We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place”

Calle Del Medio Restaurante
Ranked #29 of 703 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Peruvian, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Contemporary Peruvian cuisine made with the best locally sourced ingredients.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I live in lima so trust me i know what good food is.

This place has good food at reasonable prices (this does not mean cheap). The service was great and they have a extensive drink menu. I think this is kind of as hood as you are going to get in Cuzco.

If you want better then honestly you have to go to Lima.

Helpful?
Thank The_Ch33z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    146
    29
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I went with a large group (20 or so) for a special evening.

When we got there we got to go behind the bar and they taught us how to make our own drinks! It's a lot harder that it looks but definitely fun.

However, that was the best part. The food came out slightly cold and i got the wrong order. I understand that it can be a bit tough with such a large group so overall not too bad.

Waitstaff seemed nice and friendly enough.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abcoo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had a delicious dinner here on our honeymoon. A local recommended this restaurant and we were not disappointed. This meal was one of our favorites of the whole trip and we made a point to dine at a lot of amazing restaurants. The cocktails were delicious and the waitstaff were very helpful in explaining each option. The interior is clean & modern with an incredible view of the Plaza de Armas. We dined at a table overlooking the plaza and were delighted by every course we ordered. Highlights included the rocoto relleno starter, duck entree trout entree, banana dessert, and an amazing bread plate served with moras salt sprinkled butter - yum. Highly recommend Calle del Medio for both happy hour and dinner. The staff, ambiance and cuisine were unforgettable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Perú
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice new spot”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I went there with some local friends and the experience was really good. If you are looking for a nice new place in Cusco where the rich locals go, try this place, good atmosphere, good drinks and certainly good Peruvian food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaguarwirz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streatley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food but value is all relative.”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The menu was one of the most interesting of the 20 or so restaurants that we have tried in Peru but it was also the most expensive meal of all (but not by much). Of course compared to UK or NZ a main course for £10 or $20NZ is cheap and the quality matched the top quarter of UK or NZ restaurants with very tender meat and excellent blend of flavours for typical Peruvian fayre - but you are still paying 5 times as much as you would for the same dish in one of the stalls in San Pedro Market (albeit for much better quality)
The Chicha Morada (purple corn drink which tastes a bit like non-alcoholic mulled wine) was the best we have tasted.
On Happy Hour - you need to buy 2 drinks the same to get the discount and they range from 20-25 Soles. To put that in perspective, the best Pisco Sour we have had was 10 Soles (in Chivay which is 300km from Cusco) while the Pisco Sour in Sanctuary Lodge (5star hotel at Machu Pichu) was 16.5 Soles so you can draw your own conclusions about the value of the Happy Hour

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dannysacovertiz, Director Comercial at Calle Del Medio Restaurante, responded to this review, 21 October 2015
Thank you for taking the time to express an opinion about our restaurant. We also appreciate that our proposal has found it interesting menu, the dish proved has been identified as very good. And as well you mentioned prices are relative, is not the same compare the costs of renting a restaurant in Chivay against one in the Plaza de Armas, Also it is not the same to compare a Pisco Sour made with an industrial Pisco versus another made with Pisco private harvest. To put it in perspective, it is like trying to compare a Whisky Red Label against a blue label, surely the two are good but can not be compared.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calle Del Medio Restaurante also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Calle Del Medio Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing