We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good value for Cusco”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amaru Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amaru Hostal
Ranked #34 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
288 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“A good value for Cusco”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Amaru Hostal is a good choice for visiting Cusco. It located a few blocks from the Plaza de Armas, yet inside it has a peaceful--almost rural--feeling. Our room was attractive and reasonably spacious, though we understand there is quite a variation in the quality of the rooms. They serve a nice breakfast and have a good, free internet connection.
The only reason we would not rate the Amaru higher is that they have a tendency to shift your reservation between the Amaru I and Amaru II. Amaru II is OK but has a less desirable location, a rather cramped breakfast room, and a staff that is less professional than at Amaru I.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sptravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    254
    69
    23
    14
See reviews for
121
325
59
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The Amaru is a decent hotel by Peruvian standards with comfortable rooms, nicely decorated and reliable hot water. Free coca tea is always available, which is a nice touch, and the reception staff are cheerful and friendly. It's a lovely location halfway between the main square and the San Blas district. The garden/patio area has a lovely view of the city and is a nice spot to peruse your Rough Guide and plan your days. They were happy to store our luggage while we were on the Inca Trail. Free coca tea is always available, which is a nice touch, and the reception staff are cheerful and friendly. We asked them to do our laundry after the Inca Trail - unfortunately they forgot to send it and it was 24 hours late. Would have been a disaster if we weren't staying another day, but the hotel was sensible enough not to charge us anything for the laundry. Lovely breakfasts in a charming restaurant room with delightful staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jez78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed in the Amaru Hostal for 3 nights in May, 2011. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They always arranged safe taxis for us. Our room was very clean and had beautiful views of the city and gardens. The showers were always hot. Ths hostal is in a great location and I would highly recommend it. I loved the San Blas area!

Room Tip: Our room had a private spiral staircase. I think it was the best room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

As my title points out, I only have 1 negative on this hotel and it is the lack of heating in the rooms. I stayed there a few days with my spouse being part of a trekking group and each member of the group had the same comment: the rooms where very humid and cold (despite being located all over the hotel). And unfortunately there was no heater provided. We also stayed at 2 other hotels that did provide heating and it makes a big difference. If you don't mind this aspect, then keep reading otherwise look at Rumi Punku.

The rest of the hotel was great. First the room are very nice looking despite being very small. We got 2 different rooms and both had nice wall of natural rocks. Even one had a shower made within natural rock. Very charming! (but no wonder why the rooms are so humid...).

A flat screen TV was available. However in the sink there was only cold water available (1 tap only). Beds were confortable (but they tend to be hard from what we have seen around Cusco). Breakfast were perfect. You can have a bowl of fruits with yogurt + Eggs and toasts. Breakfast hours are convenient. Service accross the hotel was excellent.

And our favorite part about this hotel are the inside gardens. They are really nice. Specially the second one inside. We got a room at the bottom of it and we spent one morning reading and looking at the small birds coming around. Really relaxing.

Sound proofing was good (natural rock in the walls...) so we could enjoy a good night of sleep. However someone from our group had a room close to the reception (in the first garden) and could hear everything early in the morning (via her door). So if you go there, ask to be in the second garden (it is the one where there are rooms on 3 different levels around it).

Location is excellent. Close to Plaza de Armas, plenty of restaurants, markets, convenience stores...

I wouldn't mind going back but we also stayed at Rumi Punku which for a few dollars more I think is well worth it. They are located 5 mins walk from each other.

Management: I would encourage you to put individual heater in the rooms. It would be highly appreciated and you would earn top mark for your hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the second garden from the reception (Beautiful and quiet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PowderNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2011

this hostal is very well located.

Rooms are very nice and well decorated. The room was very clean and big enough.

The staff was very nice with us, and very helpful and professional, some of them speak English.

The location is great, it is near everything, a supermarket, near a lot of stores, near the centre of Cusco.

Price for the room was competitive, considering that Cusco es very expensive.

We like the breakfast, specially the delicius bread

Nice hostal, to be recommended

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schwarz1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The staff was extremely helpful, rooms clean and bright. Good breakfast (included) and the location is good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandeeColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. The staff were incredibly accomodating and helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable and it was outstanding value for money. Everything was thought of and taken care of, from laundry to day trips, to excellent breakfast. I had to cancel a trip to Puno in the early hours of the morning due to illness, and the staff were incredibly helpful in helping me book extra nights to stay and being extra attentive during my illness. An absolute pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumblecore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cusco
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.5 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#25 of 162 in Cusco
1,061 reviews
17.5 mi away
Amaru Valle Hotel
Amaru Valle Hotel
#16 of 25 in Urubamba
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
1,435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#35 of 162 in Cusco
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaru Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaru Hostal

Property: Amaru Hostal
Address: Cuesta San Blas 541, Cusco 001, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#23 Business Hotel in Cusco
#24 Family Hotel in Cusco
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaru Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two blocks away from the main plaza in the hearth of the ancient district of San Blas. Colonial-style house with gardens and the best views of the city. Friendly and professional staff, confortable rooms and yummy included breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Amaru Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaru Hostal Cusco
Amaru Hostal Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing