We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean & contemporary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
Ranked #21 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“clean & contemporary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

The location is right on the square, which can be loud (bring ear plugs), but it is very convenient and so beautiful. The breakfast restaurant & bar/cafe has a balcony right over the Plaza. The rooms are small but efficient (bedside lights, duvets, etc. ) and clean & crisp. Not hugely charming but much prefer the new, contemporary Peruvian look to most of the competing hotels which are older and more cluttered.
We stayed 3 nights - on 2 of them there was no turndown service and on the 3rd there was.
Breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: The room with the slanted ceiling is much bigger & nicer than the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5travelpros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    132
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
71
131
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

That was the last stop in Peru for me.However,I have to say that was a perfect ending for me as well.The hotel was located on the main plaza,that was great and very convenient.In addition,their room are very clean,stuff are very friendly and helpful.I stayed there for 5 days,I felt so cozy just like at home.The view from the second floor was great if you have enough time to enjoy your Pisco.I am so glad I have stayed 5 days there in Peru.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris_Chuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Pros: friendly and helpful staff, nice clean rooms, stylishly decorated, comfortable beds, great breakfast.

Cons: can be noisy. Our room (3rd floor) faced out onto the intersection of Avenue del Sol and Ave. Marquez, which seemed to have traffic till about 1am and then again starting around 4am. I have a feeling that the rooms facing out onto the Plaza would be quieter (traffic always flowing one way?), and certainly the interior rooms would be quieter still.

We really enjoyed the hotel though. The location was ideal -- close to major sights, great restaurants, fun neighborhoods and good shopping. We would definitely return, just with earplugs next time! Or maybe we'd try the altitude medicine -- that might have affected our ability to sleep soundly also.

Room Tip: If a quiet night's sleep is important to you, choose an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myfamilystravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

I stayed 2 separated nights at this hotel. Both rooms were really nice and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is right at Plaza de Armas, the best place to be in Cuzco, near everything.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

I traveled with a group of 4 other people. We all agreed that Plaza de Armas hotel set the bar high for the rest of our stay in Peru. It is perfectly located right in the center. I would recommend bringing earplugs though because the great location comes at a cost noise wise and it was pretty loud outside with beeping, whistling, music, and cannons going off (yes, cannons...every morning). That is the only negative thing I can say though. The rooms were clean and attractive. The bed I shared with my husband was huge and very comfortable. The shower had great water pressure and no "too hot, too cold" issues. It has a great rooftop that we all sat out on at night for drinks. We were also on the 4th floor which has a separate sitting/bar area that we were able to sit in at night and talk and relax.The staff were friendly and welcoming. They were able to call and set up a van/cab for us to take for the day to visit various sites we wanted to see in the Sacred Valley. I would recommend this hotel to any friends or family I had visiting Cusco.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with friends I would recommend the 4th floor to have a nice sitting area. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emrbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Apart from being in the best location for Cusco - which is right in the main square, the rooms are wonderful. I am sleeping in the most comfy king size bed and step out in the morning onto heated floor boards! The shower is fabulous and the whole bathroom is really nice and modern. There is also plenty of cupboard space
It has a good buffet breakfast and it has a bar and resturaunt as well. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spotteddeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Just remodel, very nice and quiet, exelent view, and great atmosphere, stayed for a week and felt at home.
Great view of the room to the main plaza
Totally recomended, normally I don't recomend places, but this one I loved
Great Wifi

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza
0.4 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#17 of 163 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#28 of 163 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel

Property: Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
Address: Mantas 114, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hostal is located in one of the most iconic buildings in downtown Cusco, right on the Plaza de Armas (main plaza). It boasts an incredible view to Cuzco's old baroque-style cathedral and beautiful churches and stone buildings from the ancient Inca time. Enjoy the charming service and the unique location just steps from the major tourist attractions, best restaurants and handicraft markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing