We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing fancy, but perfect location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
Ranked #22 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Arkansas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, but perfect location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

This hotel is located right on the plaza in Cuscos. This over-rides a mutlitude of sins. Room feels dingy even though it's reasonably clean. Has good wifi. The bathroom is old and toilet does not flust well. Friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast is okay with a few breads, fruits, and eggs with ham, upon request. I found it to be reasonably quiet at bedtime, but noise carried from my neighbors earlier in the evening. Free coca tea!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoeTraveler999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    131
    25
    4
    1
See reviews for
69
130
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baytown
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

It wasn't fancy, but we weren't expecting that. You don't stay in your room except to sleep! We had no trouble with noise and the shower was hot. Everything was clean and the service was great. We could walk most places we wanted to go, shopping close, large market just up the hill within walking distance. It was great being able to look out our window and see 2 large streets going in different directions. One morning we saw a military parade on one street and in the evening we saw an Indian protest parade just by standing at our window. The night we came back from Machupicchu there was a huge crowd in front of the cathedral so we were able to just walk across and see all the lovely young girls and boys in native dress doing ceremonial dances.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluejay166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

We stayed 3 nights.

We were part of a Tour that went to Lima, Islas Ballestras, Ica, Nazca, and then Cuzco. I will not recommend this hotel. I am not sure how much the tour operators paid per night, but it was the worst hotel during the trip. Too noisy -despite asking for an interior room, people talking loudly in the hallway at 1AM, closing doors too loudly...We had the worst nights in Cuzco.

Negatives:
-Noisy
-Very old decor, uncomfortable tiny beds.
Neutral:
-Very small/continental style breakfast. It was the worst breakfast offering of the trip...
Positives:
-Staff and everyone working on the hotel are very friendly
-Location

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank panedu50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

The Plaza de Armas Hotel in central Cuzco was an OK place to stay while visiting the area. Its location right on the main town square (Plaza de Armas) in Cuzco could not be beat. There are lots of stores nearby to satisfy your needs -- travel shops, small stores that sell souvenirs, bottled water, film, batteries, ice cream bars, etc.

We were in this hotel as part of a package tour to visit Machu Picchu. We didn't know it at the time, but because were were a group of four (two adults, two young kids), we ended up getting two rooms as part of our package deal, which was fine with us. The hotel is pretty old, I don't know if they even have the concept of connected rooms, but our rooms were across the hall from each other, so we had to 'split up' when it was time for bed. One of our rooms had three beds in it (see photo), which left very little non-bed space, and that was mostly taken up with backpacks and luggage. The other room had two beds in it so was a little more spacious, but not by much. The rooms were certainly clean and comfortable enough and were OK for the price paid. The hotel is a little noisy, being located right on the town's main square, which is fed by a bunch of major streets, so lots of traffic noise. In addition, the halls were a bit noisy. Hard walls, hard floors, and solid wooden doors that somewhat rattled in their door jambs meant that any guest closing their door made a bit of a racket. Even people just walking down the hall and talking were easily heard inside of our room. The hotel could benefit from some soft wall hangings in the halls to abate the noise.

The staff was very friendly and was happy to hold our bags for us (at no extra charge) while we were out of town for two days (we took the train to Machu Picchu and stayed there overnight). The hotel had a small restaurant that we used each day for breakfast, staff there very friendly as well and the food very good. Mostly continental breakfast, which included some local fare such as quinoua and some local fruit drinks.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlamb27613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

This is a splendidly located little hotel with very friendly service. It is situated on a very busy corner of the Plaza de Armas and from the small lobby you can see through the windows and the glass door the continuous flow of visitors and locals coming in and out the plaza. In fact, you feel that you are still in the plaza standing in the lobby. The lobby itself is small and can be quite crowded when group of tourists check in and out. Surprisingly for an old building, the hotel has a spacious elevator that eliminates the pain of hauling bulking trek gear or luggage up narrow stairs, as in other hotels in Cusco. If you want to be in a more quit and relaxing atmosphere go to the cafeteria in the second floor. A long narrow balcony facing the plaza provides a good setting for a relaxing pisco-sour after a long day sightseeing the city. The Plaza de Armas is the living center of social, community, religious and cultural activities of Cusco, and from the balcony of this hotel you have a good chance to witness some of these activities. I spent part of a sunny morning watching a big parade of elementary and high-school students that occupied the whole plaza. I got a room with a window facing calle Mantas –another busy street- that although smallish was tastefully decorated and with a sunny bathroom. There was hot water in abundance, and everything was extremely clean. The hotel employees were extremely nice and helpful in providing information, and arranging tours and transportation, and very attentive in general. Even more, I always remember them smiling. In summary, an excellent place to stay in Cusco among attentive hostess without breaking the family budget.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fmontesinos, Manager at Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2009
Dear Guest: I would like to thank you very much for your feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found a high level of service. We loved the name you gave us : Splendid little corner hotel! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards,
Flavia Montesinos, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
181 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

We spent 3 days there. It's a simple hotel, so we expected no luxe at all. The room is small and we had some difficulty to close the curtains. Anyway, what we were looking for was a central location, and this hotel, just in front of the Plaza de Armas, was perfect for that.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — comfort
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nizinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaDeArmas, Management Representative at Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2009
Dear guest,
Greetings from Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel!

We would like to thank you for your comment, as it helps us improve both our services and facilities. Since the new management took over the hotel, there have been some enhancements in our facilities.

We are happy to share with you that since August last year we have been improving our rooms. We have changed telephones, the lighting, bathrooms and the curtains system as well. Also, in order to give our guests more and better services, we opened the ‘El Balcón’ Cafe on the second floor of the hotel, with one of the best views of the main square. We also offer WIFI access in public areas and some rooms.
Thank you once again for your comments!!!!

Flavia Montesinos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
239jim
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2008

we stayed here for three days. It is in an old building on the main square. Depending on the room you may overlook the main square or the main street, I believe there are interior rooms which I did not see. The building is old, could use some work but the staff was very helpful and the location could not be better. You could not get a better location. the breakfast was not up to the qualify of the other hotels we stayed at in Peru as it was continental style and not much of it.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 239jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.4 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel

Property: Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
Address: Mantas 114, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hostal is located in one of the most iconic buildings in downtown Cusco, right on the Plaza de Armas (main plaza). It boasts an incredible view to Cuzco's old baroque-style cathedral and beautiful churches and stone buildings from the ancient Inca time. Enjoy the charming service and the unique location just steps from the major tourist attractions, best restaurants and handicraft markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing