We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay. Staff were so warm and welcoming it made for such a nice stay.”
Review of Hostal Cusi Wasi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Cusi Wasi
Ranked #33 of 398 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Location is good. Just a ten minute walk from plaza des Armas.

Staff were great. Really attentive, warm and welcoming, helping wherever possible.

Room was clean and comfy with heater and tv with plenty of English channels.

The building itself is full of character with its internal courtyard.

I'd fully recommend a stay here.

Thankyou

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chambers1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

This hostel is not in the most salubrious part of the city, but it is close to the city centre and is beautifully decorated inside and very welcoming.

Bear in mind that this is a second-world hostel and you will not be disappointed. The internet connection here was the best we experienced in a trip lasting 2-weeks.

Clean and comfortable. A little noisy in the morning, but then backpackers like to be up and out early, so really nothing unexpected.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Chinatsu N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My husband and I wanted to go to Peru for a long time, and we finally did. Macchu Pichu was on the Bucket List. We arrived in Cusco very late because of airline delays, but Francisco was still
waiting for us at the airport. A wild Taxi ride later landed us at the Hostel Cusi Wasi with all their
willcomming staff, Blanca, Lilia, Antonia and Nancy. We had them arrange our Macchu Pichu trip snd also a trip to Lake Titicaca, both very interesting and informative and Macchu Pichu is absolutely awesome. We spent seven nights in the Hostel and it felt like home, the setting is just
very unique with the beautiful courtyard and all the plants. the room were comftable and always very clean. We would recommand Hostel Cusi Wasi anytime to anybody that wants an adventure
in Peru

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charhl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hostal Cusi Wasi for several days in January 2013. The staff of the hostal were extremely helpful from the very first inquiry that we made. They arranged all of our tours in the Cusco area and our trip to Macchu Pichu. Our room was small but very clean and more than adequate for our stay. Again, while we were in Cusco, the staff was always helpful, warm, and friendly. I highly recommend using them as your base for any trip to Cusco and Macchu Pichu.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 for 5 nights. Were met by Francisco at the airport, and had a great welcome from Lilia at the hotel. Rooms are small, but very comfortable, and bathroom is fine. We had a problem with the hot water for a couple of days, but it was sorted out by Francisco. Lovely courtyard in centre of hotel with tea, coco tea and coffee on tap, and breakfast is served here each morning. They organised our tours to the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu very well. There are great little restaurants and a neat very small pizza place just around the corner. 10 mins walk into central Cuzco. Loved it, and we were sad to leave. Thanks everybody there for a great stay. Kerry R

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qmtu, Propietario at Hostal Cusi Wasi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Dear Kerry, thanks a lot for your review. We are very happy that you liked it in Cusi Wasi. It was great to have you as a guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Myself and my husband stayed at Cusi Wasi in January 2013, as our base to explore Cusco and where we returned to after completing the Inca Trail.
We arrived to Cusco by bus at 4.30am, much earlier than we´d anticipated. We called the hostel to ask if they could send us a taxi (we werent sure if the ones waiting outside the station were legit). They advised us of which taxis to take, and met us at the door of the hostal, and paid the 10soles expense of the ride for us. Even though their official check in time wasnt until 9am, Francisco let us go straight into our room at 5am to rest.
The double room wasnt huge, but its sufficient. The bed was comfortable, the shower had constant hot water, there were fresh towels and everything was in working order!
The patio and dining areas are very clean and really cosy, nice lighting, good sofas, and with really nice Peruvian decor. It has a really nice energy, a lot of plants, constant hto water to make yourself tea and incense sticks burning at night.
Good coffee.
All of the staff are always smiling who and there to help, we got to know Francisco the best, the poor guy who woke up early for us when we arrived, aswell as when we left for our trip to Machu Picchu. He shared storied with us about his life, and growing up in Peru. Really interesting man.
The hostel let us keep our belongings there over the 3 nights that we spent on the Inca Trail, and were very knowledgable on travel companies to get out of Cusco the day that we left.
We were sad to leave this hostel, it really was the perfect place to spend the night and wake up after spending time in Cusco and the mountains.
Thank You Cusi Wasi for your hospitality. We reccommend you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qmtu, Propietario at Hostal Cusi Wasi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear Natalia, thank you very much for your positive review: we are very glad you had such a good time in our hostel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Ninos Hotel Fierro
Ninos Hotel Fierro
#41 of 171 in Cusco
208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casona les Pleiades
0.2 mi away
Marlon's House Cusco-Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Quipu Cusco
Hostal Quipu Cusco
#20 of 398 in Cusco
286 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Posada del Viajero
La Posada del Viajero
#5 of 398 in Cusco
490 reviews
0.7 mi away
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Cusi Wasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Cusi Wasi

Address: Avenida Arcopata 466A, Cusco 1, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 398 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: £26 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Cusi Wasi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cusi Wasi! Our rooms have heating, a modern private bathroom, cable-TV, free Wi-Fi and warm water 24 hours a day. Our kitchen is at your disposal, as well as an Internet PC. We offer laundry services and free coffee and (coca leaf) tea. Prices include breakfast, all taxes and transport from the airport if you book with us directly. We offer first-quality excursions to Machu Picchu and also the Inka Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostal Cusi Wasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing