We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza
Ranked #29 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ugh”
Reviewed 10 August 2008

Oh, my. Our room was a double - SMALL, we could barely fit the luggage through the door. There were two hooks on the wall that we later found out were for a missing heater in the room! The shower did not drain well, and after that the room smelled a little like sewage... which did not go well with the pre-existing smell of cigarettes. Ick. We had to ask for soap, hand towels, and an extra pillow for one of the two beds. When the "goods" were delivered, they acted like we were crazy for asking!. Be careful not to get a ground floor room, and you may be ok. The smaller plaza location is nice, but the room on floor one was terrible.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MakoRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, 30 January 2009
Dear Guest:

We truly appreciate the time you took to share your experience at our hotel. We totally understand your discontent and we apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused.

Please rest assured that corrective measures are being held in order to make sure all of our rooms follow our standards. It is important for us to mention that because of the city infrastructure, we have been forced to deal with situations we could not anticipate. However, we are always trying to improve our facilities in order to offer our guests a better service.

It would be our pleasure to serve you again anytime soon.

Kind regards,

Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    430
    117
    27
    7
See reviews for
231
381
76
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

I used this hotel as a base whilst I visited Cusco, Machu Picchu and Puerto Maldonado therefore I stayed in three different rooms.
For the noise factor I would not recommend being on the ground floor as the reception and log fire (which is a very nice area to sit) is well used and if it is being used then you may not be able to sleep.
My other rooms were on the third floor and I found these to be better.
The breakfast is a basic buffet again which is standard to most of the Casa Andina hotels.

  • Liked — Convienient location
  • Disliked — The noise on the ground floor
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Julesr_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recife, PE
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

The hotel is a small one, near Merces Church, and behind Plaza de Armas. So, it has a great location. The room is basic and small. From our room (206), we have great views to the Company Church's towers and not so much noise. But if you are alergic, take care with carpets (I beliveve all rooms have them). The bathroom is also small, but new, with a good shower with hot water, all the time.
The breakfast is good, with delicious fruits, breads, hot dishes, etc. They beguin to serve from 05:00 am and that is great, when you are leaving to Machu Picchu, so early in the morning.
By the way, if you are going to visit MP, I suggest to stay one night in Aguas Calientes (you will visit the ruins in the afternoon and in the morning, without so many tourists. Also, the Vistadome train takes 04 hours to go from Cusco and more 04 hours to come back , and believe me, that is not an easy travel, because the train is very, very slow).
In Cusco, visit the Museo de Arte Pre Combiana: a great colection in a good place, where you can have lunch or a dinner (they close only at 22:00)
Also, try the Inca Grill restaurant: good food, quick service and music alive.
Enjoy your stay in Peru, as much as you can.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — carpet in the room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Muniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2008

The hotel is located one block from the main plaza (Plaza de Armas). The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel price included an international breakfast buffet (which was pretty good). Although the room does not have a lot of frills, the room was very clean and there was strong water pressure.

  • Liked — Location!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank syreierson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2008

I stayed in a single room, which was small but clean and cozy. There's a heater, the room is warm, fluffy pillows, decent bed, lots of hot water, great water pressure, a full breakfast buffet open from 5 am to 10 am, just enough time to catch the train to Machu Picchu, the staff are very helpful, they will store your luggage for you, and it's done up in a very cute and local way. The only drawback is noisy neighbours but you get that anywhere. There are four floors, with an elevator, and in a location just behind the plaza, so not on a noisy street.

  • Liked — Free wireless internet in the room with a strong signal!
  • Disliked — Noisy neighbours
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wellstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2008

This hotel is well situated just off the main square in Cusco.

The rooms are not massive but have everything you want. Two queensize beds, a nice clean bathroom and we had a lovely outlook over the cathedral.

The staff are extremely friendly and there is always an abundant supply of cocoa tea in reception which really helps combat the altitude sickness.

The breakfast is buffet style and very nice.

We stayed here before and after doing the Inca Trail. Our bags were put in storage when we were away and were in our room waiting for us when we checked backed in. We were in room 339 which was nice and quiet. I imagine the ones on the main road may be a little noiser.

  • Liked — A good location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2008

It's very basic but what can you expect for under USD100 per day. The location was great but the room was poor and small. it's is more like a good backpacker standard but with your own bathroom..

A thing that really annoyed me was they quote all prices in USD but once you try to pay (on credit card) they can only use Sole so they use a rediculous conversion rate of 3sole per USD. This was a complete rip-off and added about 15% to to price. what a take. (this was the same for the other Casa Andina property we stayed at)

I'm sure there are better value places in Cuzco.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Guado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, 30 January 2009
Dear Guest:

We are truly sorry to hear that your experience in our Casa Andina Cusco Plaza could not meet your expectations. We thank you shared this valuable information and gave us the opportunity to improve our operations.

We would like to point out that we have habilitated our POS to make credit card charges in American dollars as well as in Peruvian Nuevos Soles in all of our hotels. We believe this effort will benefit many of our guests.

Please be sure that one of our major concerns is to implement improvements that will provide our guests a more fulfilling experience.

Kind regards,

Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Catedral
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Cusco
0.1 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#31 of 167 in Cusco
1,396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Andes De America Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza

Property: Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza
Address: Portal Espinar 142, Cusco 84, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Cusco
#30 Family Hotel in Cusco
#33 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly convenient: under the colonial arcades of stately Plaza-Regocijo & around the corner from Cusco's beautiful Plaza de Armas. Guests of this hotel can't get much closer to the restaurants, bars, and shops that mark the Plaza de Armas of Cusco. The original Casa Andina hotel features a cozy fireplace lounge and top-floor breakfast room with unparalleled views of the Cathedral and the Plaza-de-Armas. Its elevator & central location are ideal for convenience-oriented independent travelers. Some of the services the hotel offers are: Internet Center, Wireless Internet service, ATM, laundry service and breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic - Cusco Plaza Hotel Cusco
Casa Andina Classic Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing