We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only thing good is the bar”
Review of LOKI Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LOKI Cusco
Ranked #2 of 530 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on recommendation from friends who had stayed a long time ago I'm guessing things have changed since then???

Firstly we booked a 4-6 private room with ensure thinking that being a group of 4 we would get a private room, sadly we were mistaken though. We weren't adverse to sharing, but was then told there are no locks on the room door, as its a shared room which was very frustrating as our luggage didn't all fit in the lockers. The staff were extremely unfriendly no hellos not even acknowledging us whenever we were in the reception area.

Our room had a sink that leaked all over the floor and the bathroom smelled really bad, like sewage. We told the guy in reception at check out, but he didn't seem to care. All the furniture is worn falling apart and old especially the reception area. There is also only wifi in the reception area, which didn't work at all while we were there and wouldn't connect to our iPhones.

The location is quite far from the town centre and is at the top of a very large set of steps

The only decent thing about Loki is the bar is fun and the bar staff are nice. Do yourself a favour and book somewhere else there's many other places to choose from for the same price.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RustySkyz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 2,045 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Great place to meet people and party.
The tours to mp and surrounding areas are awesome as well as the information and help provided to you.
If you don't stay here still rock up for the tours and information.
We ended up going on the 4 day jungle adventure trek, it was awesome, make sure you request Sam as a tour guide he made the trip and was incredibly informative as well as fun, trust me on this we watched other groups with other guides and were very thankful.
Cheers Loki and Sam for a unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat19788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Cool people, fun parties, nice room for every budget. It is located close to the center, but up the hill, so its a little annoing to climb that hill after a long day. Other then that its perfect . There is also an option to work there for free stay

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivgi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I had booked a tour with Loki Travel, and booked their Deluxe Matrimonial Suite for the night we returned, thinking I'd want a comfortable accommodation with nice amenities the day after my three day adventure tour. Unfortunately, the morning we were picked up for our tour, the guide informed us a landslide had wiped out roads and wouldn't be fixed for a few days, so we couldn't go. We'd already checked out of the hostel we'd stayed in the night before (Milhouse, which I highly recommend), so the guide said we could see about staying in Loki. He brought us back to the hostel, where we were told they definitely had rooms and they'd get us one as soon as possible and give us a discount. After two hours of sitting in their waiting room being thoroughly ignored (after waking up at 5:30am for the tour we never got to go on), we walked around until we finally found a staff member, who told us they were completely booked up and we couldn't stay there, and their travel desk wasn't open yet so we'd have to come back later to find out how else we could get to Machu Picchu with our tour being cancelled. (It should be noted that Loki is up a huge steep hill, so "coming back later" isn't just an easy stroll.) We went back to Milhouse, who was incredibly accommodating in getting us a room last-minute, even letting us check in at 8:30am so we could get more sleep.

All in all, we had to make 4 different treks up the massive hill to Loki that day, because they were having so much trouble making other arrangements for us and we kept being told to come back later. In fact, at first they told us the trek was cancelled and we were out the money and on our own, but I complained and refused to leave until we got a partial refund and other arrangements. Loki is very inconveniently located, with no other sites or restaurants around, so we had to keep making the hike up there instead of being able to hang out nearby. What finally got me extremely mad, however, was when we were told there actually was no landslide, and we should've been able to go on the tour. Apparently our guide was just feeling lazy that day, and lied to us to get out of it, after we travelled all the way to Peru specifically for this.

We'd already booked our luxury room for the night we got back from Machu Picchu, so we decided to still stay there. After waiting a long time in the office, which never seems to be staffed, we were led to the room. It certainly was big and beautiful, exactly like the pictures, but absolutely freezing and it's next-to-the-bar location meant pounding music and vibrating walls until 3am- not something you want after climbing 2 different mountains that day. The shower was clean and hot, and there was a tea maker in the room with a little seating area. At 5am the next morning, after two hours of sleep since the bar closed, a nearby rooster began crowing incessentantly, and didn't stop until around 9am. We heard other people around the hostel screaming and cursing about the rooster as well, so I know it echoed through the whole place. Definitely not a place to stay if you'd like to sleep. I did go check out the bar, and it was not very fun. Too loud for anyone to talk to each other, so most people were just sitting around staring and sipping their drinks. The breakfast served there in the morning was just a roll of bread with some butter, although I think you were able to order more food if you wanted.

Although the Deluxe Suite was the nicest room we stayed in for a reasonable price, I would never return to Loki for anything. Their travel desk tried to screw us out of hundreds of dollars by cancelling our tour for no reason and trying to avoid giving us a refund (I got it by saying if they didn't help us I'd just call my Visa card and have the transaction reversed, leaving them with zero of our money), the office was never staffed, the bar was too loud and small to be any fun, the breakfast was minimal, we were lied to by multiple staff members, so loud you could only sleep between 3am and 5am, and no staff around cleaning or setting out tea and coffee in their main area, like other hostels. Horrible location with nothing nearby- I wanted to eat after my full day at Machu Picchu but was told they don't serve food and there are no restaurants nearby unless you want to walk up and down the massive hill, which isn't appealing after climbing two mountains. Comfortable bed, hot shower, otherwise awful in every way.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AleeBeav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Rooms are comfortable with clean hot showers and away from the bar area so quiet. Bar serves a good range of Peruvian/Spanish/English food, has a pool table, table tennis table, often shows films and has a great nightlife at night. Location is up the hill a five/ten minute walk from the central square. Nice little place to escape to but also has a tourist help centre inside the hostel to help with getting out and about in the city and surrounding area (Machu Pichu), not necessarily the cheapest tour options but easy to organise. Wifi is not in rooms and weak in the bar area but there is a computer room with fast internet. No laundry service but laundrette next door which does laundry in a day. Stay on reception a bit moody at times but generally heloful and bar staff are lively. Great for a few days ... lots of people stay longer!

Room Tip: 106 has great views and nicest dorms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraElizabeth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I highly recommend staying at loki cusco. I stayed in a private room with a bathroom which was amazing. We had towels, soap, shampoo, tea, kettle and hot water bottles for those chilly nights. The beds were insanely comfy and the shower was so hot! We also stayed in a dorm which was nice and had adequate security and the communal bathrooms were always clean. Don't stay here if you don't want to party and you like to sleep. The in house bar gets pretty crazy and they like to play the music loud. If you can't sleep, join the party! The only down fall is its located up a giant hill which is tough in the altitude. Good training for Machu Picchu!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

anyone who's ever stayed here knows that climbing the staircase from the center of cusco to the loki hostel is a good way to get acclimated to the altitude in the andes. the buses from Puno all arrive at 4 am, but the staff at Loki is prepared...they will cheerfully give you an open bed and let you shower and take a nap until the official check-in around noon. the rooms are nice, the water is hot, the food is good and plentiful. sleep is the only thing hard to come by, as the music rocks til 2 am and the crowd takes at least an hour to disperse.
it's a great place to meet fellow travelers, but most likely the sort who are moving from one party to another.
wifi is sketchy.
all in all the place is nice and well run, and deserves its reputation.

Room Tip: small rooms with private bath are furthest from the bar, so offer the best chance at quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#160 of 172 in Cusco
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 530 in Cusco
735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#3 of 530 in Cusco
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pariwana Hostel Cusco
0.4 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#10 of 530 in Cusco
774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 530 in Cusco
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LOKI Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOKI Cusco

Address: Cuesta Santa Ana #601, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 530 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: £8 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — LOKI Cusco 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best base to explore Machu Picchu and the city of Cusco, loki is here to make every part of your stay remarkable with crazy parties, great facilities and amazing views. Our in-house tour agency will provide you with excellent travel advice on the best ways to see this amazing region. Take advantage of our free luggage storage while on your trek and when you return a hot shower, comfortable bed and the best parties in town will welcome you back. But be careful, you’ll never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your LOKI Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loki Backpackers Hostel Cusco Peru Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing