We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nicely located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa San Blas Boutique
Ranked #15 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“nicely located”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

nice , small hotel , some rooms with windows towards the inner court . beautiful terrace .
a little difficult with the ride to the airport - arriving was OK .leaving we paid once again , eventhough it was prearranged , anyway , not that expensive .
small , modest breakfast area , sufficient choice of food .
very well located .

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usermuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    209
    54
    11
    8
See reviews for
164
339
49
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
295 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is a difficult review to write as the hotel itself was fine but we had trouble with getting picked up at Poroy train station. First, the hotel:

The hotel is in a quiet alcove off a main street in the San Blas section of Cusco. We chose it because we saw it reviewed on The Travel Channel with Samantha Brown and thought it looked like a nice lower-cost option than where we stayed before going to Machu Picchu (Monasterio). San Blas is known for lots of artsy shops which are fun to explore, but is also a pleasant stroll to the main square. Just be aware it is very hilly in this area, which you will notice because of the altitude. There are two public-use computers with internet access in the main lobby. Our room was very clean and comfortable but with no windows to the outside (as another reviewer mentioned). We did have a window that opened into the main stairwell, which was kind of strange. No air conditioning or fans. The hotel asks for "quiet" from 10 pm to 7 am, and indeed it was. Bathroom was spacious. Had to pay for bottled water. The continental breakfast was limited but tasty and checkout was smooth. We took advantage of their free service to the airport and got there without a problem.

Transportation:
We were coming into Poroy Station after visiting Machu Picchu and so made arrangements with Casa San Blas to have a driver pick us up. I exchanged several e-mails with an employee who was very pleasant and always responded promptly, often within an hour or two. I sent the required info regarding train arrival time. When we pulled in, we saw many people holding signs but no one had one with our name. Within about 10 minutes the entire station had emptied out as everyone found their rides. Thankfully, a woman working for the train station (I think) came over and was able to help us by calling Casa San Blas. Apparently the driver had car trouble and another person was on the way. This other person did arrive shortly, looking frazzled. We followed him down a dark street to his car. As he tried to pull out, the car got stuck on the curb so that the front wheels could not touch the ground. We were very uncomfortable with all of this and got out quickly, returning to the helpful woman. She called Casa San Blas again and chose a taxi driver for us that she said we could trust. He did get us into Cusco, but then did not know where the hotel was. We eventually got there, shaken and agitated at being left alone in the dark at the train station.

I wrote to the hotel, which has always been quick to respond, before writing this review, but they have not yet answered.

I recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay in Cusco but you may want to make your own transportation arrangements.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We loved this hotel from the minute we walked in. The friendliness of the staff, the beautiful wall-hangings, the coca tea -- we felt very welcomed. The rooms were wonderfully clean and neat, and the breakfast was outstanding; we especially loved the selection of fresh fruits and cheeses, and the coffee. We stayed a total of three nights with one night away in Ollantaytambo, when we were happy to leave our luggage at Casa San Blas. We were especially grateful for the helpfulness of the staff when one of our sons got quite ill and required a night-time visit from the hotel's local on-call doctor.

The hotel's location is great for strolling down to the Plaza or checking out neighborhood restaurants or visiting local vendors. Everything we wanted to do was easily within walking distance (like the Chocolate Museum!), yet we were nicely removed from the busy-ness of the main square. The ATM machine right down the road came in handy, too. We enjoyed the narrow cobbled roads (as one of our tour guides noted, "originally made for llama travel not cars") and how the hotel was tucked away at the end of a little alley.

Our only regret was that we didn't have more time to spend in Cusco, but if we come back, we'll be sure to stay again in the Casa San Blas.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I would not stay here again. We had two rooms for two nights. If you are a backpacker coming off the Inca trail or if you have a suite on the top floor then it might be considered nice. Otherwise there are many better hotels in Cusco. The pro's: really nice linens and the shower was nice (although the bathroom vented to the hallway). The location is OK. - a few minutes walk up from the main plaza. The con's: no exterior windows! (except if you are in the suites on the top floor.) The rooms were tiny. Breakfast was the lousiest in all my trips to South America. The lack of any windows and especially the lack of a view of this charming town is a huge detriment. I was very disappointed that our tour group booked us here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hydrangea987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The hotel was a little noisy, but that may have been the time of year. We were in Cusco during Corpus Christi and the holiday following. There were a lot of people in the city. Rooms were comfortable. Hot water was tricky to figure out in our room. Breakfast was very delicious. The staff very friendly and helpful. Be prepared for walking many hills!

Room Tip: Good location and good service
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The San Blas area of Cusco has a bohemian vibe and the Casa San Blas is tucked away at the edge, offering a wonderful setting and location for your stay in Cusco. Sitting a few blocks "up the hill" from the city center, the San Blas rooms are extremely clean, very nicely appointed and the boutique hotel has everything you will need. Very nice breakfast service, good internet available and computers to use if you wish, along with acaring staff made the 3 night stay excellent. I'd say it was a bit on the upscale side but certainly not a bank breaker. Bathrooms were spacious with great showers. We would recommend this property for travelers of any age and any number.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I stayed in 2 different rooms at the hotel during my travels and while they were nice rooms, there are no windows looking outside. The windows look into small atrium areas that look at a wall - no view. The only rooms with windows with a view are the suites (I asked). I have a small issue with claustraphobia, so wasn't ideal for me. They offered to upgrade me to a suite for the 2nd stay, but it didn't happen.

The location was great and fairly quiet (my first room was #101 right off of reception, which did have some noise from the staff and other guests). It is located between the San Blas Plaza and the Plaza de Armas.

The bar/restaurant wasn't open at night which would have been nice to get a nightcap at.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazcatrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 164 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Blas Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Blas Boutique

Property: Casa San Blas Boutique
Address: Tocuyeros 566 | Cuesta de San Blas, Cusco 05184, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Cusco
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa San Blas Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Blas is the first Boutique Hotel in Peru since 2003. Our cozy and intimate colonial house located in San Blas mingles the comfort and luxury with the customized service so you feel as home. Our philosophy in Casa San Blas, moreover, is that our guests have a real contact and experience with our traditions and knowledge. Thus, our guests admire elements of Peruvian culture such as traditionally hand-made weavings which are showcased throughout all our rooms and halls. We have also built a terrace balcony on the third floor to allow great views of the city of Cusco both day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa San Blas Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Blas Cusco
Casa San Blas Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing