We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great view of Cusco we saw from Hostal Wara Wara!”
Review of Hostal Wara Wara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Wara Wara
Ranked #9 of 398 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We loved the view of Cusco's Plaza de Armas from Hostal Wara Wara! The location was central: we were able to walk everywhere & cover a lot of ground from Hostal Wara Wara, which was wonderful & convenient since we had less than one day to spend in Cusco. Miguel & Vivian, the hosts, were very helpful, friendly, & accommodating.

A few things that travelers should consider, though: 1.) It was no problem to walk from the hostal to Plaza de Armas because you would be going down the steps. Coming back up from the plaza to the hostal could be a challenging one for those who are not fit because it requires you to walk many steps up to the hostal. 2.) We were there in early June, and Cusco got really cold at night & in the morning. Thus, the room we were in felt a bit cold. These things didn't bother us at all, but I thought I'd mention them since they might matter for other travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotfius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

We spent 3 nights here. One night before visiting the Sacred Valley and 2 other after returning.
The suite equipped with TV and an electric heater but the biggest advantage of this room is the outstanding view. You can admire the lighted Plaza de Armas while lying on your bed. Floor map of this room is a bit surprising and bathroom definitely need some renovation.
The family room with 3 beds (room 4) wasn't our favorite... Though it was the cheapest room we had in Wara Wara the lack of outside windows made it very depressing to us. Also we heard all the noise from the lobby area and would have been happier with a double bed...Fortunately Miguel was willingly appreciated our concerns about this room and offered us for one single night to move to a double room further from the noise in the back (room 7).
It was our favorite one with the nicest bathroom of all we tried, comfy double bed, electric heater and plenty of space to store your belongings. I would definitely stay in this room again at any time.
Breakfast was good, freshly squeezed juice was the best ever.
About the owners Miguel and Vivianna I cannot say anything else but compliments. They were attentive and extremely helpful. They prepared coca tea and offered some home made cookies both time we arrived. Recommended the best restaurant we have visited in Peru, stored our luggage for free while we were away in the Sacred Valley for 4 days, let us use their computer to print our boarding passes and save information from my iPhone to a stick, helped with our laundry and arranged our travel to Urubamba (including a 3 hours stop at Pisac ruins). Carlos was the nicest driver we have ever met. We were so glad that also agreed our return travel with him. In 4 days he was waiting for us in front of La Capilla punctually at the agreed time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monaHungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed a night in one of the two rooms below the newly opened restaurant and had to endure loud music until 11pm and a shower that was barely warm with poor pressure. We went to the amazon and had another booking thereafter for five nights and were assured that a better room would be provided. Sadly no. If you are going to stay here make sure you get room six which Is far away from the living room noise. I also don't like having a Dog begging for food during breakfast. Please address these issues Wara Wara if you want to be a good B&B.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Phil_Joanne_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed at Hostal Wara Wara with my fiancée in May 2014 at the beginning of a trip to Peru. We enjoyed a very warm welcome from Viviana and Miguel, the young (also recently engaged) couple who run the place and live there with their adorable son and friendly dog. It's a lovely B & B up in the hills of Cusco with a great view down onto the Plaza de Armas. We switched rooms midway through and both were very comfortable. You get a tasty breakfast included and, if you want, there are typically other guests enjoying beers at night at the adjoining restaurant. This isn't a 5-star hotel (the showers were a bit spotty), but it's hard not to be charmed by the location and owners. Because of its location, you should definitely consider a cab up from the airport if you've just arrived in Cusco, as walking up the hill can be tough when you're adjusting to the altitude.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Districtdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Very nice (Argentine) young couple owning this hostal. They make you feel at home and the view from the terrace is breathtaking. Superb breakfast but only OK rooms. They should fix the plumbing so that it is on a par with the rest. As it is, they do not deserve five stars.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFLR187198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Walking into Warawara we were pleasantly surprised and warmly welcomed with a cup of cocoa tea by the very attentive coulple that owns the place. The views over Cusco are just great. Even better upstairs in the new dining room and bar where we could enjoy a lovely dinner without going out after being tired out by a long day. We also enjoyed the chilled music and relaxed atmosphere. No problem with the room we stayed in and good wifi. Only negative is the shower seems to have trapped air and went from very hot to cold a few times. The shower head could probably do with a change too. Sure they will sort it soon as they seem serious about making guests comfortable and happy. We would recommend this as a very good option for staying in Cusco.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gerhard7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I want to be clear: this review reflects my thoughts on their new apartment. I would rate any of their typical rooms at least a 4, probably a 5. We recently stayed for a total of 3 nights. Miguel and family were great. Breakfasts were wonderful, the lounge area was new and attractive. Vivianna made us our first pisco sours, and they were some of the best we had. Rides were always arranged, and they even set us up with a driver for a tour of the Sacred Valley area (there was a slight mix-up on the pricing here, but they helped us work that out). And the location... it was PERFECT! Uphill, true, but that just forces you to acclimate. My complaints are with the new apartment. It's made up of two rooms and a shared bathroom accessible off a shared, open hallway below the lounge. While the accommodations themselves were nice, the set up raised some issues. After a booking problem we got bumped to one of the apartment rooms (at a discount), which had two single beds instead of the double bed we'd requested... not ideal. The larger problem was our last night there, a Friday night, when we got back exhausted from a trek and wanted to go to bed early. Unfortunately, the lounge was being used for a party with very loud music and a lot of moving around. Again, the lounge is a good commodity for the hotel, but it was AWFUL for our group. We asked at 10pm when they thought they'd be wrapping up and Miguel told us an hour; the party went until at least 11:30pm (I don't totally blame them for this, but it was crumby since we were waking up at 5:30am to leave). Arguably the worst part was that people from the lounge area were coming downstairs to use the apartment's shared bathroom as a public bathroom, which was NOT cool. A guy from the party tried walking in while one woman from my group was in the shower. The place has a lot of potential, but they need to decide whether they are a hotel, first and foremost, or a night spot. (NOTE: Some of the lounge goers were hotel guests, but there should still be a line.) Similar thoughts to what Texan63 wrote in his review. Would still recommend.

Room Tip: Any room that isn't one of the apartment rooms, at least until they clean up their act.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jesse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viviana P, Propietario at Hostal Wara Wara, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello Jesse

We are very sorry to hear about your experience at your last night.
And once again your kind review helps us to improve this one, our new space.
We were very excited about these new two rooms because what most people ask us is
“Rooms with view” and this two rooms has the best view, you can actually see Plaza de Armas from your bed.
But we know that is not enough to satisfy our customers.
Mainly we are very sad to know that the things went loud on Friday night.
It was one of our other guests birthday and he ask us to invite a few friends of him staying at a different hostel. Usually the lounge area is exclusive for our guests but in this case we agree to receive 4 people staying in a place nearby. So the party was like 8 people in total. And it was hard to put a stop when they were having a good moment, so it took a bit longer that I thought (11.30).
And the most disturbing fact, somebody trying to use your bathroom. We are deeply concern about that. And we sinceryly apologize about it, we didn’t know that until now. The lounge area has his own bathroom but this guy mas be confused.
I know now is late for you guys but what we will do from now and forward, is not allowed any kind of party in the lounge area after 9 P.M.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#26 of 171 in Cusco
1,129 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 171 in Cusco
1,510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#66 of 171 in Cusco
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Balcon
El Balcon
#1 of 398 in Cusco
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casona les Pleiades
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Wara Wara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Wara Wara

Address: Don Bosco 190, Cusco 08000, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 398 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: £30 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 blocks away from the main square, it is a luminous and spacious place with a panoramic view to the downtown historic area...The hotel counts with 6 rooms, including dobles, triples, and bridals, all of them with their own private bathroom and hot water all day.We offer the following services: American Breakfast, Wifi Internet, Luggage Room, and optional Transportation to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Wara Wara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing