We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying at a friends house in Cusco”
Review of Hostal Wara Wara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Wara Wara
Ranked #5 of 351 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Like staying at a friends house in Cusco”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We loved our stay in this hostel. We took a chance with it prior to the Inca trail and then booked to come straight back afterwards.
It is located up a hill which is about a 5 minute walk from the main Plaza de Armas. This is a bit of a climb but really is not an issue for anyone with a half reasonable level of fitness. The bonus is that the view over Cusco is stunning. It really was one of the sights of the entire trip. You can look down onto the Plaza and really feel the history. It really is something special.
The hosts are great too. The concept of the hostel is to make everyone feel at ease and as though you are staying with them and socialising in their front room. I would pitch this at late 20's plus travellers who are in couples or not too rowdy groups.
Alot of time was spent playing with Viviana and Miguel's baby/toddler Luciana. He was great fun and not to forget Tito the ball chasing/dropped food snaffling fiend. He was really good fun.
Miguel cooked us a great meal and we spent one night sitting up drinking wine with them which was great as you could talk about South America and Peru with people who really understood it. They were also really interested in England so it was a great evening.
On one of our last evenings they got a local band in to play some native music. It sounds like the sort of thing that you would normally want to avoid but they were great and we had another fun evening.
Wara wara is really competitively priced but is so much better than any other hostel that we stayed in throughout our time in South America. If you are on anything better than a shoestring budget then stay here, you won't regret it.
Good luck to Viviana and Miguel for the future and sorry it took so long to write this article!

Room Tip: The room next to the living room is a bit noisy so try to avoid it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    85
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
43
192
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely family(inc Tito!) and staff. Amazing view and good clean rooms. Extremely generous and very helpful. :) highly recommend Hostal Wara Wara! Gave us great tips and information for our onward journey to Argentina, as Miguel is from Buenos Aires. Great break

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank baker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Loved our 4 night stay at wara wara. Viviana and Miguel made our stay with their friendly hospitality.
We stayed in the family room for a little more space and found it clean and homely.
The hostel is has a great view across Cusco, with that comes a little bit of a walk up high approx 500m from plaza del arms.. (Great altitude training)
Breakfast was great and leant us trekking poles for our inca trail hike.
Only once there was no water, but got quickly fixed by utilising their tank and it was nice and hot!
The only downside was a nightclub a few streets away that kept us up - but it was the festive season!
Highly recommend

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerSara2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

My husband I stayed here for 4 days before and after our hike to Macchu Picchu. We were extremely happy with our stay! The best part of our stay was our interaction with the owners Miguel and Vivianna. They were very friendly and helpful. When we were there, we got to meet Miguels's brother and sis-in-law and had a fabulous night of drinks and food in the hostal getting to know everyone.
The good:
1. Hospitality, service -- wonderful owners who treat you like friends
2. Nice hot breakfast, lovely fresh fruit juice, endless supply of coca tea to help you get acclimatized with the elevation ( they didnt charge us for the coca tea we had and we had it quite a few times!)
3. They let us borrow their sleeping bag for our hike at no cost!
4. They made us lovely dinner one night when we didnt want to go out - it tasted awesome and was very inexpensive.
5. Clean rooms, hot water 24/7, good wifi depending on your room location
6. Fabulous view of the town and Plaza De Armas
7. Excellent location- our entire stay here we walked to every place that we had to see ( other than places like Pisac of course). It is a bit of a climb to get here, but it was good exercise for us!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aruna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at Wara Wara for 7 days while visiting Machu Picchu. We had a wonderful time, and felt right at home thanks to Viviana and Miguel! Viviana and Miguel were the best hosts - they arranged for a taxi to pick us up from the bus station (and called to make sure everything was ok since we were late), made us coca tea as soon as we arrived and throughout our stay, they even made us dinner the few nights we didn't want to go out, had breakfast ready every morning no matter what time, and chatted with us like old friends the whole time we were there. I would highly recommend staying at Wara Wara!

Room Tip: The property has 6 guest rooms, and I would recommend booking in advance to get one of the rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genya123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The hostel is clean, has a great view of the city and the breakfast is superb, but the best part is definitely the couple that owns the place. They treat you like old friends and truly go out of their way to make sure you have a comfortable stay. They were gracious enough to store our extra luggage and let us borrow trekking poles for a week while we trekked to MachuPicchu. They have created a social/friendly atmosphere where it is easy to get to know the other guests. It was a great place to stay while exploring Cusco and it felt like going home after we had finished MachuPicchu. Thank you Viviana & Miguel for a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PatFromVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was one of the best, most memorable places I have ever stayed. A friend and I were traveling through Peru together and picked Wara Wara because of its good reviews. We are so happy that we did. The room was comfortable and it was really accessible to both the main part of town and the ruins above the city. However, the best part was the experience with the hosts and other travelers here. We ended up staying in the first night because the owners cooked and brought in some live Andean music. We ended up hanging out with the other guests who were all interesting international travelers exploring Peru. The following night before leaving for dinner we sat with the hosts who taught us how to make pisco sours and gave us advice on where to eat in Lima next in our trip. I really loved our time here and cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: We paid a little more for a room NOT on the main living room but no one was noisy I think we could h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 165 in Cusco
1,462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#21 of 165 in Cusco
1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
0.2 mi away
El Balcon
El Balcon
#3 of 351 in Cusco
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 444 in Cusco
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Wara Wara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Wara Wara

Property: Hostal Wara Wara
Address: Don Bosco 190, Cusco 08000, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 351 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 blocks away from the main square, it is a luminous and spacious place with a panoramic view to the downtown historic area...The hotel counts with 6 rooms, including dobles, triples, and bridals, all of them with their own private bathroom and hot water all day.We offer the following services: American Breakfast, Wifi Internet, Luggage Room, and optional Transportation to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Wara Wara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing