We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hostel in Cusco !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dragonfly Hostels Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
Ranked #20 of 401 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hostel in Cusco !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Super hostel, very well located (next to the main square), not too big, the rooms are comfy, the showers are amazing. The best value for money.
The staff is super nice and will do everything so that you can have the best journey possible.
They propose a lot of activities.

There is a bar in the hostel, which is very cool and they even propose their own beer.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceD31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoDragonFly13, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Alice,

Great to hear from you and great to read you review, thank you! Thank you for your visit and thank you for trusting Dragonfly Hostels Cusco. We were happy to host you and to have a little talk, so pleasant.

We are glad that everything went smooth and you enjoyed our own Beer.
Thanks to comment our services and our rooms. We are improving our hostels every day to offer the best service we can.

If you have an opportunity to visit Cusco one again, please stop by Dragonfly, it will be a pleasure to host you again.

Have a safety travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    111
    40
    22
    8
See reviews for
15
98
105
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Friendly staff, easy walk to the Plaza de Armas. Bar in the courtyard of the hostel with locally made micro-brews.

I recommend getting a room on the 2nd floor as it gets pretty loud at night from the partying and can become annoying if you have to get up early the following day.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor are better kept and quieter, larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonham86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoDragonFly13, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest

Many thanks for your visit and your nice review here on TA.

It was a pleasure to receive you sharing some handcrafted beers. About your comment about the room, we try to make a good balance between chill out environment and sociable one, is for that we close our Bar at 10.45pm and turn the light off at 11pm. As a consequence, everyone can enjoy a good time with us.

I have a safe travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puno, Peru
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Loved the lima dragonfly so booked well in advance for the cusco one. Most rooms looked nice but ours was about half the size, very dirty in parts and cold. The bed broke, as did the glass wardrobe and the huge hole in the wall made for zero noise cancellation from the bar just 2 metres from our door. We moved to another hostel after a few nights as we feared we would get no sleep before our inca trail.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shdch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoDragonFly13, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Shdch,

Thank you for your comment about Dragonfly hostels Lima y Cusco. Good to know you enjoy the Dragonfly Hostels Lima.

The room you mentioned in your review doesn’t exist anymore. It’s now our Tv room. By the way I will answer to your comments.

-It’s true this room is more noisy than the others because it’s near to the bar. That’s why we decided to close it. The size of you room is a standard twin rooms like the others one we have, the bigger one is for 2 at least and max 4 people,so that’s why there is more space.

I’m really surprise you mentioned on you review you room was dirty, As you can see in the others reviews we have really good comments about this point.That could be a missing but we are always doing our best to keep the room clean for backpackers. We don’t want dirty room in our hostel.

-About your bed i’m really sorry to hear that, I remember we fixed it, we don’t have anymore trouble with this bed now, sorry for this inconvenience,
About the glass wardrobe, you never mentioned it and I revised it before opening our new Tv room and it’s in perfect condition

-About the cold in the room, I will remember to you we are at 11000 feet and he can be little more colder, it's for that we rent heater for the night and also give for free blankets if you want but I don't have souvenir you ask for it.

Best regards and have safety travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my friend from Canada stayed here before going to Machu Piccu and the staff and the facilities are just amazing. To Julien and Stef, thank you for making us feel like home, so welcomed and part of the dragonfly family. If you are looking for a place to stay, don't look anywhere else.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhero87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoDragonFly13, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hey Julien,

It was a pleasure to host you recently at Dragonfly hostels Cusco: thank you for your visit and thank you for such a great comment here on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to learn that everything was great and you enjoyed our staff all time here to help you and you will be feeling at home.

I’m remember you crazy team and you amability, I’m still foolowing you on facebook page and hope to see soon your video you pick up around your trip.

I hope your trip back to Canada was safe ; if you visit Cusco again, please drop by Dragonfly Hostels.

My best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Quite noisy, to be honest: doors are thin and even leave gaps once closed, and thay all direct to a common area, wich means u hear everything thats going on out there at the hostel. Toilets and showers are mixed for both genders, so u have to get your clothes off and on, in the shower... Quite uncomfortable.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ekaterusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoDragonFly13, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Ekaterina ,

Thank you for your comment about the Dragonfly Hostels.
After our internal investigation (we keep records your reservations) and it appears you stayed in a room on the 2nd floor with view on the patio like all our room but we always close the bar at 10.30pm and turn off the light at 11pm in order to limit the noise.

I ‘ve also seen you stayed in an other hostel and this one is more a party hostels. Say to us it’s noisy seems to be hypocrite; Also as you can see on our tripadvisor page approx 80 people don’t really agree with you but I understand that everybody have different opinion and we respect it.

About the showers, we understand it can be uncomfortable to have a mixt one, after you stay in our hostel we decided to changed it and we have now male and female showers, same for the toilets.

Your boyfriend Christian mention also the following point :

-"poor breakfast" : It’s a free Breackfast, not included on your rooms if you want more as you want you can take it in other place and paid it for and we can show you the best place for that.
-"Noise about the games in the patio" : You review is a little bit weird because at 11pm all the game are closed and nobody can, play until 9am.

After seeing the review of Christian concerning our direct competitors, I have serious doubts about your honesty

Best regards, Julian Manager of Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Dragonfly Cusco, is a great place to go if you are looking for a clean,reassonably priced, and relaxed hostel.
Nice and clean facilities, a welcoming staff.
Coming from "the Wild Rover" with naked people running around screaming untill 4 AM, Dragonfly
fulfills everything you need from a hostel :)

Room Tip: book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoDragonFly13, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Camilla,

Thank you for your review here on Trip Advisor and thank you for your visit; we were happy to receive you at the Dragonfly hostels,

It is always so nice to get different opinions from all over the world. It’s nice to read you review and I appreciate you enjoyed our hostels and our staff.

Hope to see you again in Cusco

My very best regards to both of you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Such a good stay in Dragonfly Cusco.
All the staff is really helpfull and friendly.
My room was clean. Toilets and showers also.
It offers lot of services: breakfast, laundry, wi-fi, tours...The hostel is well situated, at only 3 mins of the main square by walking!
An event each day in the patio: Barbecue, handrafted beer degustation (great beer and great burgers). Good atmosphere and it's not noisy. It's easy to meet and share with other backpackers.
I recommend this hostel. Great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoDragonFly13, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Dan,

We are so pleased to know that your Dragonfly experience was a pleasure; Thanks for your visit and thank you for your nice comments about us. Our goal is to please people by providing clean and spacious rooms and public area with pleasurable services; your comment proves to us that we have succeeded.

We hope that one day you pass by Cusco and we will have again a pleasure to host you again.

Kindly regards and have a nice travel around the world Dan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Ninos Hotel
Ninos Hotel
#24 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 401 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 401 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 401 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel
Kokopelli Hostel
#7 of 401 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#9 of 401 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Hostels Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Hostels Cusco

Property: Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
Address: Calle Siete Cuartones 245, Cusco 84, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 401 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dragonfly Hostels offer unique ambiance in the historical district of Cusco and is located only 2 blocks from the Plaza de Armas. Enjoy your stay in an authentic colonial house with great facilities at affordable prices. Enjoy our barbecue nights around the bar. Discover our microbrewery and try our brew of the month. Welcoming staff 24h/7, Free WiFi and common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Dragonfly Hostels Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing