We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay before or after the Inca Trail!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cahuide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cahuide
Ranked #140 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
West of Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good place to stay before or after the Inca Trail!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is was a nice hotel- it was booked for our group through Gap adventures and so we were a little worried but we had no need ton worry! The rooms are nice- we had a room with 2 single beds both times we stayed here. Lots of sheets on the beds which are needed as the hotel is VERY well air conditioned to the point that it can be quite cold! Breakfast is included which is fresh fruits, cereals and bread with tea or coffee. There are complimentary cocoa leaves for drinking cocoa tea and adjusting to the altitude. Wireless is not great here, only works really in the computer area near reception. Hotel has no issue with people coming back late at night. It is about a 7-8 minute walk from the main square in Cusco which is good as the night life is quite busy here!! Hotel also picked us up from the airport!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murr-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    19
    26
    6
    1
See reviews for
5
14
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

I stayed here as part of a tour package holiday, and added an additional night prior to the tour start date.

I didn't really know what to expect (in Peru overall), as this was my first destination and therefore first hotel. But now that I've finished travelling, I can genuinely comment on this hotel.

The location of this hotel is excellent. Only a few blocks from the main plaza, it is within easy walking distance to the main sights. There is a slight gradient (down to the square, up to the hotel), which at sea level you wouldn't notice; however at 3400m (Cusco) the gradient is enough to slow you down if you haven't acclimitised to the altitude before you arrive here.

There are a few steps from street level to the main doors, then a a few more steps to reception. If you are not staying on the ground floor, there are 12 more steps beyond reception to get to all the other rooms. Altitidue was a problem for me in this respect, but everyone takes it easy, so no stress.

The rooms are quite spacious, with an inbuilt storage shelf/bookshelf. We stayed here twice. The first time I had a twin share room, but the hotel staff let me stay in it on my own, and then the 2nd time I was in a triple (with 2 others). There is hot water for showers, although depending on what time of day you shower. My toilet was broken in my first room, but this was promptly fixed. The rooms are clean.

The rooms at the back of the hotel are freezing cold, and the heater doesn't produce enough heat to warm up the room; just take the chill off. It's deceptive, as the winter days were around 25 degrees outside, yet the room was stone cold (no exageration here).

Breakfast was ample, cooked eggs on offer, plenty of breads and cereals. More variety than other hotels in Peru.

I used the hotel laundry service (which is outsourced). This was impeccable. Same day return. There are a couple of laundry shops very close to the hotel if you wish to deliver and collect your own at a slighter cheaper price.

3 computers are available for guest use. These are obscured from receptions sight, and is managed on an honesty payment system.

There is a lovely sunny garden/courtyard guests can use, and affords peace and quiet.

Beds are comfortable, pillows good, and plenty of blankets on the beds!! A good nights sleep had by me in my total stay here.

Reception staff understand and speak good enough English, and are accommodating and helpful to your requests.

Several tour companies use this hotel, so if you are not with a group, and prefer hotels that don't accommodate groups then this hotel is not for you. Evening meetings take place, including those to discuss the Inca Trail treks. However, I personally didn't find the group atmosphere an issue.

I would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank High-Flier-Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cava De' Tirreni, Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

If you're going to Cusco, I strongly recommend to stay here as it's an excellent place, not expensive for the kind of level it has about prices, people working there, services they offer to you, location and the hotel is very clean. Located only 2 blocks away from Plaza de Armas.
The breakfast is huge !!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaetano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We ended up staying here for five nights. At first l thought it was just another basic budget hotel but the place become like a second home after a few days especially after returning from the inca trail. Well positioned just five miniutes from the centre of Cusco, hot showers, friendly staff and good rooms. Maybe this isn't the best hotel in town, probably far from it but at tthe special rate of US $40 a night which they gave us I thought it was well worth the money if you are on a budget. To get this rate you would need to book with the hotel direct or walk off the street in non peak times.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Good location, 5 min walk to the main plaza. Spacious room. A bit cold but the electric heater helped. Some internet stations near the lobby. Free wi-fi, though at some rooms the signal not so good so you have to get to the sitting lounge area. Helpful reception. Nice welcome lobby with free coca tea. Great breakfast. Not a Sheraton, but good enough.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesotong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

This hotel is mid range at a reasonable price and is only 5 mins walk from the main square. The rooms were warm and clean.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

Not the best hotel in Peru but in the "can do category" for a budget traveller. Location is ok, but still 5 minutes walk from the main square. There must be better places to stay than this hotel, but after a couple of days on the Inca Trail this will more than do.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJ-EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casona Real Hotel
La Casona Real Hotel
#91 of 163 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Qosqo
Hotel Royal Qosqo
#94 of 163 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casablanca Cusco
Hotel Casablanca Cusco
#145 of 163 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#66 of 163 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.6 mi away
BozArt Hotel Boutique
BozArt Hotel Boutique
#95 of 163 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#33 of 163 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cahuide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cahuide

Property: Hotel Cahuide
Address: Saphi 845, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Cahuide 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Historical Center of Cusco, three blocks from Main Square. Offers simplicity, history, beauty and mysticism, in 45 varied rooms, cafeteria, restaurant, reception lobby with chimney, Internet, Garden and spaces built in different levels within 2300m approx, where you'll find original pre-Inca walls within a traditional architecture that preserves mystical touch of Cusco. A family run business, since 1973, specialized in offering personalized attention and have wide experience in managing groups with nourishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Cahuide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahuide Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing