We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but too too noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Agustin International Hotel
Ranked #44 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location but too too noisy”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Location and spirit of the hotel is great, but the noise from outside the hotel and the paper thin walls is too much - the staff are nice and will offer to move you to a different room, but dont be fooled, the other rooms are just as noisy (and I was wearing ear plus!!!!)

Room Tip: Book into another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    292
    144
    38
    16
See reviews for
139
211
64
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Once again, Gate 1 did a great job selecting this hotel. The staff is friendly and very interesting in making your stay comfortable. The room was comfortable even though the windows in our room opened to the lobby, the noise settled down by 11 p.m. The location was great. It is just 2 blocks from the Plaza de Armas where you can find lots of activity, great restaurants and the cathedral. We ate at the Limo restaurant at the Plaza de Armas and the food was really good. The hotel also offers a nice buffet for breakfast. I would return and I do recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from rooms facing the street. I was told they are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This hotel is very well situated for the centre of Cusco with lots of bars and restaurants within a five minute walk. However, the roads outside are very busy at certain times of day and the constant stream of locals outside the entrance trying to sell you things on your way in and out became somewhat tiresome.

The reception staff were very efficient and friendly having to cope with a considerable turnover of guests on a daily basis. Leaving our luggage for an overnight trip to Machu Picchu was not a problem although the change of room caused by it was interesting.

It is quite an old hotel with some quirky character. Our first room for our first three nights was on the third floor and tucked away at the back with no proper window but it was clean and quiet away from the noise of traffic. The bathroom was tiny but quite adequate. On our return we found ourselves on the second floor for two nights which was much noisier but with a bigger, better bathroom. The only downside was that the shower curtain did not fit the bath so we ended up with pools of water on the floor!

Although we didn't use the restaurant for anything other than breakfast we had no complaints about the quality or variety of food on offer. It would have been helpful though if there could have been a constant supply of crockery and cutlery. The constant supply of coca tea on offer was good although it would have been helpful if someone had told us that there was also a constant supply of hot water that could be used for making your own drinks especially as kettles were not available in rooms.

Free wi-fi was good and overall, for a tourist class hotel where one spent little time but sleep it was good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frrogggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Actually, I should be dividing this review as we stayed here two nights, then spent one night in the Sacred Valley and upon our return stayed here another two nights, but in a different room.

The first room we were given for the first two nights was perfectly fine, but it was a double bed while our reservation was for a twin room. My friend and I didn't mind, but we did as for a double once we'd get back from the Sacred Valley. The room wasn't overly spacious, but was clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom okay.

The second room, however, was a twin room but was far from decent. They definitely had a humidity problem there, which originated in the bathroom and spread all over the room. The smell was uncomfortable and everything felt really damp. If the hotel hadn't been full, we would've asked for another transfer.

Breakfast was great, we enjoyed the wide selection and the staff was friendly. Location-wise, this is also a great place to stay as it's only a 5-minute walk from the Plaza de Armas and from the San Blas area with all its great bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy_Cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The title maysuggest a totally negative view of this hotel however it does express a number of concerns which would mean that we would likely choose another hotel were we to visit Cusco again.

However there are some positives:

1. Great location - less than 5 minutes from the Plaza de Armas.
2. Reception staff friendly and knew our room even when we forgot the number!
3. Free wi-fi
4. Clean and with real character - walls are plastered and it has a cave like appearance.

The latter point however does come with some considerable downsides - add to the plaster and tiled floors the hotel magnifies any noise. Trolly cases rattling down the corridors and conversations easily woke us up from sleep already impacted as one of the side effects of altitude.

The other issue is that our room (378) had an arrangment with the bathroom on one floor and the bedroom reached on the second floor via a flight of stairs. The problem is not apparent however reversing the journey is where the problem rests - unless you are a Hobbit or under 5ft 6" you must duck to avoid hitting your head on the lintel. There is no warning sign or tape (luminous for dark nights) and I hit my head many times during our 5 night stay. Our son nearly knocked himself out and was in tears after a particularly hard hit on the last day.

Turning now to the restaurant. Arriving late afternoon we decided to eat in the restaurant on our first evening at around 7:00. The initial warning signs were that there was no one else eating there and in fact I had to ask whether it was open.

Being assured that it was and that I should approach the two girls folding napkins we were seated at our table - it was close to the high level window and the traffic noise from the busy road which runs alongside the hotel was very evident.

The menu is small but has a fair range of options however we all chose pasta and I asked for a drinks menu as none was provided. 10 minutes later I asked again and it finally arrived as our food arrived at the table.

The pasta unfortunately was cold and the sauce had developed a skin on top - the waitresses had however disappeared so it was either eat or starve. They also left without waiting for a drinks order returning only to clear the plates and no comments were made of full plates being left which I would expect someone employed in the hospitality business to recognise/question.

During this time another couple arrived and a waiter appeared and stood with them most of the time speaking to them in French and was very attentive which was excellent. I therefore need to ask why two waitresses could not cope with or a family of three and what this would mean if the restaurant was full. Without doubt the worst meal/service we have encountered and, as a result we never returned; even for breakfast which was included in our package.

Aside from the noise levels, which you have to expect if you book a hotel with such character the issues of food, service and highlighting of low doorways are all very simple issues to resolve. Other comments suggest great food so the staff just need to ensure they deliver on consistency.

If they do that they have a good hotel in a great location which is all any traveller wants.

Room Tip: Avoid split level rooms if possible - low doorways can cause injury if you are over 5ft 6"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HollinBank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed here July 4th & 5th. Top floor room was fairly small, had a low sloped ceiling, small window, and made me feel a bit claustrophobic. There was a 4" step up to the bathroom, and I was afraid I would stub my toe on it, eventually. (Never did). The interior is rounded to look like a cave. One member of our group said she was reminded of the Flintstones.
On the plus side, they have a great location a long block from the Plaza de Armas, and serve the best breakfast buffet we had in Peru. The building is physically attached to the Libertador Hotel, which is beautiful, and worth a look. Many restaurants are nearby, and a very nice grocery store called Los Gatos is a block away.

Room Tip: Elevator is a clunker. Stay close to the ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Futuremauian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santos, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I and my family enjoyed a lot our vacation at Custo, from 02 to 07-July, using this excellent hotel. Good rooms, good localization, excellent food and the best, their attendants and crew, so nice people helping us a lot. This hotel is located near to the main avenue at Cusco, Av. El Sol, that give us a fast and easy way to visit main squares like Praça das Armas and beautiful churches.
Delmiro from Santos-Brasil.

Room Tip: Don´t choise rooms located to the street. There are a lot of restaurants and bars, with very noise d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera06_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
El Dorado San Agustin
El Dorado San Agustin
#48 of 167 in Cusco
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Catedral
0.2 mi away
San Agustin Plaza
San Agustin Plaza
#61 of 167 in Cusco
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha
0.3 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.6 mi away
Samay Hotel
Samay Hotel
#105 of 167 in Cusco
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Agustin International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Agustin International Hotel

Property: San Agustin International Hotel
Address: Maruri 390, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Agustin International Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your San Agustin International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Agustin International Cusco
Hotel San Agustin International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing