We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amaru Hostal
Nearby Hotels
US$385
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Torre Dorada(Cusco)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$421
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$709
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$490
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$456
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$381
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$351
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
414
278
75
24
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
278
75
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan blaseggshot waterbreadgreat locationyogurtinca trailmachu picchucoca teaplaza de armasthe main squaresacred valleyrooms are cleanexcellent breakfaststored our luggageper nightstayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Excellent spot for most activities in and around Cusco. Hotel is located on a narrow street, with 1 block of uphill walking on polished cobblestones, but with a bit of practice, one learns to stay out of the way of cars, and not slip of the cobblestones. Practice makes perfect!
Staff is helpful, breakfasts are the same everyday but quite acceptable, rooms are quiet and adequate--not luxurious if that's what you want. Location is excellent--nearby to Plaza de Armas, restaurants, shops, galleries, and about a 25 min walk uphill to Inca ruins at the edge of town.
Bus stations are a short taxi ride away, and the airport is only 10 min taxi ride away. Multiple options for travelling to Machu Picchu from here, and hotel is willing to keep extra luggage if you're overnighting in Aguas Calientes.
Activities and taxis are significantly cheaper if organized on your own at agents outside of the hotel though, as is bottled water. Our room was a bit dark in July, and other rooms are sunnier, so one might request a room with adequate natural light.
Hot water worked with out fail, internet connectivity was a bit sketchy, and the in-room heater went on at 6pm nightly.
Overall, just right for us, as convenient location, good service, in house breakfast, and adequate room are our top priorities.

Room Tip: See above for requesting a sunnier room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank johnnytropics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful. Amazing location, pretty and clean rooms, modern bathrooms with hot water 24/7 and picturesque courtyards with humming birds and free coca tea to help with the altitude sickness.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah12223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

this is a delightful hotel just up the hill from the main square. It is an old Spanish building with its rooms all looking into central courtyards. there is Coca tea on tap all day long for those suffering from altitude. It is an easy walk to all the sights and museums of Cusco and the Ruins of Sacsayhuaman are a tiring up hill walk - but well worth the effort. the hotel staff are friendly and well informed. most speak English very well.
the dining room is small - it is worth going early for breakfast or you may have to queue.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

this place is purportedly a wonderful place to stay and even recommended by a friend who lived in cusco -- for it's location mostly. the reviews look terrific.

i would love to be able to write a glowing review for what looks like such a charming place. instead, we were notified 2 days prior to our vacation that our reservations were not going to be honored since they ran out of space. we booked -20 days- in advance.

not to mention, finding something comparable?
- talking to customer service and rebooking - 2 hours
- difference in cost of a new, more expensive, last minute booking - $150
- levels of associated stress - priceless

thank you amaru hostal for making my first trip to peru a memorable one!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank marcus_oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Amaru Hostal while traveling in and out of Cusco during our June trip (high season) to Cusco, the nearby Sacred alley, Huchuy Qosqo and Machu Picchu. The hotel is in the colorful San Blas neighborhood, which is 4 blocks above the main Plaza del Armas. The streets leading to the hotel are narrow and cobbled and very charming with lots of eating/drinking options (e.g. Cicciolina for Italian food, or Museo de Pisco, for… pisco, and food), as well as shopping venues. The hotel itself is very colonial, pretty simple, but clean and comfortable. They offer Matte the coca all day for free (not a very tasty version of this drink, but it helps when you are out of air at the first few days), laundry services, and they will keep your luggage when you go out on excursions. We made a reservation at first for three nights, then left to travel in the Sacred valley coming back for one night (since the Amaru Hostal I was fully booked they deferred us to the Amaru II, which is two blocks away and similarly charming, and moved our luggage there to wait for us), then we went on a track for 3 days and came back for one last night at the Amaru I, again meeting our luggage waiting for us. Everybody in the Amaru spoke good English, were very helpful with information, with suggestion for travel agencies , places to eat, cab prices etc. and made the place a fantastic base in Cusco. If I visit Cusco again, we will definitely return to the Amaru Hostal.
A comment about reservations: you can contact the hostal directly and save yourself $10 a night by not using booking.com
One down side was the wifi, which you could get good reception of only around the lobby, relatively rarely in the room itself. Not that it mattered that much.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berkeley_MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews