We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique hotel near the center of Cusco”
Review of El Mercado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Mercado
Ranked #20 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I think the most outstanding aspect of this hotel is the staff who are the warmest and most attentive young people I have ever encountered. They are absolutely unparalleled in their friendliness and service. It makes for a real treat. The rooms are cozy with hot-water heating in the walls. Each room has WiFi for great reception. For rooms with two beds, they are a little close together, but the showers and bathrooms are great. There is a central courtyard where they have a fire at night and there is an adjoining bar and restaurant that is excellent if you would like to eat in. The morning breakfasts are amongst the best I have encountered, and the warm and friendly staff make for a great start to your day. It is very central; an easy short walk to Plaza de Armas. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
There are newer reviews for El Mercado
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Lovely place, lovely people! There are no words to express how comfortable and welcome we felt in El Mercado. It is hard to explain, but we really felt like home. We stayed three days in El Mercado before we had to go to a "5 star luxury hotel" in the Sacred Valley... going to a different hotel was our only mistake. Fortunately, we had to go back to El Mercado for a couple of days before we went back to Lima. El Mercado was beyond our expectancy. Everything works how is supposed to: hot water, WiFi, TV, etc. If it doesn't, they will fix it right away! Also, there was a nice young men who stopped by to give us some delicious chocolate! When we had to leave, sweet Lizeth gave us a big hug which almost put us in tears... We will definitely come back! Muchas Gracias!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraCS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Our small group arrived in Cusco a bit tired and feeling the effects of the high altitude. We were welcomed by the hotel manager and front desk staff and served tea in a lovely interior courtyard. before heading to our rooms. In the evening, when it gets cool, the fire pit in the courtyard is lit and the atmosphere is magical.
With spectacular common spaces, excellent on-site restaurant and well designed rooms, you feel in the lap of luxury. Our room had ultra-comfortable beds, great rain-shower and amenities. the housekeeping staff keep you supplied with complimentary water and little treats on a daily basis. The choice of food and service in the breakfast room was amazing. Fresh fruit smoothies, crepes or omelettes made to order and buffet selection were just what the doctor ordered to help you start your day in wonderful Cusco.
Food served in the hotel restaurant was delicious and the atmosphere/design was interesting and comfortable.
But the best attribute of this establishment is the staff. Everyone from the doorman, front-desk, management, house-keeping, restaurant personnel and breakfast room staff were very efficient and friendly. You really felt that they wanted you to have the best stay possible as they remembered previous requests and went out of their way to help.
Bravo El Mercado, Cusco city :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank excentrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just a couple blocks from the Plaza de Armas. Rooms are new and perfect with hot water heat in the walls. The best shower ever and a wifi unit in each room for perfect reception. The included Breakfast was the best - everything was perfect. We stayed 2 night and left for the sacred valley. Upon our return to Cusco, we had booked the 5 Star Awrana just for a different experience. That was a mistake and we wish we were back at El Mercado

Room Tip: Make sure they give you a room that is not on the street. Those Peruvians use their horns way too m...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandFlogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

What a great find! We stayed three nights as part of our pre-trek acclimatisation and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel itself is newly opened so the rooms are lovely; clean and well equipped with tea and coffee makers, TV and very good free wifi. The bed was large and a comfortably hard mattress, with plenty of pillows made for a great sleep. We were upgraded to a suite and were lucky enough to have a spa bath as well. The decor at the hotel is quirky and modern. We've stayed at three different hotels in Cusco and it's nice to stay somewhere that is modern. Other hotels have been very good but not as contemporary as this. The breakfast is modern too. For example, there is a fruit stand with a huge selection of fruit and juicers - very cool. The breakfast is delicious; a wonderful selection of fruit, cereals, traditional hot foods, pastries, eggs (cooked to your liking) and crepes.
There's a great courtyard that's decked out with comfortable couches and is perfect for relaxing in the afternoon sun.
Great location as well; It's about a ten minute walk to Plaza de Arms and there's a big supermarket about one minute around the corner.
Stay here if you want something a little more modern, whilst maintaining quirky Peruvian touches.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows opening onto courtyard may be a little noisy
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We started and ended our 8 day trek in this lovely hotel in Cusco. Recently opened, it still has a few growing pains, but one those are ironed out a lovely comfortable quiet hotel to get acclimatized for the high altitude trekking and to enjoy yourself in your own private jacuzzi when the trek is over.

When you arrive at the hotel you are welcomed with a nice CoCo tea and sit by the fire as the check in process begins. Once all paperwork is done, the bags are brought to your room. As in most hotels, you can have standard, upgrade, Junior Suite, Family Room, Suite etc. We opted for the Junior Suite as it had in room fire place and jacuzzi. Unfortunately it is not a wood fireplace, but a gas one, but the ambience was there.

The in room jaccuzzi was lovely and needed after the walks. You have to get there early in order to have enough hot water.... one of the minor problems... out of 6 jacuzzis over the period of time we spent there, only 2 were cold!

Night time turn down service was great and everyone got a handmade basket with chocolates. We also had a fruit basket in our room.

Breakfast is included and it wonderful. Everything organic and fresh. My favorite was Nadia's juice bar. She freshly makes a concoction of any fruit or vegetable she has on stock. An herbal tea bar with a mixture of plants to help with altitude sickness was also a nice treat. Eggs made fresh to your liking and fruits, meats all nicely displayed.

The full service restaurant was nice. Service very slow, but people friendly. Not a huge choice of options, but what we did eat was very good. Try the fresh lake trout.

¨Piscou Sours very good and their house wine tasty.

All in all a good experience,
The growing pains: enough hot water for the hotel, when we came back after our trip the fireplace in our room was not working and each night we had sewage odors in the room, staff new about it and came in to put the water taps on. So, they are trying!

Room Tip: Go for the Junior Suite, only a little bit more expensive but definately worth it.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polarbearpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Nice hotel a short 5 minute walk to the town centre, although most hotels in Cusco are. It appears to be recently built/renovated so rooms are in good nick. Overall the hotel has a bit of character.

Although relatively new the rooms are very small. Service was generally good but inconsistent at times.

Overall a very nice hotel that would have achieved a higher score if it had represented better value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Espresso74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.5 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
0.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 170 in Cusco
1,452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mercado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mercado

Address: Calle 7 Cuartones 306, Cusco 84, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: £98 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Mercado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant and welcoming El Mercado is located three and a half blocks from the main square of Cusco. Formerly part of the old farmer’s market, El Mercado has been designed to incorporate some of the element of the market, both in its original decor, friendly casual atmosphere and innovative cuisine. With only 32 rooms, El Mercado provides the best of colonial and contemporary architecture, all the latest comforts and truly exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Mercado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing