We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At home in Cusco”
Review of Hostal Wara Wara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Wara Wara
Ranked #9 of 411 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We staid 4 nights in hostal Wara Wara, a hostal run by a friendly Peruvian - Argentinean couple, Viviana and Miguel.
The hostal is situated above the Plaza the Armas, which guarantees a superb view. The offsite is that you have to climb some steep stairs, but the effort is really worth it!
We were welcomed with a nice cup of coca tea on the panoramic terrace.
The room was very clean and had also a nice view of the city. The beds were comfortable, although the cushions were a bit hard to our liking, but that was really the only negative point. Breakfast was super, with cheese omelet and fresh juice of the day.
Miguel is a fantastic cook and prepares almost every night a Peruvian specialty (quinoa risotto, causa limeña) and Viviana makes the best pisco sour. The atmosphere is very friendly, so that all guests really feel at home.
The hosts can help you with info on restaurants in town, tours in the surroundings, a dependable driver, airport pick-up ... You can also leave your bags, when staying the night in Aguas Calientes.
In short, this hostal was one of the best in which we staid during our journey in Peru.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubblesAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

I am writing this review on board our coach from Cusco to Arequipa. We have only just left the hostel and feel very sad to have left as our stay there was wonderful. We originally only planned to stay for 2 nights but ended up staying 6 nights as we were so comfortable and it felt like a home away from home. Miguel and Viviana were perfect hosts, they introduced us to new foods, lent us walking sticks for the Inca trail and gave us good advice regarding where to visit in Cusco. They were very chilled out and played great music to create a relaxed environment and Luciano their son was very sweet and well behaved. The other guests at the hostel were like-minded and we all got on very well and ended up doing a joint excursion rafting too. The hostel was located not far from the central plaza and had beautiful views. The steps up from the plaza were fairly steep but it was great practice for our trail and there were traditional Cuscon women knitting and selling their wares along the way. Sometimes we'd see a lady beginning her knitting in the morning and on our return journey up to the hostel we'd see the finished article!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anjum23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed here with 7 other friends and was pleasantly surprised by how excellent the place was and how much it matched the reviews posted previously.The view is gorgeous from the balcony and it is conveniently located only a few minutes from the Plaza de Armas. By far, the greatest asset of the hostel are the owners themselves, Miguel and Viviana. They are a very easy going, fun couple who are very helpful and focused on ensuring their guests have the best time.

Miguel even took us to a house party he was going to one night. This was an awesome experience. Also, once when it was raining very heavily, he gave some of us a quick lift down to the Plaza de Armas. Furthermore, when one of my friends fell sick, Miguel and Viviana called a doctor for him and constantly inquired about his state of health. The human concern and friendliness they showed us was a welcome break from the constant money squeezing of tourists that characterizes a lot of Peru.

The only downside I could mention is that for a few days during our stay, water was cut off from the hostel from 8pm to 4am. This however was quickly fixed and was a minor issue.

All round, a great place to stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustralianLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Reservation by email - excellent communication. Very responsive hosts.
Location - about 7 min walk to the Plaza de Armas down the steps, going back up is a little more challenging but in all seriousness quite a nice walk. Should not deter anyone from staying here.
Views are superb - you can see most of Cuzco from the main area including the Plaza, and I could see the Plaza from my room. Very pretty at night.
They have breakfast made to order, as well as basic dinner. Breakfast excellent, dinner - did not try. Many different teas available throughout the day.
Owners have a small dog - very friendly and cute, as well as a baby. No noise issues although soundproofing of the room I was not the best. Still, I had no problems sleeping.
Shower was fine. Bed - very comfortable.
Wifi - I could not get a signal in the room, but in the main area it worked well.
Asked the host to help out with the laundry, he called a local place and a woman came in the morning picked up the stuff and delivered it back, clean and folded at 6 pm for the equivalence of a little more than $3.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4,865,853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed her for 3 nights beforehand after going to Machu Picchu. The family were so nice and their baby so cute. I was sick and they gave me food and tea. While the room for 3 was small it was very clean. The last night a musical group came in and sang for us. The location was wonderful, close to the plaza with a nice walk up the stairs on the hill to get home.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheribree2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Very nice place to stay, romantic place , and great view to see.
My friend and I have booked wrong date to stay, we arrived 1 day late.
Thanks God , there is one room available ( which is impossible without advance booking)
The owner let us stay there without any extra charge!!!!!!
Such a great hospitality.
All we paid include welcome tea, breakfast also.
We stayed there only one night in order to go to Agua Galiente.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Miguel and Vivianna offer a beautiful bed and breakfast atmosphere. The views of town and proximity to Saksaywaman, Incan ruins make this a very special place and the price is very reasonable. Beds are tremendously comfortable and the hot breakfast begins with a Passion-fruit or Mango liquado, coffee and Coca tea and offers eggs and warm rolls with butter, caramel spread or strawberry jam. Peruvian dinner is available evenings for less than $7.

One thing you must be aware of is the stairs that climb a long three block up from central Cusco. This was perfect for us as we were beginning a trek that required acclimatization and fitness. We found it a nice workout and did the stairs a few times before breakfast each of our two days prior to our trek.

Room Tip: Love our double room with a beautiful view of Cusco! Be sure to get a double room with a window as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennwoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#34 of 173 in Cusco
796 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#25 of 173 in Cusco
1,148 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Balcon
El Balcon
#1 of 411 in Cusco
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
0.3 mi away
Tika Wasi Casa Boutique
0.4 mi away
La Posada del Viajero
La Posada del Viajero
#4 of 411 in Cusco
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Wara Wara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Wara Wara

Address: Don Bosco 190, Cusco 08000, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 411 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: £24 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 blocks away from the main square, it is a luminous and spacious place with a panoramic view to the downtown historic area...The hotel counts with 6 rooms, including dobles, triples, and bridals, all of them with their own private bathroom and hot water all day.We offer the following services: American Breakfast, Wifi Internet, Luggage Room, and optional Transportation to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Wara Wara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing