We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem in Cusco”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Mercado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Mercado
Ranked #19 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
139 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A Gem in Cusco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Wasn't sure what to expect as I drove through the streets of Cusco from the airport. However, I was VERY happy to have the doors to this charming oasis opened for me. The front desk people are beyond sweet and helpful. They even had a bottle of oxygen waiting for guests if needed. The outdoor courtyard/fireplace are beautiful and relaxing. The living room off the entry way is stunning. The rooms were large and the beds very comfortable. Shower pressure was awesome. Everything is within walking distance, the churches, central market, etc. The juice bar at breakfast is really nice!

Room Tip: Loved 101. Do not miss the evening/sunset views from the 4th floor. Magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalbuMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    112
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
76
233
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent 3 nights in El Mercado to acclimate to the altitude in anticipation of a trek to Machu Pichu which we booked through REI. We could not have enjoyed our stay more. From the lovely and welcoming people at the front desk to the friendly women who serve a delicious and very generous breakfast, everyone who works at El Mercado is wonderful. Our rooms were very spacious, the king-sized bed had comfortable bedding and perfect pillows, the showers were hot with excellent pressure, and there was in-room tea and coffee available, along with a welcoming basket of fresh fruit. We ate at the restaurant three times, because after the wonderful meal we enjoyed our first night, which we thought was quite a bargain, other recommended restaurants seemed much more expensive for the same quality of food. We did enjoy a couple of other dinners elsewhere, but highly recommend this restaurant, especially if you are tired after a long day of travel. And no review is complete without raves about the breakfast, included in the rate. Many varieties of meat and cheese, yogurts, nuts, seeds, dried fruits, smoothies of fresh fruits made-to-order, specialized teas, and eggs as you want them, or crepes prepared for you. Rolls, fruit juices, and more. As it says on El Mercado's website "Mountain Lodges of Peru offers a mixture of adventure and comfort on one of Latin America’s most exciting trips: a seven day journey on foot or by horse along the famed Salkantay trail that brings the traveler from the high Andes to the edge of the cloud forest. Four well-appointed luxury mountain lodges welcome travelers at the end of each day. The well earned prize at the end of the journey is an unforgettable visit to the magical ruins of Machu Picchu, the legendary lost citadel of the Inkas." We did this trek, and the other lodges WERE luxurious beyond our anticipation, but El Mercado is the jewel of the group.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor before our trek and it was a little noisier than the third floor, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishiiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The breakfast has a wonderful fresh fruit juice counter and a herbal drink one, the latter being so unique. The room , 402, was big, very comfortable bed, a fire place, a jacuzzi. Coca tea and other tea stations open all day on top of your room tea station. Short walking distance from the square.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjendub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our family including in-laws used this hotel as the base for our stay in Peru. The service was top notch, the rooms were relaxing and welcoming. The breakfast was really good. They greeted us with hot tea every day. The courtyard was ideal for a fire and end of day family setting. The front desk staff was right -on with food suggestions during our stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rugbydox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel, that combines old traditions with modern flair and comfort. The rooms are on the smaller side but very tasteful decorated. The service is great and the rooms are very clean.
The restaurant was a bit of a disappointment but that said we were a group of 14 people dining there.
The breakfast is delicious.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Morena1556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great boutique type hotel with a decent amount of rooms. However, the feel is rather quaint with a nice courtyard and neat outdoor seating features around the walkways. The included breakfast is very nice with a great variety of foods from local to international. You can order your eggs however you want and they have a juicing station and even a traditional Peruvian tea cart.

The rooms are all a little unique from each other. I was in a group so I saw a few. They are very nice with great bathrooms. The beds are great. My one warning would be to make sure you get a room away from the main street. The nose is very loud in those rooms (but not the others). After staying awake all night listening to dogs, trucks, and other loud sounds I requested to be moved. This was taken care of right away by the very nice and helpful front desk staff.

Lastly, the location is great. It is about three blocks from the main square and from there you have a lot around you. Really this is a wonderful hotel in a great location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dkoenig101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The El Mercado has recently been renovated after being purchased by Mountain Lodges of Peru.
It is part of a package of hotels for an REI trekking adventure we just returned from.
Whether you are on an REI trip or not, the hotel is a great choice to stay in Cusco!
It is located 3 blocks up from the Main Square (a 5 minute walk to, but maybe 10 minutes back, as it is uphill and you are above 11,000').

From the moment you arrive, you are treated wonderfully. With a welcome Coco Tea drink and a relaxing seat in the courtyard, the check in process is very stress free. We found all the staff to be very nice and helpful at all times. Organized around a small central courtyard, with complementary coffee and tea, this is a great place to hang out, catch your breath and meet other guests.

The rooms are clean, well appointed, and quite charming, we thought they were great.
(They are a bit small, and open to the bathrooms, if that might bother you).
Snack plates great you everyday, as do Chocolates on your bed at turndown service.
There is some noise, from either the street or the many dogs barking and running around Cusco.

The staff gave great recommendations on restaurants in town (try Greens, Chi Cha, or Limo) but the restaurant here is very good too! The food was excellent, and very reasonably priced.
The complementary homemade potato chips and accompanying dips are fantastic!
The bartender made great Pisco Sours, taking the time to teaching us how to make them properly.

The breakfasts were included, and a highlight!
Located in a separate basement area, there is a buffet of cheeses, meats, fruit, coffee and tea. Eggs and crepes can be ordered a variety of ways, but the specialty smoothie & juice bar and healthy tea bar are fantastic, you can get many varieties made up however you like them.

If you are on a long trekking tour, you can check some bags, and they are waiting for you in your new room upon your return. Mountain Lodges of Peru has thought everything through here, they truly made everything so easy and accommodating. But it is the helpfulness of the staff, and the calm relaxing courtyard that makes the hotel so special!
Highly recommend you consider this hotel.

Room Tip: The top floors do have some views of the City
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricksteveswannabe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.6 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.4 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mercado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mercado

Property: El Mercado
Address: Calle 7 Cuartones 306, Cusco 84, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Mercado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant and welcoming El Mercado Tunqui located three and a half blocks from the Plaza de Armas or main square of Cusco. Formerly part of the old farmer's market, El Mercado Tunqui has been designed to incorporate some of the element of the market, both in its original decor, friendly casual atmosphere and innovative cuisine. With only 32 rooms, El Mercado Tunqui provides the best of colonial and contemporary architecture, all the latest comforts and truly exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Mercado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing