We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hitchhikers Backpackers Cusco Hostel
Ranked #73 of 498 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Reviewed 9 December 2013

After our rooms were double-booked at another hostel, even though we had a reservation (The Walk-On Inn, which had terrible customer service when this happened) we were lucky to find this little gem. So close to the main square, comfortable beds, clean sheets and hot showers. The service here was wonderful. Peter at the front desk went out of his way to accommodate all our needs and answer any questions we had. He was able to help us get late night laundry service after having returned from the Inca trail trek as we had to leave at 5 am the next day for another tour. They stored our bags for no charge! It was very quiet here when we stayed and was very safe as it was situated next to a police station. We loved coming back here after our tours as a home base.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzannecard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Location just some steps from main square ,You can walk everywhere and is safe , the hostal is clean , the prices are affordable , we cooked our own meals and was nice, we had a great time there, I went there with my family and there was no noise from guests , everyone clean after they cooked , it was a nice stay .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovelyplacestogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Great location
Our room was dark and damp although spacious.
Not much space in communal areas and not much atmosphere,.
Breakfast fine but finishes at 9
not a bad hostel its just we were gutted when we went to another (mama simona) and realised what we were missing out on.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenT12_3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I liked the hostel. It has a good location, close to the center of the city. The rooms are clean and big. The only point is that the breakfast could have more options of food, like fruits, eggs, etc. It is calm and the workers are very nice. They always tried to help me and my friends, indicating places to visit, restaurants to eat, where to take taxi, etc. It is silent and there is no parties inside the hostel. So it is nice to the ones who want to relax and have a calm time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeboraSRibeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed two nights and we were truly glad to leave this place.
In fact, it was very cold, very noisy, dirty and smelling funny.
Still, the staff was really nice and helpful and the community area is a nice place to meet fellow travelers.
However, this does not make up for the negative aspects.
Our suggestion: Go with another hostel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My friend and I stayed at Hitchhikers in May 2013. My friend was rushed to hospital during our stay and was admitted for five days with a parasitic gastrointestinal infection. Upon discharge he returned to the hostel to collect his bags. The owner made him pay for the nights while he was in hospital, his reason being that he had reserved a bed for him incase he was discharged. It saddens me to encounter such greed and no sympathy. Despite the owner's attitude, the girls who work at the hostel are fantastic.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank Globetrotter49_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights here in Cusco. The hostel was basic but was clean and met all our needs. Wifi was good in the room and the water in the shower was hot. We had a private double room. The breakfast was pretty much non-existent compared to other places we stayed at but that's okay. There was a kitchen that the guests could use. The location was perfect - only about two blocks from the Plaza de Armas. The area was close to lots of restaurants and night life but felt safe and was very quiet in the hostel at night. They kept our luggage when we went to Machu Picchu and we stayed one more night on the way back. Had a great triple room on the second floor. The front desk also helped to make reservations for us at their hostel in Lima.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are quieter than the ones in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cshalev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
#13 of 498 in Cusco
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Luxe Cusco Hostel
The Luxe Cusco Hostel
#37 of 498 in Cusco
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 498 in Cusco
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VIP House Hostel
VIP House Hostel
#57 of 498 in Cusco
162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel
Kokopelli Hostel
#7 of 498 in Cusco
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 498 in Cusco
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitchhikers Backpackers Cusco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitchhikers Backpackers Cusco Hostel

Address: calle Saphy 440, Cusco 84, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 498 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: £8 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitchhikers Backpackers Cusco Hostel offer you a beautiful colonial house in Cusco historical center some steps from main square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hitchhikers Backpackers Cusco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing