We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location.”
Review of Hotel Cahuide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cahuide
Ranked #149 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This hotel is mid range at a reasonable price and is only 5 mins walk from the main square. The rooms were warm and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cerij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2011

Not the best hotel in Peru but in the "can do category" for a budget traveller. Location is ok, but still 5 minutes walk from the main square. There must be better places to stay than this hotel, but after a couple of days on the Inca Trail this will more than do.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJ-EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

I stayed here twice with a large group. The breakfasts are great and the location is good.

The rooms downstairs weren´t great, musty, dark and unclean. The second time I stayed was on the second floor and the room was much nicer!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed at Hotel Cahuide for three nights; 2 before leaving for the Inca Trail and one night upon our return. I had read about the cold rooms on a previous posting on here and although they were chilly, a heater was in the room for us, which worked fine. The beds were as one can expect...not the Hilton but adequate for our needs with many blankets. The washroom was very clean and compared to what is found in Cuzco, as close to North American standards as can be found....just remember to dispose of the toilet paper in a separate receptacle as plumping cannot in Peru cannot handle it. The hotel itself was quiet and clean and we were offered coca tea to help alleviate altitude sickness. The breakfast was disappointing (toast ,fruit and yogourt mostly) as was the coffee. We could use the internet at one of three computers near the lobby and it was free for the first 10 minutes...enough time to return an email, make a FB update and check for flight status. We did, however, find it impossible to exchange money at the hotel itself (many places on the street do though) and we could not make a collect call from our room unless we had purchased a calling card from one of the numerous street vendors/shops beforehand.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monsieur_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

If I had read the reviews before staying here, I would have given it a wide berth. It's a straggling hotel, and the double rooms varied from miniscule to c/w lounge area - we stayed there for a few nights in a big room and then went to Agues Calientes for a night before returning to the hotel, but they kept all our stuff in a lock-up, and then gave us a different room which could only be described as a shoe-box (but cleanliness etc not an issue). We arrived back one night to a power failure (but they immediately offered us another room in a different part of the hotel) - the staff were a delight, the internet was ok (it said you had to pay for it, but nobody seemed to) - wander down the road to the Real McCoy for breakfast, as the breakfast at the hotel may be ok, if they brought everything out at once and kept it stocked up - we gave up in the end. Someone (in another review) mentioned it was freezing - it did get cold, but there was adequate bedding and a heater in the room. Not the Hilton, but then it doesn't claim to be - I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepidtraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

I would not recommend this hotel. Although it is clean and the staff are nice, the rooms we stayed in were dark, damp and freezing cold. It was warmer to stand outside than in the hotel foyer or the rooms. The hotel gave our tour group the coldest darkest rooms even though there were a lot of nicer looking rooms upstairs. When I found myself wearing four layers of clothing, plus hat, scarf and gloves, in bed, in the afternoon, we requested a heater but were told we had to pay extra to have a heater in the room. The hotel does have some redeeming features, it is clean and the staff seemed nice.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ana ysabel b, Gerente at Hotel Cahuide, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

We are very sorry to know you had an unpleasant staying with us, so we apologize and we thank you for your review, it is an opportunity to improve our service.

The rooms and the service your group got were probably what your travel agent arranged with us. We try to offer the best service we can, but because of the rate and the service contracted, the hotel couldn't give you another room or a heater without an extra charge.

We know Cusco is a cold city and traditional houses like our facilities do not have central heating. So, in order to avoid this kind of problems, now we have a more evenly rates, we even stopped working with some travel agents, and we now offer a Heater in all our Rooms. Also we have been improving other features of our rooms like lighting, as well as our services in general.

Kind regards,
Hotel Cahuide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

This is an ok place to stay if you are looking for a tourist class hotel for a night or 2 in Cuzco. It is only a short walk to the main plaza and the rooms are small but comfortable. There is a nice outdoor seating area on the top floor. The staff were very unattentive and indifferent when I arrived. Breakfast was ok. There were 3 computers with internet availalbe and the connection was fast.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkeygirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casona Real Hotel
La Casona Real Hotel
#96 of 171 in Cusco
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlos Quinto Inn
Carlos Quinto Inn
#155 of 171 in Cusco
72 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inkaspacha Hostal
Inkaspacha Hostal
#141 of 171 in Cusco
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Andenes de Saphy
Andenes de Saphy
#118 of 171 in Cusco
50 reviews
0.8 mi away
Andean South Inn
Andean South Inn
#98 of 171 in Cusco
124 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
#50 of 171 in Cusco
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cahuide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cahuide

Address: Saphi 845, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: £39 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Cahuide 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Historical Center of Cusco, three blocks from Main Square. Offers simplicity, history, beauty and mysticism, in 45 varied rooms, cafeteria, restaurant, reception lobby with chimney, Internet, Garden and spaces built in different levels within 2300m approx, where you'll find original pre-Inca walls within a traditional architecture that preserves mystical touch of Cusco. A family run business, since 1973, specialized in offering personalized attention and have wide experience in managing groups with nourishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Cahuide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahuide Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing