We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Hospedaje Hatun Quilla

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Casa Hospedaje Hatun Quilla
Ranked #36 of 401 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights, and chose it because of the excellent reviews on trip advisor. It really was a terrific place to stay, and as everybody says here, the owners and staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is excellent, as there are several places to eat just a few steps away, a large supermarket and a pharmacy in the same street. A couple of pieces of advice: if you suffer from altitude sickness it might be best to ask for a room without the bed on the mezzanine level. Also if you get your laundry done and you are missing any clothes, just let them know - we got our missing item back. Breakfast was simple but adequate. There is no heating, but it's not too cold, and in this price range in Peru, we didn't
find any hotels with heating. All in all, it was a very good choice for our stay in Cusco.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank atmNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    55
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
71
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I couldn't find a better place to say considering my budget and expectations, that's how I can resume my experience in Hatun Quilla.
You feel like you're at home. The family is very accommodating, warming and they were always willing to help me. Julio even helped me to plan and he made all the reservations for the rest of my trip in Peru after I came back from the Salkantay trail. He also helped me to arrange all the tours I wanted to do. That was above all expectations, I felt more than a simple guest, very welcome and confortable. Everything I needed the family was available with all the patient and kindness to provide me the best. They are the nicest people you can met! Real friends!
Besides that, the location is very good, just 5 minutes away from Plaza de Armas and close by a big supermarket, pharmacy and good and cheap authentic peruvian restaurants. The rooms were very clean and confortable and there was always hot water available.
Definitely, I would stay here again. Highly recommended!
There is no price for the service provided and attention given!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera_gilde_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Hatun Quilla is a lovely rustic guest house in a quiet but convenient area of Cusco. It ticks all the boxes for me; the hosts are lovely and very helpful, quirky decor, it's in a good location, it's cheap, it's got great wifi and hot water. Julio was extremely helpful about booking a day trip to Muchu Picchu for me (which, by the way, is cheaper for him to do from Cusco and include a guide, than for you to do directly from the UK!). I think the breakfast could be beefed up a bit as it's very basic, but that's really the only thing - and anyway, in Cusco you only want to eat lightly due to the altitude. I had a lovely stay - thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamzin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Julio and his wife were very friendly and kind. They offered me coca tea on the first day I arrived Cusco and suffered from altitude sickness. It's a homy stay with enthusiasm. I'd like to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach_Box_TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Julio and his staff at Hatun Quilla, made our time in Cusco amazing. We were a big group (9 of us, all family members) and we were all very happy with the accomodations and how geninue everybody was. The rooms were comfortable and quite charming ( we got to stay in the room that had the bed in the loft, it was lovely) The location is excellent, only 10 minutes away from the Plaza de Armas and the downtown attrations. Julio also could arrange a tour for you, like he did for us, we visited the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu and everything was top notch. We were extremly happy with all the services.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

A lovely little hostel - we had a room divided in two floors, with the bathroom and two comfortable chairs below, and stairs leading up to a 'balcony' where the beds and a closet were. This wasn't your usual hostel room, and I liked the set-up, plus the fact that it was clean and nicely decorated. The staff was also friendly, though they did not speak English.

The bathroom has no ventilation to the outside though (only to the room), and the room was quite dark as there was only a 'roof window.' That was a bit of a shame, but if you're out most of the day, this probably won't both you much.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoemiSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Nice place and interesting set up of the room, with the beds on the '2nd floor', which allows for a small 'living room': two nice and comfortable chairs to relax in and two small tables.

The rooms like nice and you can clearly see someone has put time and effort into decorations and setting everything up. Nice bathroom and good warm water pressure which you don't find everywhere.

Please note though that there isn't much daylight, only through a roof window and the bathroom doesn't have a vent to the outside, which may explain why the room was a bit smelly, but it didn't bother us so much.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fjorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
Hostal El Labrador
Hostal El Labrador
#24 of 401 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yawarmaki Hostel
Yawarmaki Hostel
#14 of 401 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 401 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Intro Hostels Cusco
Intro Hostels Cusco
#15 of 401 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Balcon
El Balcon
#5 of 339 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
#20 of 401 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hospedaje Hatun Quilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hospedaje Hatun Quilla

Property: Casa Hospedaje Hatun Quilla
Address: Calle Meloc # 458 Int.. 8, Cusco 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 401 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Hospedaje Hatun Quilla 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House Accommodation HATUN QUILLA is located 7 min. We walk from the Plaza de Armas City and other attractions are also near a Super Merket and Restaurants. We are located in an old Casona street Meloc.Barrio old and traditional ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casa Hospedaje Hatun Quilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing