We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey spot with great views”
Review of Hostal Wara Wara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Wara Wara
Ranked #9 of 390 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed at Hostal Wara Wara with my fiancée in May 2014 at the beginning of a trip to Peru. We enjoyed a very warm welcome from Viviana and Miguel, the young (also recently engaged) couple who run the place and live there with their adorable son and friendly dog. It's a lovely B & B up in the hills of Cusco with a great view down onto the Plaza de Armas. We switched rooms midway through and both were very comfortable. You get a tasty breakfast included and, if you want, there are typically other guests enjoying beers at night at the adjoining restaurant. This isn't a 5-star hotel (the showers were a bit spotty), but it's hard not to be charmed by the location and owners. Because of its location, you should definitely consider a cab up from the airport if you've just arrived in Cusco, as walking up the hill can be tough when you're adjusting to the altitude.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Districtdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Very nice (Argentine) young couple owning this hostal. They make you feel at home and the view from the terrace is breathtaking. Superb breakfast but only OK rooms. They should fix the plumbing so that it is on a par with the rest. As it is, they do not deserve five stars.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFLR187198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Walking into Warawara we were pleasantly surprised and warmly welcomed with a cup of cocoa tea by the very attentive coulple that owns the place. The views over Cusco are just great. Even better upstairs in the new dining room and bar where we could enjoy a lovely dinner without going out after being tired out by a long day. We also enjoyed the chilled music and relaxed atmosphere. No problem with the room we stayed in and good wifi. Only negative is the shower seems to have trapped air and went from very hot to cold a few times. The shower head could probably do with a change too. Sure they will sort it soon as they seem serious about making guests comfortable and happy. We would recommend this as a very good option for staying in Cusco.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gerhard7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I want to be clear: this review reflects my thoughts on their new apartment. I would rate any of their typical rooms at least a 4, probably a 5. We recently stayed for a total of 3 nights. Miguel and family were great. Breakfasts were wonderful, the lounge area was new and attractive. Vivianna made us our first pisco sours, and they were some of the best we had. Rides were always arranged, and they even set us up with a driver for a tour of the Sacred Valley area (there was a slight mix-up on the pricing here, but they helped us work that out). And the location... it was PERFECT! Uphill, true, but that just forces you to acclimate. My complaints are with the new apartment. It's made up of two rooms and a shared bathroom accessible off a shared, open hallway below the lounge. While the accommodations themselves were nice, the set up raised some issues. After a booking problem we got bumped to one of the apartment rooms (at a discount), which had two single beds instead of the double bed we'd requested... not ideal. The larger problem was our last night there, a Friday night, when we got back exhausted from a trek and wanted to go to bed early. Unfortunately, the lounge was being used for a party with very loud music and a lot of moving around. Again, the lounge is a good commodity for the hotel, but it was AWFUL for our group. We asked at 10pm when they thought they'd be wrapping up and Miguel told us an hour; the party went until at least 11:30pm (I don't totally blame them for this, but it was crumby since we were waking up at 5:30am to leave). Arguably the worst part was that people from the lounge area were coming downstairs to use the apartment's shared bathroom as a public bathroom, which was NOT cool. A guy from the party tried walking in while one woman from my group was in the shower. The place has a lot of potential, but they need to decide whether they are a hotel, first and foremost, or a night spot. (NOTE: Some of the lounge goers were hotel guests, but there should still be a line.) Similar thoughts to what Texan63 wrote in his review. Would still recommend.

Room Tip: Any room that isn't one of the apartment rooms, at least until they clean up their act.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jesse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viviana P, Propietario at Hostal Wara Wara, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello Jesse

We are very sorry to hear about your experience at your last night.
And once again your kind review helps us to improve this one, our new space.
We were very excited about these new two rooms because what most people ask us is
“Rooms with view” and this two rooms has the best view, you can actually see Plaza de Armas from your bed.
But we know that is not enough to satisfy our customers.
Mainly we are very sad to know that the things went loud on Friday night.
It was one of our other guests birthday and he ask us to invite a few friends of him staying at a different hostel. Usually the lounge area is exclusive for our guests but in this case we agree to receive 4 people staying in a place nearby. So the party was like 8 people in total. And it was hard to put a stop when they were having a good moment, so it took a bit longer that I thought (11.30).
And the most disturbing fact, somebody trying to use your bathroom. We are deeply concern about that. And we sinceryly apologize about it, we didn’t know that until now. The lounge area has his own bathroom but this guy mas be confused.
I know now is late for you guys but what we will do from now and forward, is not allowed any kind of party in the lounge area after 9 P.M.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed with Miguel and Vivianna for a week. They are wonderful hosts. The breakfast is great. They are ready to help with your travel plans and arrangements. A good choice in Cusco with a beautiful view of the city and easy access to fantastic morning runs in Saqsaywaman.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arbredumonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in total. The family is really nice and helpful and they have a wonderful 3years old boy.
Situated near the plaza de armas you are close to everything. There are many stairs but take it as training for Machu Picchu ;-)
The hostal is small, you have 7-8 rooms and we appreciated it! (We don't like big hostal). The rooms (we had 3 different rooms) are very clean, with clean bathroom and hot shower. Beds are comfy.
The breakfast is nice with bread, fruits, egg and a fresh squeezed juice.
If we come back to Cusco we will be happy to stay here with this wonderful family.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Julien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We respect what Miguel and Vivianna are trying to accomplish. They were lovely, their son is beyond adorable and the dog is simply loveable. However, there is a fine line with the comfort level when you appear to be sharing someone's home that is outfitted as a hotel. The lobby-breakfast area was like their living room/home office and we, the guests, were a distraction. OK for a budget hotel, but understaffed in that the place overall could use some TLC and attention to details. A hardworking young couple running the place but no one to clean or take care of repairs. I believe there are some better priced options in the same area with higher quality offerings.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Texan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#24 of 171 in Cusco
1,117 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 171 in Cusco
1,499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#63 of 171 in Cusco
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Balcon
El Balcon
#1 of 390 in Cusco
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 498 in Cusco
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Wara Wara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Wara Wara

Address: Don Bosco 190, Cusco 08000, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 390 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: £30 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 blocks away from the main square, it is a luminous and spacious place with a panoramic view to the downtown historic area...The hotel counts with 6 rooms, including dobles, triples, and bridals, all of them with their own private bathroom and hot water all day.We offer the following services: American Breakfast, Wifi Internet, Luggage Room, and optional Transportation to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Wara Wara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing