We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really overpriced: breakfast service a joke, room ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Ranked #17 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really overpriced: breakfast service a joke, room ok”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I would rate this hotel higher but for what they charge you per night (almost 100 US$) we were really disappointed.

Located in San Blas in a quiet street Los Apus features average rooms that have everything you need but nothing special. We booked a room with a kingsize bed but got a room with two beds. Not the big deal but still.

What is really a joke though is the breakfast: It is served in the lobby of the hotel where a lot of armchairs and tables are grouped around tables which makes it rather crowed. Breakfast offers an ok variety in theory. In reality the staff does not refill empty things, gets new bowls or plates. Instead they stand around or fold napkins for the next day. If you want an egg or sth don't be surprised if nobody asks you, you have to go to a waiter yourself so he orders it for you in the kitchen. Tables sometimes do not feature a complete set of cutlery as well, etc. etc. etc. Well, you need to sort it yourself.

Like I said at the very beginning: for almost 100US$ we found it poor.
We also stayed at La Morada Suites just 5mins away: Cheaper and much nicer!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nofsky82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLima, Owner at Los Apus Hotel & Mirador, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear guest,
I'm very sorry to hear about your disappointment with our hotel. I am very grateful to you for this review that helps us improve our service.
I'll look into it and correct things ASAP.
Best regards,
Antoine Hamel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    236
    45
    13
    8
See reviews for
122
346
110
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dc
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

pros
- great location
- interestingly designed rooms
- very early morning breakfast was fine
- helpful staff

cons
- small rooms
- short uphill hike to get to hotel (not easy @3000 meters above sea level)
- hear noises from outside room / lack of privacy

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank illusions328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJ54
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

location is great, heating does not work, value was very good, staff cook the bfast but two of them couldn't boil an egg. We got a heavily discounted price, but i wouldn't pay full price to stay here. The woman at the front desk was awesome, then men were not very helpful

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Good hotel located in a great spot near Plaza de Armas del Cuzco. The heaters in the room didn't work too well and the hot water took awhile to get hot. Other than that, the staff was very nice and the rooms were big enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lihcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed for my last night in Cusco at Los Apus. I really enjoyed it. The room was warm with beautiful wooden beams in the ceiling. The enclosed central courtyard that served for a lobby was lovely. The only problem I had was that my room was right over the lobby and I could hear other guests planning their day. It was mostly very quiet and I think most of the other rooms were not quite as close to the action as mine. The staff was very helpful, they even let me stay past check out since my flight wasn' t until the afternoon. Location was excellent, just five minutes from the main square.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Swansigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at Los Apus from June 13 through June 18 and then an extra night after the four-day Inca Trail hike. The hotel is a converted Inca temple and is beautifully decorated with some original Inca artifacts. Reservations and questions prior to our trip were quickly answered and arranged. Their daily rates were very reasonable and the reason we decided to stay for five full nights to acclimatize prior to our Inca Trail adventure. The hotel manager, Sr. Luis, and the rest of the front desk staff, were very helpful and accommodating throughout our stay. The breakfast server, Victor Hugo, always made sure our order of eggs was cooked to our liking and made sure preferred items were available. The hotel provides a complimentary breakfast with eggs made to order. There was also 24-hour set up of coca tea, which really helped us combat altitude sickness. We had two different rooms, both with balconies, which we loved despite the cold temperatures. The rooms were cold at times as the central heating did not appear to be working during our stay. The hotel staff provided us with space heaters during our stay, which did the job of warming the room and our Floridian blood. The bathrooms had great water pressure and hot water and were always well maintained. The rooms were on the small side but we saw bigger ones without the balcony. We loved the location in the San Blas neighborhood. It was close to everything yet away from the noise and hustle of the main square. The main square was a quick 7- minute walk. There were plenty of convenience stores, restaurants and laundry places nearby. The hotel kept our bags and valuables while we went on the Inca Trail. They have a secure safe in the reception area and we did not hesitate to leave our valuables and excess currency with them. When we got back, we were received with the key for the same room we had vacated 4 days earlier. Our luggage was already in our room. This was really a nice touch, as we just wanted to shower and collapse in bed after the trail and Machu Picchu. All in all, I highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Cusco.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ifa370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Small boutique hotel in a very nice area of Cusco, perfect sleep, the bed feature douvets (first time in South America!!). Welcoming staff and beautiful rooms, some with original Inka walls! Althought it had a big variety, breakfast was nothing to write home about. Highly recommended though!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 169 in Cusco
1,483 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 169 in Cusco
1,475 reviews
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Apus Hotel & Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Apus Hotel & Mirador

Property: Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Address: Atocsaycuchi 515 | Corner with Choquechaca street, San Blas, Cusco 00000, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cusco
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#41 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Apus Hotel & Mirador 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning cosy colonial hotel located 3 blocks from the main square, twenty nicely decorated rooms, central heating system, four rooms with balconies. All with wooden floors, german soundproof windows, swiss fire+soundproof room doors, extra-long beds (205cm), 32" LED Tv's with cable, in room safe, free WIFI, smoke detectors, direct dial telephone and private bath with tub or shower. El Mirador Restaurant & Bar and its terrace for unforgettable landscapes, or the cosy El Patio Restaurant, featuring international and regional cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Los Apus Hotel & Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Apus Hotel And Mirador
Los Apus Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing