We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended!!”
Review of Royal Frankenstein

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Frankenstein
Ranked #15 of 430 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Ardooie, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Recommended!!”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Perfect spot in central Cuzco. Very friendly german owner. You can ask him everything! Upper rooms are very bright and have their own bathroom. Reservation recommended! Stayed here 2 nights before and 1 night after our choqequirao-MP trek.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KarelNeirynck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    43
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
72
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 4 nights here after stumbling across it whilst looking for somewhere to stay. So glad we found it! The owner is very friendly and enthusiastic, always willing to assist with anything. The room (Monster Ruum) we had was very spacious with a private toilet and shower with plenty of hot water and good pressure. The room was very quirky and cool. It does get a little chilly but we had lovely thick blankets and there was a fire roaring every night in the lounge area so it wasn't a big deal at all.

In a very quiet courtyard so no noise from the city apart from when people leave early morning to start their treks etc.

Had a brilliant time with Mr. Blue the gorgeous white young cat, he's a bit nervous to begin with but was always up for a cuddle and a play with our laser pen by the end of our stay.

Overall, I highly recommend this hostel, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed 5 nights in Cusco, owner was very accommodating and always helped us. The accommodation is quite cheap and within walking distance of the Plaza de Armas. It has a unique style and décor. beds were comfortable. is very quiet even with a pub next door.

Rooms and Bathrooms clean, hot showers

Duly recommended and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay in the first floor not in the private rooms is warmer inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this very special hostel. The owner is really nice and german speaking (also speaks well english ;)), helped us a lot planning our Machu Picchu trip. The accomodation is quite cheap for Cusco and the ways to the plaza are very short. The hostel has a unique style to it which prevents the normal hotelroom feeling. The beds were also really comfortable. Rooms on the top are colder but you can overlook the roofs.
Its totally quiet, no noise of the city!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We had to stay at a different hotel in Cusco for our first few days because this hotel had all of its private rooms booked up, but we were able to stay here on our trip back from Aguascalientes. We only stayed one night but Ludwig was a great and accommodating host. It is a charming hotel, a little hard to find, but walkable to everything in town. No iguana during our stay but there was a very unambitious dog. (always in the same place, and never saw him move). I wish I was able to spend my whole cusco stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gettingoutofkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

The place has peculiar decoration, special touch by the owner, what makes it comfortable and cozy. The owner is great, always helped when asked. It's amazingly well located, a couple of blocks from almost everything that downtown Cusco has for tourists. Clean, bathrooms are nice. Great choice in Cusco.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Possibly the best accommodation we've had in South America so far (we've been travelling for 7 weeks). Ludwig (the owner) is the friendliest guy in Cusco - always around for a chat and advice, and gave us a lot of help with orientating ourselves when we arrived. He also made sure we always had a room to stay in, before and after our Machu Picchu trek, and kept a hold of our baggage in the meantime. The rooms are individually decorated (look for the secret details in each) and it feels very homely. There's a kitchen, open fire, hot showers, WIFI, laundry service, cable TV, tank of piranhas and a four month old white kitten to play with - what more could you want?!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mezzaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#24 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Royal Inka I
Royal Inka I
#40 of 164 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Frankenstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Frankenstein

Property: Royal Frankenstein
Address: San Juan de Dios 260, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 430 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Royal Frankenstein Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing