We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An example to follow.”
Review of Kokopelli Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kokopelli Hostel
Ranked #7 of 478 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Probably one of the best hostel we had in South America.
Very clean, perfectly located, pro staff, quiet (we stayed in a double room in the other side, far from the bar).
Our double room was perfect. Cosy and some small details make a big difference on this hostel quality:
- a real big sink
- a hanger
- for once in a while, outlets were sufficient and well located (is it something they never think about in hostels ?!) as well as the bedside lamp
- there was like a second bed/couch where you could just relax
- room and sheets coloured
Not to talk about the hostel itself, inside a beautiful old colonial house with three amazing patios.
Brekfast was very nice and we found a good idea to add eggs for the ones waking up before 9am.
We tried the lunch box which was a good deal as well as a dinner there which is worthed.
So this hostel reaches basic expectations and exceeds them in a lot of areas. A perfect choice for a nice stay in Cusco.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
There are newer reviews for Kokopelli Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed at Koko in Sept/Oct 2013 for roughly three weeks and it was a blast!! Our original plan wasn´t to be in Cusco that long but we had to wait for our Inka Trek to start. Because of this hostel, we ended up doing so much! Thanks to Raphela at the ticket desk- we were able to book all our activites (some not planned!) like the via ferrata climbing, kayak course and our 3 day rafting trip. She also helped us with things to do around Cusco and the Sacred Valley (which is definitely worth a few days!). In the end, Raphela also helped booked our bus tickets (Lima to Trujillo) as we had already bought our flight to Lima. The reception staff were absolutely fantastic- we were the people that came in every two days to change our reservation because of the activites and they were always super super friendly and never showed frustration with us!

The hostel is amazing- in a massive old building with most things surrounding the court yard. There is a bar which serves the breakfast (and they also have a breakfast menu if you want more but they have scrambled eggs from 7-9am with bread tea etc). There is also a movie room and a few computers to use as well.

On two different stints there (in the 3 week period) we had stayed in the cheaper dorm that were suppose to be closer to the bar and therefore louder. We never heard the bar! There is massive doors to the bar that are almost always shut and we had no problems. My favourite room however was the 10bed onsuite dorm- it was further away and you had your own private bathroom. The beds are massive and super comfy (the 3 different rooms we stayed in were all huge and had tons of room) They are lockers under the beds and in all the rooms as well- their big enough to put in small/med sized bags.

We would recommend this place to anyone who was a socialble hostel without feeling like you have to be in the bar every night (although they do have happy hour!). The are couches and "hangout" areas so you chill as well. The bar serves food thoughout the day (delicous!); for some you would never need to leave the hostel! I would recommend reservations with this hostel though as there always seemed to be alot of walk-ins all the time.

Highly highly recommended!!

Room Tip: 10bed onsuite- roomly, quiet and private bathroom!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Loved this hostel. Nice staff, cool bar, great beds and douvets, lockers. Stayed in the big dorms and the awesome private dorm where you get a curtain across your bed. Only downside is that the bathrooms are never quite clean and the cleaners are loud and play music very early on. Amazing showers, strong pressure and perfect temp.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Den367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

I really loved kokopellis! The hostel set up is beautiful and relaxed with nice open spaces and comfy couches to sit and relax - the bar is nice and the food served is delicious! Easily the best and consists beds I've had in the four months I've been in South America - and the same goes for the showers!!!! Rafaella at the tour desk in the hostel is lovely and amazingly helpful with organizing buses and hikes - we did the salkantay trek through her and it was absolutely fantastic!!!! Highlight of my trip! would 100% stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniptaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the stay here, me and my friends were in the 10 bed dorm and met some cool people in there. This cost 30 soles a night. There is cheaper for a larger room.
The bar is good with fairly cheap beer and cocktails. The food isn't the best but if you're a little pissed up it will do the job. The wifi is quite strong wherever you are as there are loads of routers.
Good location, about a 2 minute walk to the main square.
Worth a punt.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We booked a private room and were placed right out the back of the hostel where the new rooms are being built. It was a very nice, modern room and far enough away from the bar so that there was pretty much zero noise.

Staff were very friendly, the bar was nice and the food here was fantastic. Excellent tour guide service and some good information there too. The hostel is located fairly centrally and is only a short walk to the main square.

Room Tip: Private rooms right out the back were clearly the newest and the best, made a big difference when ge...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevoRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed in 3 hostels in Cuzco, and Kokopelli was [by far] the best. We had a private room, and the bed was super-comfy and warm; The shower was hot, clean, and new; Very clean and cool decor. The hostel has a restaurant and bar, and we were surprised at how good the food was (which was a good thing since we were struggling with the altitude on the first day and didn't feel up to venturing out). Breakfast included juice, bread, EGGS, and brewed coffee (not instant! YEA!!). It's only 2 blocks-ish off of the Plaza de Armas, so prime location.

We booked 2 nights and wanted to stay 5, but they were fully booked and we had to move along to another hostel... sadly. Highly Recommend...

Room Tip: Private rooms are in the back away from the street and the bar
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kokusai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 478 in Cusco
1,426 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 478 in Cusco
553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#8 of 478 in Cusco
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pariwana Hostel Cusco
0.1 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#10 of 478 in Cusco
757 reviews
0.5 mi away
LOKI Cusco
LOKI Cusco
#4 of 478 in Cusco
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokopelli Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokopelli Hostel

Address: Calle San Andres 260 | Centro de Cusco, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 478 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: £8 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokopelli Hostel has finally arrived in Cusco and with the best location of all! Just a 2 minute walk to Cusco's Plaza de Armas, our unique 200 year old house will offer you to experience the Magic of Cusco fusioned with Kokopelli's Energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kokopelli Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing