We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hospedaje Kuntur Wasi
Ranked #56 of 454 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Banff, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here twice during our time in Cusco. The first time we got the room in the main picture with the view and then the room next to it. The rooms were clean and comfortable, however as most reviews read, it was very cold in the room - but that is something that is common in Peru. There are plenty of blankets, so we had a very warm sleep. The 2 people that we dealt with in the hostel didn't speak much english, which was a little difficult (but that's our fault for not learning enough english). Breakfast was good, cereal, juice, fruit and eggs on the first morning. We had to ask for the hot water to be turned on, but we got hot showers. The location is great, it is in San Blas, which is in the "hip" area of Cusco. I would stay here again, for the convenience of already staying here.

When arriving to the hostel you ask your taxi driver to drive to the corner of siette angelicas and Tandepata. The streets are narrow and the taxi might only take you to San Blas and you will have to walk otherwise.

Room Tip: When arriving to the hostel you ask your taxi driver to drive to the corner of siette angelicas and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    31
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
41
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel forgot to pick us up at the airport, purchased the wrong tickets for us for Machu Picchu and purchased the wrong tickets for hiking around Machu Picchu. They were barely apologetic which really upset me because this was a once in a lifetime trip that cost a lot of money. Finally, after I was in tears over the mistakes, the only thing they did to make it right was give us one night free in the hotel and put us on a nicer train ride.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We spent a week at Kuntur Wasi, and quickly realised it was in a great location for exploring the fascinating cobbled streets of San Blas. It's around a 10 minute pleasant walk to Plaza Armas, but a bit of a climb back uphill (which was not a problem for us )

We had a double room ensuite with a fantastic view over the city. Not all rooms have outside windows though so it's worth asking for a room with a view if you can.
The downside was that our room was permanently much colder than the main hall. That said, the beds come with plenty of blankets and were very cosy.

Rooms are cleaned daily and the whole place is spotless.

There is a small kitchen in the hostel you can use for a cost of 5 Soles however it's not very well set up for guest use.

Inclusive breakfast consists of cereals, yoghurt, fruit, bread, jam, and often eggs or frankfurters, along with juice and hot beverages including coca tea leaves.
The Laundry service is good and is only 4 Soles per kilo.

The staff at Kuntur Wasi are friendly and helpful, though they have virtually no English, they were very patient with our broken Spanish.

This is a comfortable & friendly budget option, in a nice location with a lot a San Blas cafés and attractions on its doorstep.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed 5 nights and enjoyed every one of them. Maria (owner/manager?) was really helpful and informative. Room was clean & comfortable with plenty of hot water.
GREAT value for money. Location is excellent if prepping for Inca trail since it's the San Blas district, up hill from the main plaza but may be a drag for others not wanting the hike up the hill.
Inexpensive laundry service available but not advertised so ask Maria about it.
Breakfast good...make sure you ask for the scrambled eggs...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Kuntur Wasi at 7:30 AM, after being up all night and even though the check-in is at 11, the owner, Señora Maria, arranged for us to sleep at a different room until ours was ready. The rooms are small but comfy and just what you need after a day of adventures. There's free WiFi, breakfast is included and the staff is friendly and very helpful. If you want a budget hostel in the beautiful city of Cuzco, this is your place to stay.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brunoisrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Great hotel in Cuzco's San Blas district. Lovely rooms with view over Cuzco, clean, hot shower, laundry service, Wifi and 2 computers for free use. Maria, our host, awaited us with open arms at the airport and made our stay in Cuzco unforgettable. Every morning she greeted us over breakfast and gave us tips for our tours around the inca city. She even helped out and called a local travel doctor when I fell ill and she really took care of us like a mother.
From the hotel it's only a short walk to Cuzco's Plaza de Armas and to the many Quintas (little restaurants) of San Blas. We stayed for 4 nights (before and after the Salkantay Trail) and the price was more than reasonable for all the service we got. We would always go back to Kuntur Wasi!!!!!!

Room Tip: All double rooms offer an amazing view over Cuzco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed at Kuntur Wasi for 2 days at the end of October and Maria made us feel right at home from the moment we stepped in the door with a hot cup of coca tea - she's so sweet and always all smiles! Before we arrived I emailed Maria for assistance in getting tickets too Machu Picchu - as soon as we arrived she had us in touch with someone who booked us a 2 day trip. She also let us store out bags there while we were out for a few days in Machu Picchu.
As for the hostel it was clean, comfortable, showers were very hot!! WiFi is good in the main areas but not so much in the rooms. The breakfast was also good - a boiled egg, coca tea, bread and a cheese/meat plate. The location was about a 5 minute walk to the Plaza de Armas and it was off a quiet street with a great view of Cusco and the Viva al Peru carving in the mountain above Cusco. The only thing I will tell you is that Cusco does not have central heating so almost all hotels/hostels are chilly - Maria provided plenty of warm blankets and it was a wonderful sleep.

Great place to stay and a great price! Maria is the highlight!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelleyc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.7 mi away
Ninos Hotel Fierro
Ninos Hotel Fierro
#44 of 167 in Cusco
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
0.6 mi away
Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostal Mallqui
Hostal Mallqui
#60 of 454 in Cusco
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Sihuar
Casa Sihuar
#86 of 454 in Cusco
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pantastico Bed & Bakery
Pantastico Bed & Bakery
#38 of 454 in Cusco
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Kuntur Wasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Kuntur Wasi

Property: Hospedaje Kuntur Wasi
Address: Tandapata 352 A San Blas, Cusco Cusco 84, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 454 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuntur Wasi is a family lodge is located in the historic center of Cusco in the neighborhood of San Blas. It offers its services with love and personalized hospitality to all nationals and foreigners to make your stay happy tourists. Kuntur Wasi, is in a quiet area of ​​the city of Cusco. They are offered the transfer shuttle from the airport to Kuntur Wasi. They are provided with a comprehensive city information and security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hospedaje Kuntur Wasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing