We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adorable, Felt like home! they do all the "little things"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orquidea Real Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orquidea Real Hostal
Ranked #29 of 339 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Adorable, Felt like home! they do all the "little things"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

A travelling group of 8 we were, all of us from different upbringings, etc different outlooks on life and expectations. However, during our 5 weeks of travelling, ALL of us agree on one thing. this place was by far the best place we have stayed. Granted there are a few steps to get up, and being in high altitude (and possibly slightly unfit to boot) makes it a slow process.. however, we would still all go back in a heart beat to this place. I couldn't imagine staying in any other place. it was quaint, authentic and comfortable. Had a wonderful view in the morning at breakfast and it was quiet. we were treated like family, the girls behind the counter (and the boys running up and down the stairs with our bags) could not have been more helpful. had left my mobile phone in the bus that dropped us off, within an hour the girls had tracked it down and had it delivered to me in my room! They helped out with everything possible, Our laundry was done for next to nothing in cost. During our stay (unbeknownst to us) there were protests going on in Lima airport, whilst we were out exploring the city, the girls in the hotel had kept up to date on the flight info and organised a driver to pick us up earlier than planned to ensure we didn't miss any connecting flights. We were always greeted with smiles and it really was a fantastic stay. Close to a few restaurants and a 10 min walk into the main square. they are strict on check out time, but that is because they would be constantly booked because it really is a cute little place with loads of character and felt so homely. even though check out was 8am, they held our bags until we were picked up. They also held ALL our bags overnight for no charge when we stayed up in Machu Picchu at another hotel and when we returned to check back in again, all our suitcases had been put back into our rooms ready for us!. Can not speak more highly of our stay. We will all remember the great time we had there. Plan to go again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazvrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    46
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
20
46
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Small Boutique Hotel in Cusco City Peru. Hard to find hotel. Beware this hotel is not on a road, but situated on a stairwell between two streets in San Blas. The easiest way to find this hotel is to go to the J W Marriott Hotel look to the right, follow the street until you get to a set of stairs, near a water fountain, with frog statues. Walk up the stairs and its on your right. Don't trust taxi drivers to get you there, just ask to be dropped at the Marriott and walk. Overall, good hotel, close to everything, good service and friendly smile by the staff. Quiet and vintage in design, some hand painted etchings are on the walls which adds to the charm. We stayed here for one night and then headed to the airport. No faults, clean and friendly service. Recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second story, I felt sorry for the people on the first floor, as floor boards were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barramax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

I found this place through the recommendation of a friend. Wonderful little inn with charm. Friendly staff. Free airport pick up! My room was great, not your cookie cutter hotel room. Breakfast was perfect and served in a room overlooking the mountains. Fresh squeezed OJ and fresh made blueberry jam. EXCELLENT value!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I stayed here with my partner and two friends on our month long trip through Peru. This by far stood out as the most memorable of places we stayed at. The architecture of the hotel is really different and If you are expecting your normal mini fridge and flat screen style hotel look elsewhere. If you are looking to immerse yourself into a different culture and be within walking distance to the main Plaza this is the place to go. The front desk was great in offering tips on how to take the local buses to sites in the Sacred Valley and also helpful with restaurant recommendations. They also offer a shuttle service to pick you up from the Airport which was extremely helpful as the altitude immediately hits you and may be disorienting at first. The overall service of Orquidea was prompt and friendly and if I ever find myself in Cusco again I would most definitely stay here. They had complimentary wifi and a morning breakfast the helps cut down on costs which I really took advantage of!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMcGarity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights after we went to Machu Picchu. The staff was very helpful, the breakfast filling, and rooms massive. This is a great value for the cost ($55). It was very easy to walk to all the intown historical sites and great restaurants.

The room itself is a little dated but it was clean and very large. The bathroom was more modern and the hot water consistent.

Room Tip: second floor rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lostinthesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We spent a total of four nights here and were very content. Loved the beamed ceilings, tile floors, and rustic charm of the rooms. They were attractive and clean, and the electric heaters warmed things up enough to keep us comfortable in the chilly Cusco winter. We also appreciated the extra blankets in the dresser, the hot showers, and the steady supply of hot tea in the lobby. Breakfast was tasty but didn't vary beyond eggs cooked to order, bread and jam, fresh juice, and coffee or tea. Hotel staff were always pleasant, they happily stored our bags for 3 days while we were trekking, and they gave us a good rate on a larger room when we returned. However, they did not seem prepared to offer advice about booking any tours, helping us buy bus tickets, or assisting with arrangements other than calling taxis. Fortunately, the hotel is very close to the main plaza, with tons of tour companies nearby (as well as shops and restaurants). One caveat about the location: the hotel is not set right on the street; to reach the front door, you have to climb stairs up a pedestrian passageway. The climb can be daunting until you get used to the altitude, but the upside is that the hotel is very quiet (there's no street noise, though you may hear other guests walking past your room when they come or go). Only other drawback was that there was only one computer for guests to use, and it was out of order part of the time we were there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed at this property, a good property with Very Poor Customer Service. Checked in late at 10:00 pm. After check in asked the girl at the front desk what time was the check out and she said 8:00 am, so I requested if it is possible to check out later. She said No, but later agreed for 9am, and said if later I have to pay 25% of the one day rent, because they have someone coming in that day. But next day during check out I asked another girl at the front desk, who was nice, and she said no issues I could have checked out little later, because they had no one coming till 2:30 PM that afternoon.

Also the beds were squeaking and made noise.

The first front office girl had very bad attitude.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#34 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ninos Hotel
Ninos Hotel
#24 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#3 of 339 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pisko & Soul
Pisko & Soul
#11 of 401 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Cusi Wasi
Hostal Cusi Wasi
#30 of 339 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Munaycha Hospedaje
Munaycha Hospedaje
#10 of 339 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orquidea Real Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orquidea Real Hostal

Property: Orquidea Real Hostal
Address: Alabado 520 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Orquidea Real Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orquidea Real Hostal come to life from the restoration of an old colonial house located in the historical heart of Cusco. Its architecture keeps to tradition and colonial style and thus blends beautifully with its surroundings. The hostal's original Inca walls , its exceptional views of Cusco , the ceilings with visible wooden beams, make it very cozy and unique . Hot and cold water supply is guaranteed day and night by means of an underground reserve of 400 liters per bathroom which complies with European standards. Orquidea Real Hostal Guests can take pleasure in touring the city's top attractions: Qoricancha temple, The Catedral, Main Square, San Blas neighborhood, inka Musseum, etc The hotel features 10 appointed guest rooms each one with cable television, safety box, electric heater, hair dryer, also some of them with balcony/terrace. The facilities and services provided by Orquidea Real Hostal ensure a pleasant stay for guests. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, good location, bilingual staff, tours information , Wi-Fi in public areas and storage service for free.. Enjoy our unique friendly atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Orquidea Real Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orquidea Real Hostal Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing