We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Amaru Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amaru Hostal
Ranked #34 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was our first hotel in Peru. We stayed two nights, not consecutive as we went to Machu Picchu in between. They kept our extra luggage at no cost in a secured area. This hotel is great, very clean, and in a great spot, only a few minutes walk from Plaza de armas. You can walk to everywhere in the touristy part of Cusco, including to Sacsayhuaman (but don't do it on your first day if you're feeling the altitude). The staff was very friendly and always ready to help. During the day, they busy around cleaning the place, you can tell they care. The breakfast (inlcuded) was awesome and complete, including fruits and yogourt, egg, tea/coffee and juice. They have wifi internet and free coca tea at all time. The view is great and the rooms are quiet and clean. We always had very hot water.

Room Tip: There are two areas, inner court and "outside" court (kind of the back of the hotel but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfiset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed there for a night before heading of to the Inca trail, but we had a great stay. We stayed on the top floor overlooking Cusco, and really enjoyed that view. The room was clean and comfortable, nice wood everywhere. We were a 5 minute walk from the action. I would recommend this hostel to my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mirage2k6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and had a fantastic stay! Great and helpful staff, clean room, and perfect location (right by the center). We stayed on the second floor and had a pretty good view of the city. Free coca tea in the lobby and complimentary breakfast. I felt extremely safe and relaxed during my stay. DEFINITELY recommend!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I had a mostly pleasant stay at the Amaru Hostal. The room was quite nice with a lot of character. The location is good, within walking distance of the main square, Wanchaq station and various other points of interest. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful, and as usual in Cuzco free coca tea was available. I cannot give five stars, however, as I found several cockroaches crawling on the floor of my room on the second night. This was a shame as it was an otherwise nice hostel and I thought it was good value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We only stayed here for one night. This hotel is located right in the center, close to all monoments. We had a clean room with a clean bathroom. The room was rather large and we had no street noice at all, so sleep quality was really great. Breakfast starts at 5h30, but we had to leave at 5h30 so only enjoyed a juice.

Room Tip: a room in the backbuilding is probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geographtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I was 2 night in Amaru hostal, and this place was maybe my best choise in Cusco.
Would recommend this hostal to anyone.We upgraded to a suite for excellent value, Service was as good if not better than a lot more expensive hotels.
Will definitely stay here again when i came back to Cusco

Cheers

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t_monroe4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Perfect location 2 blocks from the main square. Breakfast is better then most places. Rooms clean and comfortable. One small problem is their wifi isn't very strong. Rooms don't have it and the reception area is iffy. Having said that theres plenty of bars and restaurants nearby that will have it. I would definately stay again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#25 of 172 in Cusco
1,148 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 172 in Cusco
1,526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Andes De America Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#65 of 172 in Cusco
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#41 of 172 in Cusco
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaru Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaru Hostal

Address: Cuesta San Blas 541, Cusco 001, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#17 Family Hotel in Cusco
#23 Business Hotel in Cusco
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £36 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaru Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two blocks away from the main plaza in the hearth of the ancient district of San Blas. Colonial-style house with gardens and the best views of the city. Friendly and professional staff, confortable rooms and yummy included breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Amaru Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaru Hostal Cusco
Amaru Hostal Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing