We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveller rating
332
162
25
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
162
25
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexposed beamshot watergarden roomeggsgranolasurrounding mountainssister propertyspace heatercoca teacharming placeinca trailmachu picchufew blockslots of charactercouple blocksmain plazacomfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 532 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

El Balcon saved our vacation! We were staying at a different hostel which had fungus in the two rooms that we stayed in.
We went for a walk and found a wonderful blue door with ornate faces and buzzed and when we looked in a beautiful garden and a wonderfully friendly staff appeared and made it possible for us to stay. thank you! The second floor has an amazing view of Cusco and breakfast is simple and good along with dinner. The tourist police are right down the hill so it makes it feel safe to walk up the stairs to the hostel at night before ten PM, for sure. The owner and his wife are very friendly and welcoming and appreciate your being there to share their house with them! We, my husband and myself met the most friendly and kind individuals. El Balcon is a very special place, please enjoy and respect what it has to offer.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This place was great - the word hostel in its name does not do it justice. Should be B&B at the very least. Breakfast was very good (cereal, bread, and fresh fruit). The room was clean, not always warm but the provide a heater which does a great job, clean bathroom - shower takes some encouragement to get warm but good when it does heat up. Location is good, 10 min walk from Plaza de Arms (center of everything in Cusco). Is a steep hill up to it on a narrow road, but this is typical in all Cusco.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed great. Try to get 1st floor if you can for a great view of the city (fantastic at night!)
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I love this hostel! I have an extended stay here. The rooms, breakfast room and garden are divine. Lots of Andean antiques around, very tastefully decorated. The most wonderful staff I've found anywhere.. Breakfast is muy rico! In particular for me, I needed a safe place to park my motorcycle and they have that too (very hard to find in Cusco)! Fast internet, heaters for cold nights, and always hot water for tea or coffee on the lounge. Awesome view over Cusco from the balcony into Plaza de Armas. You really can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becauseicanworldtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The street in front is so close, cobbled and noisy, the church is close and rings bells in the middle of the night. THE OWNER has a dog that barks most of the day right next door, i confronted him on said dog to no response but a change in subject. NOT great location for first couple of days in Cusco because you have to walk up a grade to get there hen you're dealing with oxygen deprivation. Yes the kitchen crew was great. the bathrooms needed some real help, and they could put some luggage stands in their rooms... over priced yes and the owner is loving it all the way to the bank.

Room Tip: if you get a top floor room you might be alright at least you've got a good view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkBaue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights over the Inti Raymi weekend. Overall we were satisfied with everything. The heater in the room was a blessing at night. The staff was helpful and accomodating. The rooms were basic, but clean and comfortable. We recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cusco.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovesouth42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews