We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”
Review of El Mercado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Mercado
Ranked #19 of 173 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Walking distance to everything, lovely internal courtyard & lounge area, all staff friendly, polite & professional, room service always done in the morning & spotless. Very comfortable bed & pillows. Everything about this hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

It would be difficult for me to say how much we loved this hotel. We arrived early and they welcomed us with open arms. We were guided to their courtyard and were able to relax while they readied our room. The hotel manager greeted us shortly thereafter and we had a wonderful discussion with him. He didn't just drop by to do a cordial greeting, but actually took the time to speak with us and told us about the various things to do in the city of Cusco. That was just the beginning of the wonderful time we experienced.We were treated like kings and queens (I assure you we are not) from beginning to end.The food is wonderful. The service is wonderful. Everything is wonderful. I encourage you to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jared S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceML P, Guest Relations Manager at El Mercado, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Jared,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your stay at El Mercado Hotel!

We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it is a great reward to read that you enjoyed our service!

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at El Mercado Hotel.

Kindest regards,

El Mercado Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

located 10 miniutes walking from the main square in cusco,this small and beautiful boutique hotel is really unique and special.rooms are very clean,cozy,nice view and good showers.the manager and the staff are very friendly and do the best to make your vacation a wonderful expiriance.breakfast is delicious and very fresh and tasty juice is served according to your own taste.we also enjoyed dinner,fresh trout and tasty soup and pasta,in the beautiful decorated dining place.the hotel patio is very inviting,and if we return to cusco-we will stay there-100 percent shure .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yori54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Muy bonito, acogedor y con un servicio excelente.
The best hotel ever! Nice location, close to the plaza, u can walk around.
The breakfast is delicious and the dinner is beautiful.
The rooms are pretty and comfortable.
The best service <3

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gigi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceML P, Guest Relations Manager at El Mercado, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014
Google Translation

Estimada Gigi,

Gracias por elegir nuestro hotel para tu estancia en la ciudad de Cusco,

Queremos agradecerte por tomarte el tiempo de escribir este comentario que nos ayuda a seguir mejorando y a darnos cuenta que estamos en el camino correcto.

De parte de todo el equipo deseamos que vuelvas pronto a esta hermosa ciudad y te hospedes nuevamente con nosotros.

Cordialmente
Equipo El Mercado Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This hotel seems to be new but it has a great service, staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are spacious with nice bathroom and shower. what is interesting is the decoration, it is unique!! breakfast is great too!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I've been in many boutique hotels around the world, but this clearly makes it in top 5! Very conveniently located 3 blocks from Cusco's main square, it has a unique design style that easily competes the top European or North American boutique hotels. The staff is extremely friendly and service oriented, without getting in the subservient extremities of Asian hotel staff. It definitely feels like home here... Hope to visit again!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Yannis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Very close to Plaza de Armas. The breakfast is a whole experience.
The rooms are very nice.
The wifi doesn't work that good.
Very good service. Everyone was very kind.
The decorations are inspired on a market in Cuzco.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joaquin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#28 of 173 in Cusco
1,556 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#16 of 173 in Cusco
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
0.3 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mercado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mercado

Address: Calle 7 Cuartones 306, Cusco 84, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 173 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: £102 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Mercado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant and welcoming El Mercado is located three and a half blocks from the main square of Cusco. Formerly part of the old farmer’s market, El Mercado has been designed to incorporate some of the element of the market, both in its original decor, friendly casual atmosphere and innovative cuisine. With only 32 rooms, El Mercado provides the best of colonial and contemporary architecture, all the latest comforts and truly exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Mercado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing