We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolating But Fun: Gringo Central”
Review of LOKI Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LOKI Cusco
Ranked #2 of 534 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Reviewed 5 January 2012

LOKI has internet, a bar with a happening party crowd, hot water, and informative staff. Inside the bar/cafe area, one could easily forget that they´re Cuzco because of the fraternity-style partying in the hostel. Not what I was looking for, but appeared to be haven for many young backpackers.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julia_inquisitiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 2,172 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2011

I stayed at the Loki hostel, Cusco and ended up working behind the bar! After months of backpacking, it is exactly what you need, especially before an arduous trek. Comfy beds, Western-style food and cheap alcohol. This may not be everyone's cup of tea, but it certainly is a great place to meet new people. There are different activities happening every night in the bar, from Karaoke to fancy-dress nights. Staff are also friendly and on hand to help out with things.

There is a travel agent on-site where you can book a variety of different tours and treks and pretty decent prices. The only downfall with Loki....you tend to get sucked in! One you're there its pretty hard to leave. Being on top of a huge hill, is just another excuse to stay at the hostel and never leave!

Its best to book in advance as this hostel tends to get booked up pretty quickly!

Room Tip: One of the girls-only dorms has an en suite bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertaDickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

PROS:
-Super affordable.. we paid like $7/nt/ea
-Great place to meet other travelers
-Good book exchange
-Super helpful staff
-Lots of community involvement and volunteering options
CONS:
-My ear plugs couldn't even help on the nights I needed a good night of sleep, the music blares until the wee hours
-The hill to get there is straight vertical
-I got food poisoning from their coconut soup.. it was the only bad food experience I had during a month of eating on the road

They have free internet but it's slow and only suffices for the basics.. I spent 2 hrs uploading 30 photos to my FB one night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We arrived at the Loki without a reservation but that wasn't a problem, we were shown to a 4 bed room which was nice, the beds were very comfortable, cleaned every day as were the bathrooms. We arrived on saturday and that night there was a toga party in the bar which was fun. The Loki is good for meeting fellow travellers and finding out places to go and see. There is also free internet in the bar and you can order food and drinks in the bar to be added to your bill or you can pay cash. You can also book trips from the LOKI, we booked our bus trip back to lima from the LOKI.The bar also has a huge tv screen where they play films or tv programs. Most of the staff were helpful. There are a couple of downsides to the loki, the biggest one is the location... at the top of a huge hill which is great when you are walking down to the plaza de armas but walking up it is a killer (although this is good practice if you are doing the inca trail). From the Loki it is about 10-15mins walk from the hostel, it would have been better to be a bit nearer to all the facilities. The other downside is the male staff in the bar who whether you want to hear it or not like to share very loudly their conquests the night before..this can be in the form of cheering the boy as he enters the bar followed by a lot of backslapping to step by step detail very loudly of everything they did, whether you want to hear it or not, the girl doesn't get away with it either, if you have a hangover this is the last thing you want to be hearing. Another downside was our room was near the bar and it was very noisy, the nigh before we were leaving for the inca trail to machu picchu we wanted to have an early night and thought the music from the bar would stop after 10pm as it says on most of the posters around the LOKI. However we were very wrong, we had to leave 2.30am to go and meet our pickup, the music stopped about 1.30am which wasn't ideal, I would recommend anyone to ask for a room away from the bar.

Room Tip: Away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazbgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Not a great location, up a very steep hill. Staff not that friendly. Do not think it’s a good idea that once you get into the hostel you cannot lock your bedroom door – not safe as they have a bar that is open to the public and anyone can walk passed you room and go in. Also when we went to check out there were extra charges for things bought at the bar and charged which we did not get, when we told them this they said this was our problem and to go to the bar to sort it – did not feel this was good enough. Positives - Rooms are nice. You have to pay to do a book swop. There is a information travel desk which is helpful. Check out is very good 1pm.

Room Tip: Try get a room away from the bar as the music is VERY loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voilareally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 week. We found the bar staff in particular to be unfriendly and unhelpful. My boyfirend and i had to stay a night in hospital due to food poisoning, yet we still got charged for the night in Loki! They also overcharged me as they didn´t take off my deposit that I paid with hostelworld when booking.I didn´t like the atmosphere in this hostel. Also, it´s up a huge hill which is really tough with the high altitude. I won´t say it´s terrible cos in fairness it´s clean and the food is good.Much prefer the Wild Rover.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollymark2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed in a 8 bed dorm with plenty of space and lockable trunks for luggage. The beds were comfortable and the shared bathrooms were clean with good showers. The bar is great fun and not too expensive. It is a 'party hostel' so if peace and quiet is what you're looking for, Loki isn't the place for you! The food is good, they offer free tea & coffee all day and a free breakfast of rolls with butter & jam. The bar shows films on a projector during the day and has a pool table and free internet access and WiFi.
It's a short walk into town but between the altitdue and the steepness of the hill Loki is located on, we often got a taxi back (you can get one from the main square for S/.4 or 5). All in all a great hostel and one I would recommend and stay in again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_100_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#160 of 172 in Cusco
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 534 in Cusco
736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#3 of 534 in Cusco
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pariwana Hostel Cusco
0.4 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#12 of 534 in Cusco
774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 534 in Cusco
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LOKI Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOKI Cusco

Address: Cuesta Santa Ana #601, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 534 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: £8 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — LOKI Cusco 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best base to explore Machu Picchu and the city of Cusco, loki is here to make every part of your stay remarkable with crazy parties, great facilities and amazing views. Our in-house tour agency will provide you with excellent travel advice on the best ways to see this amazing region. Take advantage of our free luggage storage while on your trek and when you return a hot shower, comfortable bed and the best parties in town will welcome you back. But be careful, you’ll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your LOKI Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loki Backpackers Hostel Cusco Peru Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing