We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Freezing Cold” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cahuide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cahuide
Ranked #138 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Auckland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Freezing Cold”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

I would not recommend this hotel. Although it is clean and the staff are nice, the rooms we stayed in were dark, damp and freezing cold. It was warmer to stand outside than in the hotel foyer or the rooms. The hotel gave our tour group the coldest darkest rooms even though there were a lot of nicer looking rooms upstairs. When I found myself wearing four layers of clothing, plus hat, scarf and gloves, in bed, in the afternoon, we requested a heater but were told we had to pay extra to have a heater in the room. The hotel does have some redeeming features, it is clean and the staff seemed nice.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ana ysabel b, Gerente at Hotel Cahuide, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
We are very sorry to know you had an unpleasant staying with us, so we apologize and we thank you for your review, it is an opportunity to improve our service.

The rooms and the service your group got were probably what your travel agent arranged with us. We try to offer the best service we can, but because of the rate and the service contracted, the hotel couldn't give you another room or a heater without an extra charge.

We know Cusco is a cold city and traditional houses like our facilities do not have central heating. So, in order to avoid this kind of problems, now we have a more evenly rates, we even stopped working with some travel agents, and we now offer a Heater in all our Rooms. Also we have been improving other features of our rooms like lighting, as well as our services in general.

Kind regards,
Hotel Cahuide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    19
    26
    6
    1
See reviews for
5
14
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

This is an ok place to stay if you are looking for a tourist class hotel for a night or 2 in Cuzco. It is only a short walk to the main plaza and the rooms are small but comfortable. There is a nice outdoor seating area on the top floor. The staff were very unattentive and indifferent when I arrived. Breakfast was ok. There were 3 computers with internet availalbe and the connection was fast.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeygirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2008

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour.
Its quite a large hotel and it was fairly busy.

They had a large storage area for people to store their luggage (whilst doing the Inca trial etc) which was handy.

The rooms were clean, neat and fine by Peruvian standards.

The location is a little bit on the edge of town but its only a 5 minute walk down a lovely paved road to the main plaza and taxi's are easy to get because its on the road to the nearby Inca ruins.

They had a few computers providing internet access. The staff were very friendly, helping us to order takeaway food to the hotel and also organising for our laundry to be cleaned. They have self service tea which is also convenient.

Breakfast wasgood - they even had pancakes and chocolate sauce (though don't get too excited, they weren't very hot).

We didn't really have any complaints.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank DebDeb07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2007

I stayed in this hotel along with around thirty others who were in Peru to trek The Inca Trail for a charity challenge.
I stayed in a triple room, the beds were comfy and the bathroom was clean and in good condition.
The meals were not posh by any means but plentiful, filling and well cooked.
The staff were all lovely and helpful.
Internet access was available cheaply within the hotel and the common area had comfy big leather sofas and a gorgeous log fire to keep you warm in the Andean nights.
A beautiful touch was that they had free hot water and coca tea on tap in the common area/foyer to keep the altitude sickness away.
Not a palace but cheap and well-located for the sights of Cusco.

  • Liked — The coca tea
  • Disliked — It was a bit cold in the rooms but had little heaters.
  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank poppypinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
MamaSara Hotel
MamaSara Hotel
#79 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cusco Plaza Nazarenas
Cusco Plaza Nazarenas
#121 of 162 in Cusco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Qosqo
Hotel Royal Qosqo
#92 of 162 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casablanca Cusco
Hotel Casablanca Cusco
#143 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.9 mi away
Antawasi Hotel
Antawasi Hotel
#69 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ninos Hotel
Ninos Hotel
#57 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cahuide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cahuide

Property: Hotel Cahuide
Address: Saphi 845, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Cahuide 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Historical Center of Cusco, three blocks from Main Square. Offers simplicity, history, beauty and mysticism, in 45 varied rooms, cafeteria, restaurant, reception lobby with chimney, Internet, Garden and spaces built in different levels within 2300m approx, where you'll find original pre-Inca walls within a traditional architecture that preserves mystical touch of Cusco. A family run business, since 1973, specialized in offering personalized attention and have wide experience in managing groups with nourishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cahuide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahuide Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing