We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Estrellita

Estrellita
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Estrellita
Ranked #85 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

This place is absolutely excellent - safe, quiet, comfortable, super nice staff, great value for money. And the French bakery next door is to die for. Many cyclists and motorcyclists stay here so there are always interesting travellers around.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tishobj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
24
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
130 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Nice people...Are you kidding? I had a serious problem with the papers for a locally purchased motorcycle. Not only did they help, my motorcycle is there now waiting for me to return.
The family is trustworthy and accommodating. It is a great base for travelers who need to get their bearings without worry and a great place for anyone visiting Cusco who can appreciate a simple, comfortable hostal. I would have to find it full to stay anywhere else in Cusco.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roncon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ollantaytambo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I lived near Cusco for two years and I rarely stayed anywhere but La Estrellita on my many visits to that city. It is just a bit out of the way though an easy walk to the Plaza and Centro. It is run by a troupe of awesome older gentlemen (and one woman I think, maybe a younger girl to help clean, too.) It is NOT luxurious but completely reliable and comfortable and the price (15 soles per person) is practically unbeatable. Only shared bathrooms and showers, which are always clean.
The best parts: Very secure with 24-hour buzzer, Breakfast INCLUDED(coffee/tea, bread, jam, egg cooked to order...most hostels you pay more for will not give you an egg for free), always very clean (though well worn), spacious kitchen and TV room, free wifi, ample boiled water and tea bags on hand, lots of notes and trip advice from other travelers (in notebooks in the tv room.) They will happily store your stuff for an afternoon or several days.
The bad parts: No toilet paper (bring your own!), a little bit of street noise on 2nd floor street facing rooms, my friend once got mugged walking alone at 2am on this street (but you shouldn't really be walking alone late at night in Cusco ever anyway, should you?), crappy pillows

Room Tip: If you're a couple, ask for a matrimonial and you'll still pay 15 sole each and get a privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0swella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottoland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

The staff is very helpfull, you do have an outdoors to sit and relax, without much noice of traffic. Not a beerdrinking place. Lots of cyclists and motorcyclists stay there, the place to meet other outdoor people. Very very clean, the kitchen is a clean place to cook your meal if you want. Close enough to the center, and shops next door.
A very good value for money deal, only 15 soles a night includes breakfast. They do have a cheap and good laundry service, and also free storage of stuff if you want to visit Machu Pichu for one or more nights. A safe and enjoyable place. highly recommeded.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karintroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

The hostal is not amazingly organized nor design, but the people that owns it are one of the nicest people I have ever met. Moreover they are the hostal that has more travel information that I have ever been in. They have all sort of tips from travellers about Cuzco and all the sourinding area. The rooms are big but a little bit basic and quite clean plus they have a basic breakfast.

Great place to be.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanFFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sonnenthal Cusco
Hotel Sonnenthal Cusco
#94 of 163 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Munay Wasi
Hotel Munay Wasi
#60 of 163 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#110 of 163 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Unaytambo Hotel
Unaytambo Hotel
#42 of 163 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
0.2 mi away
Yanantin Guest House
Yanantin Guest House
#83 of 163 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrellita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrellita

Property: Estrellita
Address: Av Tullumayo 445, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
Number of rooms: 39

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing