We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hot water” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dragonfly Hostels Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
Ranked #20 of 401 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No hot water”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here because of all the positive reviews, all the people were very nice. We stayed two nights, one in a private room without a bathroom and one in a private room with a bathroom. I never had a shower with warm water, my girlfriend ran out of hot water a minute into each shower she took..... We moved to a nice hotel down the street for the same price!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yann74, Owner at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Ray,

First of all, we want to thank you for your stay at Dragonfly Hostels and your nice comment about the staff.

Following our past reviews, we are famous for offering one of the best hot water in Peru to our guests.
We had monthy maintenance for our hot water system, this took less than 1 hour. Nobody complain about it.
As you said, the staff is really available and if you did experience such a problem, you should have tell the staff and we would have fixed the issue right away.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    111
    40
    22
    8
See reviews for
15
98
105
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This hostel is located just off the beaten track, about 100m from the main plaza. Just around the block u will find lots of souvenir shops with very competitive prices. It is not too far from the San Pedro market where u can stop by for extremely cheap and authentic Peruvian food. The hostel has a very laidback vibe at night, good for making new friends amd grabbing a drink. U will NEVER feel alone in this hostel. Steph, Sol and Jenny were the highlights of my stay at the hostel. They were outgoing and interacted with me more like a friend than guest. I love them so much!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yann74, Owner at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your nice review! The staff creates a friendly atmosphere in the hostel and always helps our guest. We are happy you enjoyed you stay with us. Hope to see you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was lucky to find this lovely hostel in the heart of Cusco city to spend a few nights while doing a photographic project for an upcoming exhibition in Lima. I meet Steph, Julian, Mabel and all the staff and they were very welcomy to me and to everybody else.
the rooms is warm and comfy and the breakfast is just right to start your morning.
I highly recommend to stay at Dragonfly Cusco for good value and great service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Estrellachaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yann74, Owner at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Estrella,

Thank you so much for your stay and for your good review. It was a pleasure to welcome you, your project about the Inca Bridge is amazing !
AS you said, our staff is always ready to help our guest and always try to create good vibe in the hostel. Good value price/ quality with breakfast included, free wi-fi, hot water all day long, laundry service, bar, BBQ… This is Dragonfly rules!

Hope to see you soon and good luck for your project.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

After a short flight from Lima to Cusco on Star Peru, we found our way to Dragonfly Hostel, Cusco, the sister hostel to Dragonfly, Lima. Another great hostel located less than 2 blocks from the central Plaza de Armas. Their affordable rates and comfort are all you will need for a comfortable home away from home and all in an authentic colonial house.

Dragonfly Hostels are proudly run by the owners and everyone agrees it makes a real difference, they treat you well and you can expect their staff to give you their best. This sister hostel was opened on May, 2013 by Mabel and Yann Blas-Laemaire. The building itself is a colonial house from the 1900′s. It has 50 beds with more private rooms then the Lima Dragonfly. Even with all its beds, they wanted to keep it small so there is a social environment, ensuring all the guests get to know each other. If you are looking for a party hostel this is not the place for you, even though Julien, the house manager, runs a lively happy hour with lots of drink specials and a GREAT barbecue hosted several times a week. If you want to tour the city or trek your way to Machu Picchu, book it all through the hostel, they will make sure you will have the time of your.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yann74, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Patrick,

Thank you for recommending us. Our aim is to create good vibe in the hostel and between the travelers. It’s a friendly atmosphere where you can enjoy our Bar or our BBQ. That’s the way to meet other backpackers. Best place to have to relax in Cusco is Dragonfly.

Thank you so much and see you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed in the Dragonfly hostel for 5 days during my visit of the Sacred Valley around Cusco. I've been impressed by the quality of the service and the friendliness from the Staff. The place is very "welcomy" and quiet at night, which is most appreciable when you want to rest from your efforts of the day. The quality of the accommodation is great, with cosy and warm bed, and very hot showers, which is not always the case around here.. Wifi was great as they received recently an additional router. It was a great place where to stay and the general atmosphere helped me to feel like at home, all i needed after few months of travels. Don't miss out their "Raclette" party on Friday night !!! a succulent dish from Savoy (France), everything is possible in Dragonfly Cusco.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quentin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yann74, Owner at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Quentin,

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Dragonfly Hostels. We do our best to offer the best services possible: breakfast included, hot water, free wi-fi, bar.
We organize activities like BBQ or Raclette in order to make people meet each other, and create good vibe with the staff.
Our facilities are clean and our room clean and cosy.

Thank you for your comments and enjoy your trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Good vibes.

How happy I was to stay 4 days in Dragonfly Cusco. Well situated in the center. Great hostel with a friendly staff and receptionists. Good place for watching world cup enjoying burgers and handracfted beer.
The hostel is clean and safe, The music is always good and it's not noisy at all.
I recommend it for the price and the quality!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank OKCorrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yann74, Owner at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello,

Thank so su much for your nice review. Your review resume our philosophy, and you totally cought the atmosphere of Dragonfly Hostels. The most important thing for us is that you have a great stay !

Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

The hostel is average and a little overpriced. The shared bathrooms are on the ground floor (which is not great of you're on the second floor) although the staff are friendly. They lost some of my laundry and failed to help me when asked. Steer clear, there are much better hostels in cusco.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoDragonFly13, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear James.

First of all, thanks for your stay at Dragonfly. We are surprised by your review, because everything seemed to be great with you, you stayed with us in our patio and should have talked to us before.

Our price is a way to not being a party hostel and to create a good and friendly atmosphere. You stayed 3 nights in dorms and 1 night in private rooms, and you were aware of our prices.

About the rooms, we have shared bathrooms on the 1st floor but also on the segond floor, not far from the kitchen and next from your room. Moreover we showed you the hostel and explained you where are the toilets and bathrooms.

Then, we are working with a laundry service and we always ask it when something is lost. Our recepcionist did it during your check-out when you told us some of your laundry were lost

Kindly regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Ninos Hotel
Ninos Hotel
#24 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 401 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 401 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 401 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel
Kokopelli Hostel
#7 of 401 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#9 of 401 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Hostels Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Hostels Cusco

Property: Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
Address: Calle Siete Cuartones 245, Cusco 84, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 401 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dragonfly Hostels offer unique ambiance in the historical district of Cusco and is located only 2 blocks from the Plaza de Armas. Enjoy your stay in an authentic colonial house with great facilities at affordable prices. Enjoy our barbecue nights around the bar. Discover our microbrewery and try our brew of the month. Welcoming staff 24h/7, Free WiFi and common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Dragonfly Hostels Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing