RUINAS
Larissa Zúñiga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Ruinas was our least favorite of all the hotels we stayed in during our 17 days in Peru. Our room was tiny but it did over look the city. The rooms were not very clean, the breakfast was adequate but nothing special. The employees were helpful however one of our friends accidently left her key in the room and the manager insisted she could not open the door for her until someone brought a key from another location -- an hour later! In the meantime, other employees were going into rooms to clean them!! Surely there was a pass key!

Room Tip: Ask for a view. Lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roselle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#32 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.2 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Inka I
Royal Inka I
#44 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Marqueses
Hotel Los Marqueses
#45 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Illa Hotel
Illa Hotel
#43 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruinas

Property: Hotel Ruinas
Address: Calle Ruinas # 472 | A dos cuadras de la Plaza de Armas, Cusco 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Cusco
#28 Family Hotel in Cusco
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruinas 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two blocks from the Main Plaza. 15 minutes from the airport. 10 minutes from Sacsayhuaman. Very close to Qoricancha temple, San Blas neighborhoord, Museums, Churches.WiFi. Buffet breakfast included. Restaurante. Bar. Laundry service. Babysitter. Money change. Credit card and cash payment. Airport pickup. Tourist information. Pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Ruinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruinas Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing