We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in Cusco Peru”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa San Blas Boutique
Ranked #13 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Jungles in Peru.and Santorini in Greece.
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best place in Cusco Peru”
Reviewed 17 October 2007

My Husband,Sister and Brother went to Casa San Blas in august this year and could not believe how wonderful the place was, not only the ambience but the staff were fantastic. They went out of their way to help in every way possible which spoilt us for other places we went to,e.g. Second Home Peru in Lima, which did not give us a feeling of being welcome by the owner, although the staff were very nice.
We also went to Pasada Amazonaca in Puerto Maldonado, Machu Pichu, Mexico City, Oaxaca in Mexico, San Vicente and Zaragosa in Spain,Santorini in Greece, Dublin in Ireland and Singapore. So if there is any of these places that anyone would like to hear about I would be happy to fill you in with our experiences.
Kevca.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    213
    55
    11
    9
See reviews for
181
360
53
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2007

This is a very cute hotel in the San Blas area. We booked a standard room for a good price directly with the property and were pleasantly surprised when they upgraded us on the nignt that we returned from our trek to Macchu Picchu. They also held our luggage for free during our 4 day trek. Complementary internet, coffee and coca tea any time in the lobby. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was delicious including various juices, breads, cheese, etc plus eggs cooked to order. The rooms facing the street may be more noisy than the back rooms if there is an event going on in the San Blas plaza around the corner. The restaurant is very good option for dinner but a little more expensive than other local restaurants. The front desk was extremely helpful and they called our tour group for us with questions.
Overall, service was good and the rooms were clean and comfortable especially for the price, we paid $85/night.
The location is very good, but the 2 blocks to the Plaza de Armes is more like 4 blocks. Also, the Plaza is down hill from the hotel so you will have approx 2 block uphill walk back to the hotel. We enjoyed the area and the walk, the street leading to the Plaza has one of the old Inca buildings on it that is on many post cards.
This is a good hotel in a beautiful city.

  • Liked — service and location
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WMC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2007

This was a great place to stay, plenty of hot water contrary to other reviewer opinions. The staff was acceptionable and spoke very good English. We had a lovely view of the City from our suite room. Highly recommend this hotel, also it's new sister property in Sacred Valley, the Urubamba Boutique hotel. The latter offered a welcomed respite directly on the Urubamba River. I don't believe this is yet on Trip Advisor but it should be. We took a taxi from Casa San Blas to Urubamba Boutique Hotel, stopping at several spots along the way and I felt as is we had a private chauffeur for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank onthemovegolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2007

We had a pleasant stay in Casa San Blas. The accommodations were decent and the staff was quite friendly. Elizabeth, at the front desk, provided us with maps and great restaurant recommendations. The walk to town was a couple of blocks, but it was more difficult getting back to the hotel because it was located towards the top of a hill.

There are two computers where hotel guests can use the internet & a great book section where you can trade one book for another.

Breakfast buffet is included and coca tea is always available.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lissy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2007

Overall, we thought Casa San Blas and their staff were excellent. The only reason we give this hotel a 3 star rating is one cold shower experience on the last morning of our stay. We know we were not the only guests to have this issue. Even though we just had a standard double room, guests in one of their suites (with a hot tub) experienced issues with lack of hot water as well. The walls are thin and our rooms (both times) were located near the stairwell and you could hear the staff and guests banging around as early as 4 am.

Also, if you are not athletic, the fact that you have to climb up a steep hill each time from the Plaza de Armas might be an issue considering the altitude here. We often were out of breath each time we returned to the hotel and we consider ourselves pretty fit folks.

The rooms were nicely appointed with warm blankets, a space heater, and they even provide hot water bladders to put into your bed to heat up the sheets before going to sleep. They would stop by every evening to give you a chocolate and were very sympathetic to bouts of altitude sickness (they have coffee and coca tea available all day long).

The hotel's restaurant, Tiki Lounge, was convenient and we ate there on two separate occasions. The staff let us check in early and check out late as well as keep our luggage while we took a two day excursion to Machu Picchu.

A couple of things I found useful for the altitude: aspirin, saline nasal spray (to help with bloody noses), Kleenex, Sudafed, and Breath Rite Strips. We were so glad for the strips. It opens up your nasal passage way while you sleep to help take in more oxygen. We would usually go to bed with a headache and wake up without one with the Breath Rite Strips. It's always nice to feel healthier without having to take medicine.

Food: We did eat at some great restaurants. Pacha Pappa was right around the corner and some of the best authentic Peruvian food we had during our stay in Peru. The lamb in beer, cilantro, and onion soup was amazing (the lamb meat was so tender). Green's Restaurant was interesting, but do not eat anything raw unless you know your stomach can handle the local flora and fauna (mine didn't). On the other hand, the cooked meat dishes were excellent and had no stomach issues after the fact.

Day tours: We aren't usually big on doing the big bus thing. But SAS Travel (in Plaza de Armas) was a good find. For $10/person for a half day city tour and $15/person for the Sacred Valley day tour (included lunch) was a good deal. The buses only held 12 people max. The guide had 20 yrs experience and spoke English well (Martin). He pointed out all the clean bathrooms on the tour and helped guide us to markets that had better prices than Pisaq. This tour company also visits the archeological sites of Pisaq that many of the other tour companies skip (take 2.5 L of water for two people. It's high altitude will make you work out a bit and the locals sell you water at a premium near the site.) You'll want to buy the Cusco Bolletos Turistico for 70 soles/person that is good for sites over 10 days. The half priced one (40 soles) is only good for one day. You'll use these tickets extensively on these tours or while you are in Cusco. You can buy them while your on the tour or ahead of time in the Official Turist office near the Plaza de Armas (soles, cash only.)

  • Liked — The staff and location
  • Disliked — Cold showers and noise level in room
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TrvlFiends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

We stayed at the Casa San Blas both before and after we went to Machu Picchu. The service was great. We left some laundry before going to Machu Picchu and they had it in our room when we returned. We had the Senior Suite (rack rate $160). It was very large and had a separate kitchen and dining table, which we didn't use. My brother had a regular room and he said it was small. The breakfast buffet was okay. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you get the Senior Suite.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KWhis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2007

My boyfriend and I flew in from Lima at about 1:30pm and went to straight to this hotel. Since it is highly suggested to relax your first day in Cuzco in order to adjust to the altitude, we needed a comfortable place that was close to food. They offer complimentary coca tea, breakfast and are located a stone’s throw away from a variety of great restaurants and spectacular views of the city. Its location is also convenient to the Plaza which is only a few blocks away and we felt perfectly safe doing the walk at night. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. We only stayed 2 days and within that time they helped us order a taxi, suggested restaurants and booked us on a tour around the city. This hotel was perfect for our first nights in Cuzco and I recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Location, Comfort, Friendly/Helpful Staff
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank heyweave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 169 in Cusco
1,482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 169 in Cusco
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.6 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Blas Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Blas Boutique

Property: Casa San Blas Boutique
Address: Tocuyeros 566 | Cuesta de San Blas, Cusco 05184, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Cusco
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa San Blas Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Blas is the first Boutique Hotel in Peru since 2003. Our cozy and intimate colonial house located in San Blas mingles the comfort and luxury with the customized service so you feel as home. Our philosophy in Casa San Blas, moreover, is that our guests have a real contact and experience with our traditions and knowledge. Thus, our guests admire elements of Peruvian culture such as traditionally hand-made weavings which are showcased throughout all our rooms and halls. We have also built a terrace balcony on the third floor to allow great views of the city of Cusco both day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Casa San Blas Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Blas Cusco
Casa San Blas Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing