We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, efficient and well worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orquidea Real Hostal
Ranked #38 of 403 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed in the Orquidea Real at the beginning and end of our 4 day Inca Trail hike. They stored our luggage over the hike and had everything ready and waiting for us in our rooms when we got back. The folks working there were more than happy to assist in whatever way possible, and despite me not speaking Spanish, everything worked out perfectly. Warm water, big beds, clean towels, and easily withing walking distance of anything in Cusco you might want to go to.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

Great little hotel. More like a small B&B then a real hotel. Very close to the city square and just down the hill from the San Blas area. We stayed in two different rooms at our stay there, once before our trip to Machu Picchu and again afterwards. The staff was very accommodating and alerted us to our scheduled activities the next day, including pickup time and wake up calls as well as what we would need. The only complaint that we had was that the pillows were a bit uncomfortable and probably need to be replaced in all the rooms

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lumasand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I just love this place. I was here 12 years ago and couldn't wait to get back. Built with an original Inca wall on one side, this place and it's ancient floors is very comforting. It is not fancy, but it is very well kept and you will sleep like a baby in the wonderful comfy beds and feather comforters. The breakfast has been improved to include eggs fried or scrambled, which filled out the breakfast nicely. The staff are great; most are bi-lingual and will do anything to assist you. A special shout out to the afternoon host, Darwin, who was like a second set of eyes and ears and went beyond his duty to make sure I enjoyed my stay. Thank you, Darwin!!
I have stayed here about 12 nights over the past twelve years; you can feel comfortable leaving your luggage in storage as you explore the Sacred Valley; it'll be in your new room when you return.
You're a mere 3 blocks from all the action at the Plaza, but the hotel is isolated enough that you don't have all the night time noise. You're gonna climb 53 steps every time you come or go, but the staff is happy to help you transport your luggage at departure and arrival. Each room is equipped with a lovely fireplace that is attended to by staff when it's needed. I just got home and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Orquidea Real. Very good hostel. Not the cheapest one but usefull and few block far from the city center. The breakfast is perfect to start the day. The staff is very friendly and they helped us to planify some activities. I will strongly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oriol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

The staff were great, with a free pick-up from the bus station and then carried our heavy bags up the long steps to get to the hostel and gave us great tips of unknown places to shop, eat etc. The room was out of this world, with a heater (much needed at night) and the most humongous bed i've ever seen, and a really cute basket full of towels, soap etc. However I must say that the "American Breakfast" was a slight dissapointment, I hate it when people moan about breakfast, but at Orqedea's prices I feel they should put on a more impressive breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleanor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Hostels are generally not luxury or first class, but the room with bath was clean, safe, well furnished and very comfortable. Staff at the front desk were extremely helpful. It's a little difficult to locate this hostel on a map, but I assure you that it is only a block or two from the Cathedral, and very convenient. I would have no problem booking this again and only wish that other hostels in the world were like this one.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavePars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We found this hotel to be of great value with hot water (difficult to find in Peru sometimes); excellent, friendly, helpful staff; great location (in San Blas, near Plaza de Armas and Qorikancha); clean; comfortable; spacious. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.8 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#66 of 172 in Cusco
222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#160 of 172 in Cusco
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#40 of 172 in Cusco
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 533 in Cusco
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.5 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#57 of 533 in Cusco
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orquidea Real Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orquidea Real Hostal

Address: Alabado 520 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 403 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: £30 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Orquidea Real Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orquidea Real Hostal come to life from the restoration of an old colonial house located in the historical heart of Cusco. Its architecture keeps to tradition and colonial style and thus blends beautifully with its surroundings. The hostal's original Inca walls , its exceptional views of Cusco , the ceilings with visible wooden beams, make it very cozy and unique . Hot and cold water supply is guaranteed day and night by means of an underground reserve of 400 liters per bathroom which complies with European standards. Orquidea Real Hostal Guests can take pleasure in touring the city's top attractions: Qoricancha temple, The Catedral, Main Square, San Blas neighborhood, inka Musseum, etc The hotel features 10 appointed guest rooms each one with cable television, safety box, electric heater, hair dryer, also some of them with balcony/terrace. The facilities and services provided by Orquidea Real Hostal ensure a pleasant stay for guests. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, good location, bilingual staff, tours information , Wi-Fi in public areas and storage service for free.. Enjoy our unique friendly atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Orquidea Real Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orquidea Real Hostal Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing