We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid little corner hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
Ranked #22 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2009

This is a splendidly located little hotel with very friendly service. It is situated on a very busy corner of the Plaza de Armas and from the small lobby you can see through the windows and the glass door the continuous flow of visitors and locals coming in and out the plaza. In fact, you feel that you are still in the plaza standing in the lobby. The lobby itself is small and can be quite crowded when group of tourists check in and out. Surprisingly for an old building, the hotel has a spacious elevator that eliminates the pain of hauling bulking trek gear or luggage up narrow stairs, as in other hotels in Cusco. If you want to be in a more quit and relaxing atmosphere go to the cafeteria in the second floor. A long narrow balcony facing the plaza provides a good setting for a relaxing pisco-sour after a long day sightseeing the city. The Plaza de Armas is the living center of social, community, religious and cultural activities of Cusco, and from the balcony of this hotel you have a good chance to witness some of these activities. I spent part of a sunny morning watching a big parade of elementary and high-school students that occupied the whole plaza. I got a room with a window facing calle Mantas –another busy street- that although smallish was tastefully decorated and with a sunny bathroom. There was hot water in abundance, and everything was extremely clean. The hotel employees were extremely nice and helpful in providing information, and arranging tours and transportation, and very attentive in general. Even more, I always remember them smiling. In summary, an excellent place to stay in Cusco among attentive hostess without breaking the family budget.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fmontesinos, Manager at Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2009

Dear Guest: I would like to thank you very much for your feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found a high level of service. We loved the name you gave us : Splendid little corner hotel! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards,
Flavia Montesinos, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2009

We spent 3 days there. It's a simple hotel, so we expected no luxe at all. The room is small and we had some difficulty to close the curtains. Anyway, what we were looking for was a central location, and this hotel, just in front of the Plaza de Armas, was perfect for that.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nizinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaDeArmas, Management Representative at Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2009

Dear guest,
Greetings from Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel!

We would like to thank you for your comment, as it helps us improve both our services and facilities. Since the new management took over the hotel, there have been some enhancements in our facilities.

We are happy to share with you that since August last year we have been improving our rooms. We have changed telephones, the lighting, bathrooms and the curtains system as well. Also, in order to give our guests more and better services, we opened the ‘El Balcón’ Cafe on the second floor of the hotel, with one of the best views of the main square. We also offer WIFI access in public areas and some rooms.
Thank you once again for your comments!!!!

Flavia Montesinos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

we stayed here for three days. It is in an old building on the main square. Depending on the room you may overlook the main square or the main street, I believe there are interior rooms which I did not see. The building is old, could use some work but the staff was very helpful and the location could not be better. You could not get a better location. the breakfast was not up to the qualify of the other hotels we stayed at in Peru as it was continental style and not much of it.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 239jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Juan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Irina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Jesús C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tita23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 171 in Cusco
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.3 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel

Address: Mantas 114, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: £80 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hostal is located in one of the most iconic buildings in downtown Cusco, right on the Plaza de Armas (main plaza). It boasts an incredible view to Cuzco's old baroque-style cathedral and beautiful churches and stone buildings from the ancient Inca time. Enjoy the charming service and the unique location just steps from the major tourist attractions, best restaurants and handicraft markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing