We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ausangate full circut 4 days”
Review of Ausangate

Ausangate
Book In Advance
More Info
US$123.75*
and up
Rainbow Mountain Hiking Tour from Cusco
More Info
US$233.77*
and up
Full-Day Hiking Trip to The Rainbow Mountain from Cusco
Ranked #29 of 169 things to do in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ausangate full circut 4 days”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

This was one of our highlights of our South America trip.
We searched all the companies in Cusco for the best price and got down to 380 soles each including one sleeping bag, all food, refugios every night, and non English speaking guide. We were just two people and our guide if you are more you should be able to get better prices.

The second day was very hard with the high pass at about 5,200m but beautiful views.
Good weather is important, we were lucky and had lots of sun and nice snow also.

You are planning to do Salkantay trek to Machu Picchu while in Cusco, my recommendation would be just do the cheap drive to Machu and do this Ausangate trek instead, it was 10 times better than the Salkantay trek and cheaper.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank MT-Wents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    22
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Spectacular mountain trek”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This was my third trek in the mountains of Peru, but easily the most spectacular. There was an ever changing vista of magnificent snow capped peaks, glaciers and lakes, and wonderful wildlife. We saw many vicuñas, chinchillas, viscachas and a Culpeo (Andean fox), as well as Andean geese and Caracaras. The beauty was breathtaking.
But it was extremely challenging. I went with a guide and porters, who told me that many people give up, typically after the first pass of four (the highest at 5,100 metres). I am 64 years old, and was very glad that I had spent some months preparing myself for the trek by getting fit, and that I had spent three days acclimatising myself beforehand at high altitude. Even so, every step was an effort at the highest passes. In November, we had fierce snow storms every day, fortunately after two in the afternoon, when we had already set up camp.
I recommend this trek for anyone who has done a couple of easier treks beforehand, and is reasonably fit and used to high altitude. The hot springs at the first and last camps were a great luxury.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank BulawayoZimtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peru
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing trekking!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We did the Ausangate in 4 days with a group of friends. Amazing trekking, the most beautiful in the Cusco region for nature trekkings. Due to the big heights make sure you are used to the high altitude if you do this trekking, especially if you do it in 4 days (we did it without any problems). Then you can just enjoy the spectacular scenery!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ProyectoPeruCentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iquitos
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Do it yourself”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We heard about this 5 day trip from other travellers and wanted to do mit on our own. Unfortunately the information given in the tourist information are: "If you don't want to get lost do it with a guide!" But we didn't and you really don't need one. From the Colliseo Cerrado in Cusco we caught a bus for 10 Soles to Tinqui. There you can go by Moto or Colectivo to Upis or Pacchanta. We decided to do it on our own and started our trek to Upis which is the better choice because the last day will be short then. In Tinqui we had to registrate and pay 10 Soles per person. You can make it over the first pass if you start early enough. The first pass is not that hard so after it go as far as you can. Be prepared for cold nights because the average hight on this trek is over 4000m. On the next day you can make it over the next two passes so that you have just one left on the next day. Normally you can easily find the way. There are stacked stones on the side or painted arrows. If you can't find any signs trust your intuition, the Ausangate has always to be on your left side. So we made the last pass on the next day and arrived in Pacchanta in the afternoon. There are some hot bathes were you can relax and if you wish stay in one of the very low standard "hostales". The last day is just a two and a half hour walk back to Tinqui.
So all in all you don´t need a guide (this was our second trek ever) but be sure you are in a good condition and take it slow with the hight.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Saraaaa_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Brilliant, but be well-prepared!”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Brilliant hike (one of world's best) as long as...

- You choose a great guide. You will spend 5-6 days with this guy so choose someone who's safe, knowledgeable, and kind to his staff (which was not the case with our guide, Umberto, from Pachamama Adventure)
- You deal with a great agency. We went with Pachamama Adventure... Cheap but cheap. Old inadequate rental equipment, great staff, poor driver, awful guide... Be demanding: you are paying good money here and put yourself under a lot of hardship: be sure you go through this with the right people, even if it means paying a little extra.
- You bring GREAT WARM gear. As soon as the sun sets, it gets scarily frigid. Some people in our group were borderline panicking at the thought of going to sleep at night: it's almost a challenge, and it's high (4,500m).

Otherwise, brilliant scenery, most VARIED landscape I have seen in ages, with glacial lakes, alpine dunes (yes!), snow caps, glaciers, marches, man-made irrigation systems, old Peruvian farms melting in the landscape, beautiful people, vibrant fauna: one of the world's undiscovered gems! We saw NO ONE on the tracks: the place is immense and well under-visited.

GO! But be well-prepared!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank NikoPseudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ausangate also viewed

 

Been to Ausangate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing