We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our peaceful and lovely home while in Cusco.”
Review of Amaru Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amaru Hostal
Ranked #35 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This place is awesome! We had amazing customer service from every employee, from front desk clerks to servers, to cooks in the kitchen, to people cleaning our rooms. The architecture of the building has amazing colonial history and is beautiful. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were lovely and clean. For the affordable price, I couldn't believe the value we got. It felt like we were staying in a hotel, the complimentary breakfast in the morning is filling and delicious. Also, we did eat in the restaurant and order room service quite a few times and each time the food was healthy and delicious. We did not get sick, so if you want smoothies, juice or salad, it is safe to eat here (Also Jack's Cafe down the street is just fantastic). When we left for our hike to the Inka Trail, we were able to leave our extra luggage free of charge and nothing was missing or tampered with. The location is great, only a couple quick blocks from the main square down town. We made our reservations through booking.com and had zero issues with getting our two rooms (one couple and one single friend) that we reserved for spaced out times during our travels. The courtyard of this hostel is beautiful and the whole place is just like the pictures online. I would recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

Halfway between the Plaza de Armas and San Blas, this place is ideally located for those who like to walk around and explore the town. We opted for the more expensive doubles and it was worth it because they tend to be on higher floors with more privacy and no foot traffic noise above your head. We stayed in two different rooms over the course of our stay. They were both comfortable, but despite renting the space heater, they were cold cold cold at night. That was probably the only downside to our stay. Otherwise, all the different staff members were consistently friendly and helpful. The hotel offered plenty of services that we appreciated (laundry, luggage storage, safety deposit box, etc.). And we enjoyed our breakfasts in the morning. I would stay there again (but bring long underwear).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steal I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The rooms were very basic but reasonably clean. Bathroom was quite small. I stayed in the same level as the reception.The location of the hostal is quite good.Staff were friendly at all times.

Wifi available only in some places of the hostal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ganesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed her for the first and third night for the trip to see Machu Picchu.
It is clean and comfortable and good hot shower. Also a very convenient location to see nearby sights inside Cusco city center.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam60607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Amaru hotel is very nicely decorated and conveniently located. It's only three blocks from the main square. Rooms were clean, bed and blankets very comfortable. View from the balcony is excellent. Breakfast was fresh, delicious and plenty. Would definitely recommend to anyone who enjoys to live in a place with local feelings and does not have to have five start hotel standards.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gisellasanjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Amaru Hostel II is very clean, very well located, close to the main square.Staff is friendly and helpful.We liked their breakfast.The hotel is nicely decorated, (colonial look) and has a cozy feeling.They also organized tours to Sacred Valley and Muchu Picchu for us.I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We liked the corner unit facing the garden.The room was bigger than the room in the middle with stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bozena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel based on TA reviews and found everything as expected or better. The value for the money is great. Very charming hotel on a colonial house. Great service, very clean. The little inside patios and views are delightful.
A nice breakfast is included and they have an inhouse restaurant that might be convenient, although there are better places to eat within waking distance.
And probably the best is the location! 2 blocks from Plaza de Armas in one of the best neighborhoods in Cusco.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jmigbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.7 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#66 of 172 in Cusco
222 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 172 in Cusco
1,521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#40 of 172 in Cusco
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#27 of 172 in Cusco
1,146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.4 mi away
Los Andes De America Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaru Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaru Hostal

Address: Cuesta San Blas 541, Cusco 001, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#17 Family Hotel in Cusco
#23 Business Hotel in Cusco
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £35 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaru Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two blocks away from the main plaza in the hearth of the ancient district of San Blas. Colonial-style house with gardens and the best views of the city. Friendly and professional staff, confortable rooms and yummy included breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Amaru Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaru Hostal Cusco
Amaru Hostal Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing