We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst 4 star hotel I have ever stayed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jose Antonio Cusco
Ranked #46 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The worst 4 star hotel I have ever stayed.”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel in Cusco is old, tired, and seriously lacking some basic expectations when staying 4 star. The toilet didn't flush properly, the sink in the bathroom was blocked, the hot-water in the shower ran hot and cold every time we had a shower. The staff at the front desk were dull and uninspiring and lacking any form of warmth with their greetings or desire to assist. We asked for reception staff to book a restaurant and on arrival at the restaurant were informed we didn't have a booking. The breakfast was dull, the 'hot options' were tasteless and not nice. The location is convenient as long as you are happy to walk 15 mins to get to the main plaza area. We have just spent 5 nights throughout Sacred Valley and Machu-pichu in 3 star hotels than left this hotel with not alot to desire at all. To top it off we had 15 items of laundry done before going to the Amazon for 5 days and were charged $100 US !!!! there are many much greater and nicer options in Cusco, and if your tour package offers this hotel as a 4 star option ask for other alternatives. And to just top it off it smelt old and damp.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beccerrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    277
    97
    16
    6
See reviews for
104
193
41
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed in Cusco a few nights Sep 2012 as part of our vacation package.

The hotel was clean and rooms were comfortable. The location is convenient - we could walk around and easy to get back...just follow the road the end. No problem falling asleep in the rooms. Beds were good size (may be queens or double beds) but if you are over 5'6", your feet will hang over the bed. One of the rooms was right over the kitchen so our friends who had the Rm 212 heard and smelled the food from downstairs. It was quite chilly at night so bring a jacket during this time of year. There was no air conditioning in the room - we turned it on and we got heat instead. The front desk said no AC due to the season. So if you open up the windows, just watch out for the mosquitoes and other insects flying into the room. We had to chase one down so we didn't get bitten one night. Also, our rooms faced the street so whoever sleeps by the window will hear the traffic.

Cusco is at a very high elevation, so make sure you get altitude sickness meds from your doctor. We were advised and glad we did so - even though we did get bad headaches from being at the high altitude while we were there. There was also a lot of construction going on in Cusco, so the air quality was very dusty... and also cars do not really yield for pedestrians so be careful when crossing the streets.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This hotel was part of a tour package to Cusco and Machu Picchu. It's got a great location on a main avenue (Avenida del Sol). There's a small bodega next door, and a couple of blocks from a Mega supermarket (not very mega, but will suit your needs). It's walking distance to lots of places to see and ATMs. There's a crafts market across the street, just in case you need some last minute gifts to take home. Bargain is the key word. The hotel has good breakfasts, rooms with great showers, comfortable beds, TV, safe and mini fridge.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed at the Jose Antonio in Lima and Cusco and both lacked character and warmth. Can't remember the last time I slept on foam rubber pillows. No soundproofing in the walls although street noise was OK. Breakfast is provided - very basic.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ragushill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Why did I like this hotel ? Well, first of all, you are right at the bottom of Avenida del Sol which is chock full of market places, stores, and restaurants. You just walk up this avenue and you will be in the main square in about 20-25 minutes. It's a great walk to get some exercise and see Cusco. Well, gettin' back to the Jose Antonio. Our room was nice and cozy. Unlike the one in Lima, this one has heat. Cusco can be cold-( I ended up buying an alpaca sweater and scarf there). The main lobby has a fireplace and a table offering nice hot coca tea which is good for altitude adjustment. The decor in the lobby is an exotic Andean and Spanish colonial mix. There are statues of Catholic saints including the Patron Saint of South America, St. Rose of Lima. They even offer each guest 10 minutes of free oxygen should you need it. You sit in a chair and take a deep breath !!!!The breakfast buffet was super !!! It's the only one I have ever been to that has coca leaves as one of the entrees. The view in the back of our room was of the olive-brown colored mountains and one snow covered peak. The front rooms have a view of the mountains and the Christ statue of Cusco lit up with blue flood lights at night. You will love this hotel and really feel the exoticness of Cusco and the Ibero-Incan culture here !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joedigrazia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We thought it would be noisy given its main street location, but it is well insulated and thus quiet. Breakfasts are predictable though the fruit is better than average. Liked the availability of coca tea and the front desk was busy and usually helpful. The distance to the plaza may be a drawback, but it is just across the street from a large craft market.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobbygSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I was traveling alone on this trip to Cusco and I have to say that the Jose Antonio in Cusco was perfect. They have the most comfortable beds and warm, warm alpaca blankets beneath crisply pressed duvet covers. The food in the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pathogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cusco
0.0 mi away
Eco Inn Cusco
Eco Inn Cusco
#33 of 169 in Cusco
1,374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#14 of 169 in Cusco
3,004 reviews
17.3 mi away
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel
#16 of 28 in Urubamba
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Dorado San Agustin
El Dorado San Agustin
#51 of 169 in Cusco
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Agustin Plaza
San Agustin Plaza
#63 of 169 in Cusco
240 reviews
16.4 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Yucay Valle Sagrado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jose Antonio Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jose Antonio Cusco

Property: Hotel Jose Antonio Cusco
Address: Av. Pardo 1080, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Jose Antonio Cusco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Jose Antonio Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jose Antonio Cusco
Jose Antonio Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing