We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No airport pickup and bumped to sister hotel quite a way up the hill where they tried to charge more”
Review of Amaru Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amaru Hostal
Ranked #35 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Beware. The only reason that the rating is not terrible is that we went and helped at their hot chocolate and toys event for local children. Anyway we booked and emailed our arrival time for the promised airport pickup but no one met us at the airport and we had to take two expensive cabs (bit of a captive audience!). When we turned up the excuse was "sorry but we were browsing the web (and not checking email?!"). But they had rooms at their sister hotel Amaru 2 quite a bit further uphill away from the Plaza. What they could have done is pay for our taxis or more importantly try and contact us to let us know, it takes little effort to call or send an emai. Maybe they knew that if we just turned up we would have to move to their sister hotel and not be able to make another booking elsewhere?

Unbelievably the manager at Amaru 2 tried to charge us more as well.

All in all not good business and you really don't want to be in one of the highest cities in the world, with young kids and suffering from altitude sickness without a hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank SmallBizOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed at Amaru for a couple nights in December 2012 and were very impressed with this place. More of a hotel than a hostel, this place has a great location, beautiful architecture, a nice view of the city, and the most helpful staff that we encountered in Peru. No question or request was too difficult for them. We traveled as a couple and chose a marital room without a private bathroom for which we paid $33. The room was small but very pretty, with a stone wall and wood furniture, which made the entire room smell amazing. It was a little chilly in the room but there were enough blankets to sleep comfortably. Breakfasts were ample and delicious with fruit, yogurt, granola, eggs, bread, and marmalade.
Side note: Amaru is located on a very steep street, which may be important for physically impaired.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gambula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

This was our favorite place to stay while in Peru! It is a gem, nice architecture, lovely gardens and excellent location just blocks away from the Plaza de Armas. Clean, hot water (some rooms have better water pressure than others), comfortable beds and the taxi pickup at the airport made it very easy and relaxing when arriving in Cusco. The service is excellent and everyone friendly and quick to help arrange taxis, recommend restaurants, hold extra luggage when traveling to Machu Picchu...We felt very safe here and in the surrounding area. The breakfast was very good with nice views of the city. We recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hybiscus_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

quaint hostal located on a central street connecting the main square and san blas. it's easy walking distance to all the main cusco tourist attractions. the rooms are chilly as per typical peru, they are not heated, but they'll gladly provide extra blankets free of charge. the charming courtyard is full of flowers and humming birds. breakfast - juice, coffee, tea, bread, fruit with yogurt, and eggs made to order - and airport pickup are included.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerfromnyc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Breathtaking! Our room was simply stunning and our favorite place during our entire stay in Peru. Very clean, nice hot water, comfy bed, pleasant staff, good location. Highly recommend. Don't spend more at other places, this place is a gem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gottaluvme_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Great experience very accommodating location also a great service and staff..breakfast was great..coca tea was very helpful for acclimating and it's self serve.. Very clean rooms..would highly recommend this place.. Would go back here again..

Room Tip: If you want wi-fi stay close to the lobby area..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jjsa8199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed longer than usually planned at this hotel due to the altitude sickness we were suffering from. The rooms are comfortable and huge and were clean every day again. Besides, we never felt unsecure about our belongings. The best part is the staff, they are amazing. We had a bunch if questions, like where to eat best around the hotel, where to eat a but further, best tour operator for inca trail, how to get to the bus that goes to xy etc. etc.
They always provided the best information, we ate at great but not touristy places and were recommended a tour operator that totally convinced us. They also offered to call a doctor for our health issues, stored our luggage while traveling etc.
It felt like home to us, which, if you are sick on holidays matters most. Besides, the hotel is located beautifully in San Blas, right in the buz of town, but it is very quiet in the rooms and backyards....

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Oneworldtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cusco
17.5 mi away
Amaru Valle Hotel
Amaru Valle Hotel
#19 of 28 in Urubamba
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#26 of 171 in Cusco
1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 171 in Cusco
1,499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#11 of 171 in Cusco
882 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ninos Hotel Fierro
Ninos Hotel Fierro
#44 of 171 in Cusco
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaru Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaru Hostal

Address: Cuesta San Blas 541, Cusco 001, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#23 Business Hotel in Cusco
#24 Family Hotel in Cusco
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £44 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaru Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two blocks away from the main plaza in the hearth of the ancient district of San Blas. Colonial-style house with gardens and the best views of the city. Friendly and professional staff, confortable rooms and yummy included breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Amaru Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaru Hostal Cusco
Amaru Hostal Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing