We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, nice views”
Review of Hostal Wara Wara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Wara Wara
Ranked #4 of 344 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great service, nice views”
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

The hosts at wara wara are very nice and helpful, and the view from the balcony is beautiful. The hosts served a very nice breakfast with a delicious omelette. Only a few of the rooms have a window facing outside, the rest face the interior of the hostal It's a bit pricy at 110 soles, airport pickup is 15USD -- but you can get a taxi for 6 or 7 soles. Also it is located at the top of a very large hill and most restaurants and activities are at the bottom of the hill so you will get lots of exercise with all the stairs! Good training for machu pichhu!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KingstonTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Owner at Hostal Wara Wara, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Hello Kingston Traveler!! Thank you very much for staying with us at The Wara Wara and for your feedback which ultimately helps us become better.
However, we wanted to make some notes about some of the things that you stated in your comment.
Indeed, there "only few rooms with a window facing outside". This is because we are a small hostel and we just have 6 rooms from which 4 of them have windows facing outside and 2 facing inside. All of our double rooms have windows facing outside.
Regarding the airport pickup, you stated something that is also true. You can actually get a taxi outside the airport for 6 to 7 soles that could take you to our hotel. However, nobody can guarantee you that these taxis are safe. We do work with a guarantee and safe company that we actually do trust in taking our guests anywhere in Cuzco. Anyway we do think that $15 could be a little pricy...so we have lowered it to $10. Again, your feedback only helps us serve our guests better.
About the location, it is also true that we are "up on a hill"; and that is exactly why you can have such a beautiful look of the whole city from our balcony and from most of our rooms. However, we are ONLY 3 blocks away from the main square. You could walk the 3 blocks up the hill through a very pictoresque and typical street named "resbalosa" that leads to our hotel, which indeed is a good training for Machu Picchu. Or, if you don't feel like walking, you could take a taxi from the main square to us that will cost you less than 2 dollars and will take 4 minutes.
We just wanted to clarify some of your statements for our future guests.
Thank you very much again for helping us serve our guests better!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    84
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
43
190
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I stayed in Cuzco for 1 week to take Spanish classes in a school located close to the Wara Wara hostel and had an amazing experience. My single room was big, compfy and nicely decorated. My private bathroom was very clean and supplied with everything I needed. The breakfast was delicious and homemade every morning. The staff is amazing, very helpful and do care a lot about their guests. Great ambiance at night as well, especially due to the beautiful view over the city. Free Wifi is accessible everywhere in the hostel and airport transfers can be arranged by the hosts. Plus you can reach the city center (Plaza des Armas) in 5 min walking.
I have stayed in many hostels in Latin America, but Wara Wara was definately the best one.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Gallen, Sankt Gallen, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

this place is great. the rooms are clean and attractive and they all have private bathrooms, fresh towels, soap, shampoo, mints and chocolate are always provided, the owners are simply awesome, and the view is unreal. the owners always helped us out in any way possible, be it through offering a sweater when i was cold and we were doing laundry, or cooking dinner for us when my husband was sick and we couldn't go out. the breakfasts are amazing, healthy, and filling. you'll never need a second breakfast if your staying at hostal wara wara. returning to the view - big plate glass windows provide a panoramic vista of cuzco's downtown and the surrounding neighborhoods that crawl up the hillsides. it's ten minutes from the airport, a five-minute walk (or cab ride) from downtown, and i'm not kidding when i say your every need will be attended to. okay, i'll stop gushing. in conclusion: THANKS HOSTAL WARA WARA! keep up the great work.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RachelElizabeth628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Stayed at Hostel Wara Wara for 5 nights last month and i must say i wasn't disappointed. Awesome staff, safe environment, good food and was close to where I needed to be. If you dont wanna spend large amounts of money at some fancy brand name hotel with mediocre service this is the place to be. Will definitely stay here next time I'm in Peru.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpooyan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I stayed in the Wara Wara at Cuzco - Peru and i have to say that i was very happy with my overall experience. First, the place located just 3 blocks of the main square of Cuzco and near everything. It has a beatiful view of the city that at night is just astonishing. The place itself was neat, nice, and just like the pictures. The friendly couple that run the hotel were amazing hosts, making us an amazing breakfast every morning (which is included with the stay) , and even cooking for us tipical peruvian dishes for lunch so we didn't have to go eat somewhere else. They guy must have experience with cooking because the food was phenomenal. They also got out of their way to provide us with transportation to the most popular turist places, which made it really easy for us to get around. Their fares seem very reasonable to me compared to others hotels, and even the lunch and transportation bills seemed to be fair. They both were very approachable at all times, helpful, willing to get out of their way to provide us with an pleasurable stay, and friendly...all of this made us to actually extend our stay for a couple more days. I liked it very much, and i would definetely come back in my next trip to Peru, besides recommending this place to my family and friends..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 164 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#23 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
0.3 mi away
Tika Wasi Casa Boutique
0.2 mi away
El Balcon
El Balcon
#5 of 344 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Wara Wara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Wara Wara

Property: Hostal Wara Wara
Address: Don Bosco 190, Cusco 08000, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 344 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 blocks away from the main square, it is a luminous and spacious place with a panoramic view to the downtown historic area...The hotel counts with 6 rooms, including dobles, triples, and bridals, all of them with their own private bathroom and hot water all day.We offer the following services: American Breakfast, Wifi Internet, Luggage Room, and optional Transportation to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Wara Wara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing