We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, friendly owners, + Breakfast”
Review of Estrellita

Estrellita
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Estrellita
Ranked #84 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Trenton, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value, friendly owners, + Breakfast”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend 3 times during our trip to Peru, and each time I was more and more impressed. For couples, they have a number of private rooms (matrimonial rooms) and at the time it costed only S/40 per night, which is an incredibly competitive price. For couples, I highly recommend this establishment. The breakfast is also excellent--every morning there are fresh made eggs (either fried or scrambled) and bread with butter, jam and mate de coca. Lastly, the owners are incredibly friendly, and they really appreciate if you take a few minutes to talk with them. I highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshistantCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
24
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
94 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Run by a few old men, the service is friendly and helpful! I was staying in a 5 bed female dorm for 15 Soles, which is a steal in any place in Peru!
The beds are all single beds, not a bunk bed in sight.
Breakfast is included and consists of an egg, either fried or scrambled, 2 pieces of bread with jam and margarine and a selection of teas or coffee, of which you can drink as much as you like. This is way better than some other hostels where you pay more and get less!
It is popular amongst cyclists and bikers, but don't let that stop you.

Plentiful amount of showers (steaming hot!), but note that toilet paper is not provided.
Bathrooms are cleaned everyday too.

It would be a little hard asking for help from the guys if you don't speak Spanish, but you can always ask one of the other guests to help translate.
Breakfast is very long, from 7.30am to 11am, so you can sleep in if you want to.

Laundry service is available at 3.50 Soles per kilo, and there is a fully stocked kitchen, plenty of cutlery and even a TV in the kitchen (so you can watch the World Cup while cooking)

Wifi is available and pretty good too!

I left for Machu Picchu one morning at 3.30am and one of the guys got up to ensure I got safely into a good taxi. Don't be intimidated if they look unfriendly, they are really nice and incredibly helpful.

The kitchen walls are filled with information about cheap and recommended places in other cities and also for cheaper routes to get to Machu Picchu (besides the overpriced trains).

There is a nice big courtyard which gets lots of sun in the cold mornings and chilly afternoons.

The office to purchase entry to Machu Picchu is also really near, very convenient if you're planning to settle all the administrative things on your own (which I did)

On the whole, really good bang for your buck! Definitely highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlustmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We travel by bike and we have spent a week at La Estrellia. There is everything cyclists need: a safe place for bikes, a big courtyard, breakfast, internet and above all a friendly staff who takes care of your luggage/bike if you leave for a few days to visit the surroundings. Family atmosphere and clean rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1carOline12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a budget hostel then this place is great. Rooms are quite basic but do the job. Bathrooms are kept clean and the spacious kitchen is well looked after and stocked with everything you could need.

The brothers who own the place are very friendly and cook you eggs in the morning as part of the cost.

This place is a hidden gem. You wouldn't even know it existed if you weren't looking for it. Despite that, it's in a great location and is only a short walk from Cusco centre.

Would definitely recommend to those who are on a shoestring.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Run by friendly guys - free baggage storage, no pushy selling of tours (they don't sell them) and a great breakfast.

It's a bit rustic but at 40 soles for a double room with a breakfast (including an egg) it's a total bargain. There are always a few cycle and motorcycle tourists tinkering in the courtyard to chat to and the brothers that own the place are nice guys.

The toilets are scrubbed every day - including the waste paper bins (something I haven't seen done anywhere else).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

15 soles for a bed in a 6 bed dorm and with breakfast included is an absolute bargain! And all single beds, not bunk beds. I had the whole room to myself for the time I was there, this hostel is not listed in the Lonely Planet. The rooms are basic and without lockers but it feels secure. There is a pleasant yard to sit in that catches the sun during the day and the guy that runs it is friendly and helpful. Lots of motorcyclists and cyclists stop here! Excellent location near the Plaza de Armas and San Blas. Hot water in the shower but only if you don´t mind less pressure. Nice and quiet!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahNiemiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

For 25 soles I had a private room which is what you'd pay for a dorm in most hostels in Cusco (actually probably more). A nice breakfast in the sunny courtyard was included. The men who run the place are super friendly and accommodating with plenty of info on travel in Peru. Highly recommended! (Hot water, wifi, kitchen, tv, laundry service)

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank chimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sonnenthal Cusco
Hotel Sonnenthal Cusco
#97 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Munay Wasi
Hotel Munay Wasi
#60 of 164 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#114 of 164 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Unaytambo Hotel
Unaytambo Hotel
#40 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
0.2 mi away
Yanantin Guest House
Yanantin Guest House
#86 of 164 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrellita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrellita

Property: Estrellita
Address: Av Tullumayo 445, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Number of rooms: 39

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing