We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location spot on and a good value option”
Review of Hostal El Triunfo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal El Triunfo
Ranked #13 of 400 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Stayed in room 202 for 4 nights for $40 with balcony and double and single bed so plenty of room to spread out. Rocky start with no pick up (admittedly I only confirmed on day of flight) and no hot water on arrival which is never good after a long bus trip. Lady on the 2pm - 10pm shift who is the best English speaker was always extremely helpful and resolved this fairly promptly and never had an issue with hot water for rest of my stay. Taxi from airport wax S20 after first price was S50 - They love to get into your pocket in Cusco. Location is great with main square a 2 minute stroll away. Cusco is very hilly but apart from the stairs up to the lobby this is a good choice...others much more of an effort. Breakfast was ok with the usual bread, jam, coffee / tea and orange juice, bananas etc and hot water through out the day for tea etc. Wifi worked fine on lobby floor (care different connection for the kitchen area) but not on the second floor...although they were in process of installing at time of stay) Also stayed in twin room for one night, single room for one night and double room on 2nd floor for one night (last 2 $35 a night). Pick of the rooms def the 3 at the front with balconies...street noise wasn't really noticeable as I think they have installed new sound proof doors. 2nd floor rooms are much newer / modern but no wifi as yet and another set of stairs to climb. Front door locked at 10pm but buzzer access etc. Very safe area. Jacks Cafe a very nice option close by (turn left out front door and past the 12 sides stone). Can leave bags as needed for MP trip. Plenty of night clubs in the plaza but can't really say they were that much of an issue...if you want super quiet then try one of the 5 stars in town. Beds were a bit hit and miss with the single in 202 and the double upstairs not giving the best sleep but the others were softer and pretty good. Best thing going for El Triunfo is the non hilly location and the great service provided by staff (although morning staff are not as strong on English) which was my fault not theirs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel. The staff was very nice, breakfast was good (nothing special) and the room had a great view of the cusco hills, but the hot water lasted only a few minutes and we must have been close to a nightclub, because there was some loud music starting at 11pm.
At night they close the front door and to get in you have to ring the bell, so we kept hearing that bell throughout the night. We visited Machu Picchu and came back, leaving most of our luggage behind which they stored without any problem.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel2dive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Nice rooms. Good location near main plaza. Allowed us to leave our bags there during our Inca Trek for 4 days. Staff were friendly. Only down point was that our room was next to the kitchen so it was really noisy in the morning with people talking.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanialeec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This small hostal is located a half block from the Plaza de Armas, at the bottom of San Blas and has a very friendly staff. Our room had a balcony and it was very cool to watch people just living their every day life from up there. Location is the best, again, is right next to one of the best downtown Cusco restaurants..Cicciolina and just 3 blocks from Fallen Angel, if you are looking for night life, everything is walking distance. coca tea was there all the time, a modest breakfast was included also. They stored our luggage for free while we were doing a 5 day Salkantay trek..awesome! Again, El Triunfo has the best location and the friendliest staff. I will definitely recommend it and go back again
Cathya

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are fun and not noisy as other reviewers said. It is totally worth the price. Can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobCaTSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

2 friends and I stayed here for 1 night, then did the Inca trail for 4 days, and came back for 2 more nights. During the time we were gone, they stored our luggage at no cost. When we got back from the inca trail, all 3 of us gave them our laundry, which was returned to us the next evening, at a charge of 4.50 soles/kg. No damaged clothing.

Pros:
- Nice Staff
- Free breakfast
- Free internet
- Hot Water

Cons:
- Hot water runs out after the 2nd person
- Rooms were cold (however, there are plenty of blankets)

Overall, I recommend this place because of its location and how friendly the girls were that work here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vahe a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night in Apr 2012.
The location is very good. It's just around the corner of Plaza de Armas. However, the hotel is on the second floor (I don't know if it's first or second) and that it has no lift. In case you carry big suitcases, it's not easy for you. Staff may help sometimes.

My room was facing the hotel entrance street. The front desk area was very dim. Luckily, the room was clean and bright with natural light as it had a tiny balcony (around 10 inches in depth I think). I liked the bathroom as it's spacious, the water was hot and there's plenty of space at the window place to put your shampoo/shower gel/etc. But it's very noisy in the bathroom as the window's open for fresh air. You could hear what people said on the street. It got very noisy at night. I could hear people singing karaoke at night. You could just shut the bathroom door and I was OK with it.

Staff there was very helpful and once when we got there, a young man explained to us where to get here and there with some illustrations on a map. He also served us with coca tea.

We wanted to book for one more night after our trip to Machu Picchu but it's full there and we booked another one around. We at first wanted to walk to there and the lady there helped us to search for the route to get there. We ended up taking a taxi to get to the other hotel. The lady helped us to call for a taxi. She helped us to carry our luggage downstairs!! I didn't expect her, a lady, to do so as my luggage was not small. Anyway maybe it's actually quite heavy to her, she just threw the luggage inside the taxi like throwing a rubbish. Well, I'm OK with it.

One more thing, when we checked out, they rejected one of our 100 soles notes as they said it's fake. We were very unhappy because the note was exchanged in their country!! Luckily we just could spend it out elsewhere. We were not sure of their standard of identifying the authenticity of a note.

Overall speaking, it's worth for the money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I stayed with my three kids at El Triunfo and it was the perfect choice for comfortable, safe, clean and non-expensive accommodation. It's just a short stroll to the Plaza de Armas, there's plenty of restaurants around and a nice market across the road. The staff were friendly and helpful, they gave us good advice and through them we were able to book a very friendly driver for a full day and do our own Sacred Valley tour. There is plenty of coca tea at any time and the breakfast is good. Would definitively go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssussurross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#35 of 171 in Cusco
789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#10 of 171 in Cusco
939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Los Andes De America Hotel
0.1 mi away
La Posada del Viajero
La Posada del Viajero
#5 of 400 in Cusco
492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casona les Pleiades
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Triunfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Triunfo

Address: Triunfo 379, Cusco 001, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 400 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: £37 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal El Triunfo 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of the magical city of Cusco only half block from the Main Square is Hostal El Triunfo , behind the Cathedral, where you will find a warm welcome and will feel at home. We are near everything: restaurants, museums, art galleries, churches, discos, pubs, etc. We have large, light and comfortable bedrooms with private bathroom, with hot and cold water all day long. TV cable and telephone, some of they have balconies to Triunfo Street; and all of them have beautiful views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal El Triunfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing