We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa San Blas Boutique
Ranked #15 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Comfortable Place”
Reviewed 8 September 2007

We had a pleasant stay in Casa San Blas. The accommodations were decent and the staff was quite friendly. Elizabeth, at the front desk, provided us with maps and great restaurant recommendations. The walk to town was a couple of blocks, but it was more difficult getting back to the hotel because it was located towards the top of a hill.

There are two computers where hotel guests can use the internet & a great book section where you can trade one book for another.

Breakfast buffet is included and coca tea is always available.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lissy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    209
    54
    11
    8
See reviews for
164
339
49
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2007

Overall, we thought Casa San Blas and their staff were excellent. The only reason we give this hotel a 3 star rating is one cold shower experience on the last morning of our stay. We know we were not the only guests to have this issue. Even though we just had a standard double room, guests in one of their suites (with a hot tub) experienced issues with lack of hot water as well. The walls are thin and our rooms (both times) were located near the stairwell and you could hear the staff and guests banging around as early as 4 am.

Also, if you are not athletic, the fact that you have to climb up a steep hill each time from the Plaza de Armas might be an issue considering the altitude here. We often were out of breath each time we returned to the hotel and we consider ourselves pretty fit folks.

The rooms were nicely appointed with warm blankets, a space heater, and they even provide hot water bladders to put into your bed to heat up the sheets before going to sleep. They would stop by every evening to give you a chocolate and were very sympathetic to bouts of altitude sickness (they have coffee and coca tea available all day long).

The hotel's restaurant, Tiki Lounge, was convenient and we ate there on two separate occasions. The staff let us check in early and check out late as well as keep our luggage while we took a two day excursion to Machu Picchu.

A couple of things I found useful for the altitude: aspirin, saline nasal spray (to help with bloody noses), Kleenex, Sudafed, and Breath Rite Strips. We were so glad for the strips. It opens up your nasal passage way while you sleep to help take in more oxygen. We would usually go to bed with a headache and wake up without one with the Breath Rite Strips. It's always nice to feel healthier without having to take medicine.

Food: We did eat at some great restaurants. Pacha Pappa was right around the corner and some of the best authentic Peruvian food we had during our stay in Peru. The lamb in beer, cilantro, and onion soup was amazing (the lamb meat was so tender). Green's Restaurant was interesting, but do not eat anything raw unless you know your stomach can handle the local flora and fauna (mine didn't). On the other hand, the cooked meat dishes were excellent and had no stomach issues after the fact.

Day tours: We aren't usually big on doing the big bus thing. But SAS Travel (in Plaza de Armas) was a good find. For $10/person for a half day city tour and $15/person for the Sacred Valley day tour (included lunch) was a good deal. The buses only held 12 people max. The guide had 20 yrs experience and spoke English well (Martin). He pointed out all the clean bathrooms on the tour and helped guide us to markets that had better prices than Pisaq. This tour company also visits the archeological sites of Pisaq that many of the other tour companies skip (take 2.5 L of water for two people. It's high altitude will make you work out a bit and the locals sell you water at a premium near the site.) You'll want to buy the Cusco Bolletos Turistico for 70 soles/person that is good for sites over 10 days. The half priced one (40 soles) is only good for one day. You'll use these tickets extensively on these tours or while you are in Cusco. You can buy them while your on the tour or ahead of time in the Official Turist office near the Plaza de Armas (soles, cash only.)

  • Liked — The staff and location
  • Disliked — Cold showers and noise level in room
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TrvlFiends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

We stayed at the Casa San Blas both before and after we went to Machu Picchu. The service was great. We left some laundry before going to Machu Picchu and they had it in our room when we returned. We had the Senior Suite (rack rate $160). It was very large and had a separate kitchen and dining table, which we didn't use. My brother had a regular room and he said it was small. The breakfast buffet was okay. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you get the Senior Suite.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KWhis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2007

My boyfriend and I flew in from Lima at about 1:30pm and went to straight to this hotel. Since it is highly suggested to relax your first day in Cuzco in order to adjust to the altitude, we needed a comfortable place that was close to food. They offer complimentary coca tea, breakfast and are located a stone’s throw away from a variety of great restaurants and spectacular views of the city. Its location is also convenient to the Plaza which is only a few blocks away and we felt perfectly safe doing the walk at night. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. We only stayed 2 days and within that time they helped us order a taxi, suggested restaurants and booked us on a tour around the city. This hotel was perfect for our first nights in Cuzco and I recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Location, Comfort, Friendly/Helpful Staff
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank heyweave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days only; however, we can say that all the staff was extremely friendly. They were very willing to help with everyhting we needed. The rooms aren't huge but they are nice and cozy. The only thing was that my husband and I are used to sleeping in a king size bed and it seems like they only got queen size beds. Overall great place to stay at Cusco, only few blocks from the Plaza de Armas or Main square.

  • Liked — very clean, friendly staff
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ConnieCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2007

First of all, we've been in Casa San Blas during our honeymoon and I just can't think at any other place to stay in Cusco: the hotel is a little jem, and the staff is so sweet, smiling and helpful that we could feel they were our friends.
We booked for 4 days: the first three on a Junior Suite Apartment, and the last day on the Senior Suite apartment (the most expensive room of the hotel).
As we arrived we noticed that the staff updated our bookings for free: that's to say, we were granted the Senior Suite Apartment for our whole stay...without any extra money!
More than that, inside the room (beautiful and large) there was a large basket full of local products, food and a bottle of wine. We couldn't believe it was for us, but the staff insisted that it was a gift and invited us to taste those products!
Apart from the kindness of the staff (always smiling, always helpful, day and night!), the place is absolutely beautiful, with a very nice design and at a convenient distance from Plaza des Armas.
I'm grateful to Tripadvisor for introducing me to this little, nice hotel. f you go to Cusco, you should head to Hotel Casa San Blas without any doubt.
Ciao Eliiiiii!!!!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lokus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stirling
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2007

I found this hotel through this site as I didn't fancy any of those recommended by our agent. The hotel is right in the middle of the artistic quarter - San Blas - and only a 5 minute walk from the main Cucsco square. Rooms were great - ask for 315 as it's split level so has the most amazing view over the city.

The staff went out of their way to make this part of our honeymoon memorable and it was - only slight downside is the school next door - they start by 7.30 am and when they finish, a music school starts. Take it from me, not all the students are very good! As a result, do not stay in 316 or 317 as you'll be right next door.

Restaurant is great - we ate there twice and both meals were fantastic and very cheap.

  • Liked — the views, staff and quirkiness
  • Disliked — the music school
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank daisy_bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 164 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Blas Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Blas Boutique

Property: Casa San Blas Boutique
Address: Tocuyeros 566 | Cuesta de San Blas, Cusco 05184, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Cusco
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa San Blas Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Blas is the first Boutique Hotel in Peru since 2003. Our cozy and intimate colonial house located in San Blas mingles the comfort and luxury with the customized service so you feel as home. Our philosophy in Casa San Blas, moreover, is that our guests have a real contact and experience with our traditions and knowledge. Thus, our guests admire elements of Peruvian culture such as traditionally hand-made weavings which are showcased throughout all our rooms and halls. We have also built a terrace balcony on the third floor to allow great views of the city of Cusco both day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa San Blas Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Blas Cusco
Casa San Blas Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing