We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel, great location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Ranked #17 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Salida, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute hotel, great location, friendly staff”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed at Los Apus three different nights and had some good and bad experiences, but the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating.

When we first arrived in Cusco we found that our driver was not there and we had to pay for a taxi to get to the hotel. While it wasn't too pricey, we were not feeling very good about getting off on the wrong foot. When we arrived at the hotel the staff was very apologetic about what had happened and set us up in a gorgeous but cozy room with a balcony. We dropped off our bags and headed to the main square where staff had recommended a great restaurant and we were pleased to find the main plaza was just a short walk away, but just far enough away to avoid the noise.

When we left for the Inca Trail we were able to leave bags behind and they were in our rooms when we returned. Keep in mind that even if you let staff know you will be leaving very early, they may not be at the front desk. We woke up bright and early to hit the trail and realized that the front door to the hotel was locked and no one was around. Lucky for us we had seen staff buzz open the door otherwise we may have missed our bus!

When we returned from the trail a driver met us at the airport which was a nice surprise! We were happy to be able to check in early and head out to see the ruin just up the hill from the hotel, Sacsayhuamán. I highly recommend it!

Breakfast was cereals, breads, juice, yogurt, local fruits (which were amazing) and eggs if you request them.

Staff was nice enough to get us another taxi to the airport for another trip to the airport and we left some of our belongings at the hotel again to retrieve when we returned. Once again our bags were in our room when we returned and we were able to check in early.

While I can't comment on the price (we used travel points), I feel it was a good value but we were also a bit disappointed in the few things that fell through. The gentleman who worked the front desk was extremely friendly and you could tell he took a lot of pride in making sure the guests were happy. He went the extra mile to make up for all of our little mishaps.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisalisamm19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    233
    45
    13
    8
See reviews for
117
339
108
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland Highlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We wanted a central, quiet and good value hotel for an extra 2 nights in Cuzco, following an 11 day trek in the mountains. This was a perfect choice. Located conveniently on a quiet street, but 8 minutes walk from the main Plaza de Armas, surounded by good restaurants, museums and easily walkable to all the attractions of the city. Service was excellent and friendly. Computer available for free all day. Good breakfast , but room was cold for early breakfast and very busy for a late one. Try at about 0730! Free taxi to airport on leaving. Approx $80 per person per night in a double.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank winehills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I would rate this hotel higher but for what they charge you per night (almost 100 US$) we were really disappointed.

Located in San Blas in a quiet street Los Apus features average rooms that have everything you need but nothing special. We booked a room with a kingsize bed but got a room with two beds. Not the big deal but still.

What is really a joke though is the breakfast: It is served in the lobby of the hotel where a lot of armchairs and tables are grouped around tables which makes it rather crowed. Breakfast offers an ok variety in theory. In reality the staff does not refill empty things, gets new bowls or plates. Instead they stand around or fold napkins for the next day. If you want an egg or sth don't be surprised if nobody asks you, you have to go to a waiter yourself so he orders it for you in the kitchen. Tables sometimes do not feature a complete set of cutlery as well, etc. etc. etc. Well, you need to sort it yourself.

Like I said at the very beginning: for almost 100US$ we found it poor.
We also stayed at La Morada Suites just 5mins away: Cheaper and much nicer!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nofsky82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLima, Owner at Los Apus Hotel & Mirador, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear guest,
I'm very sorry to hear about your disappointment with our hotel. I am very grateful to you for this review that helps us improve our service.
I'll look into it and correct things ASAP.
Best regards,
Antoine Hamel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dc
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

pros
- great location
- interestingly designed rooms
- very early morning breakfast was fine
- helpful staff

cons
- small rooms
- short uphill hike to get to hotel (not easy @3000 meters above sea level)
- hear noises from outside room / lack of privacy

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank illusions328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJ54
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

location is great, heating does not work, value was very good, staff cook the bfast but two of them couldn't boil an egg. We got a heavily discounted price, but i wouldn't pay full price to stay here. The woman at the front desk was awesome, then men were not very helpful

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Good hotel located in a great spot near Plaza de Armas del Cuzco. The heaters in the room didn't work too well and the hot water took awhile to get hot. Other than that, the staff was very nice and the rooms were big enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lihcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed for my last night in Cusco at Los Apus. I really enjoyed it. The room was warm with beautiful wooden beams in the ceiling. The enclosed central courtyard that served for a lobby was lovely. The only problem I had was that my room was right over the lobby and I could hear other guests planning their day. It was mostly very quiet and I think most of the other rooms were not quite as close to the action as mine. The staff was very helpful, they even let me stay past check out since my flight wasn' t until the afternoon. Location was excellent, just five minutes from the main square.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Swansigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 167 in Cusco
1,472 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 167 in Cusco
1,460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Apus Hotel & Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Apus Hotel & Mirador

Property: Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Address: Atocsaycuchi 515 | Corner with Choquechaca street, San Blas, Cusco 00000, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cusco
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#41 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Apus Hotel & Mirador 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning cosy colonial hotel, twenty nicely decorated rooms, central heating system, four rooms with balconies. All with wooden floors, german soundproof windows, extra-long beds (205cm), 32" LED Tv's with cable, in room safe, free WIFI, smoke detectors, direct dial telephone and private bath with tub or shower. El Mirador Restaurant & Bar and its terrace for unforgettable landscapes, or the cosy El Patio Restaurant, featuring international and regional cuisine. Location: Quietly nestled in the foothills of the unspoiled historical site of San Blas, three blocks away from the Plaza de Armas, its restaurants and souvenirs shops. Just 10 minutes from the Velasco Astete International Airport and 30' from the Poroy rail station to Machu Picchu. Accommodations: 20 tastefully decorated rooms, four with balconies, wooden floors, German soundproof windows to the exteriors, extra-long beds (205cm), 32" LED Tv's with cable, central heating, in room safe and free Wi-Fi, smoke detectors, direct dial telephone, private bath with tub or shower. Non-smoking and challenged guest rooms available. Restaurants: "El Mirador Restaurant & Bar" and its terrace for unforgettable landscapes, or the cosy "El Patio Restaurant", featuring international and regional cuisine. Facilities: Wireless internet access in all areas including the rooms. Mail service, safe, oxigen, laundry, fax and money exchange. Hair dryers upon request. Doctor on request. Flight and train reservations service. Free transportation from the airport. Free Coca teas at "El Patio" as well as any other kind of tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Los Apus Hotel & Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Apus Hotel And Mirador
Los Apus Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing