We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“very interesting, off the beaten path” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salinas de Maras

Salinas de Maras
Book In Advance
More Info
US$76.00*
and up
Moray, Maras and Urubamba Guided Tour from Cusco
Ranked #6 of 165 things to do in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Flint Hills, Kansas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“very interesting, off the beaten path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We included this site along with Maray on a private tour. It is a nice drive through the countryside to the salt mines. They are still working them the same way as they did 1000 years ago.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank stonestacker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,443
    1,743
    367
    40
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

It was incredible to see and the history of the place was extremely interesting. This was one of our favorite stops.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank skml_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Helena Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Salt ponds in the mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Hard to believe that salt is produced here. Stick your hand in the water, lick your fingers, and taste the salt.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ghcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Change of scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Looking back on my travel, the salt mines were a unique place to visit because they were a change in pace from the many ruin sites located in Peru. It was very interesting to learn about the salt and the scenery is quite impressive.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank bass0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An addition to the history of Salt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

The history of salt is pretty interesting. It used to be worth its weight in gold. It was cool to see this operation that has been going on since pre-Incan times. We hiked around the site and brought some home. I recommend a guide and pairing this with Moray (I reviewed that site also, unfortunately, I mispelled Moras as Morass in that review)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Blatzicher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salinas de Maras also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Salinas de Maras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing