We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like having family in Cusco!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Torre Dorada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Torre Dorada
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Like having family in Cusco!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2008

When a small hotel consistently beats a town full of 5 star hotels, it usually means that it is something special. The superlatives about the warm hospitality, the 24/7 service, and the comfortable amenities are all true! On top of that - Rafael, Oscar, Rosemarie, Norma, Arturo, Victor and Dani are some of the nicest people you'll ever hope to meet.

We stayed at the Torre Dorada for 9 days total while in Peru - 6 days over the Xmas week volunteering at a health clinic, another day after Lake Titicaca and 2 more after Machu Picchu. And it felt like coming home each time.

I found out that my father passed away on the quick overnighter back from Puno and even though I did not tell the hotel staff about it while making arrangements, they were helpful as if they knew. Now that is genuine and generious hospitality!

We hope to be back in Cusco in the near future and we look forward to coming home to the Torre Dorada.

Maria and Barbara

  • Liked — The people
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ri-write
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,245
    135
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
259
660
101
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2008

This is a great little hotel with excellent staff who will ensure that you make the most of time in Cusco and the region. Trust their recommendations for what to see and where to eat. Our room was small but comfortable. Everything was very clean and in perfect working order. There is a common area with lounges and a TV on each floor.

Breakfast was enjoyable but unfortunately we were only able to enjoy it on one day due to some early departures. Prices for extra services were far less than you would pay at most hotels - 4 soles per day for unlimited use of the internet, 10 soles per kg for washing, and international phone calls for $0.60 per minute.

The hotel is located in a quiet residential area, but with the staff happy to give you free transfers to and from the airport, train station and city centre this isn't a problem. Just call and they'll be there in a few minutes. Very easy.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank StevePER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Torre Dorada in September before going up to Machu Piccu. Peggy and her crew were great. They made us feel like it was our home. Even though the hotel is not directly in the Plaza De Armas they were always willing to give us a ride there and to the train station too. If you are going to Cuzco this place is the best you will find for the money!

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lkrs905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2008

My husband and I visited Peru just after Christmas and after many e-mails back and forth with Peggy and Rosemarie we were not disappointed with the Torre Dorada. Every member of the staff is caring, considerate and really try hard to make it all happen. We didn't get to meet Peggy as she was away but Raphael, Rosemarie, Arturo, Victor, Cristobal, Danny and everyone else handled everything beautifully. They are concerned for your safety and their lunch/dinner recommendations were always a hit. We did have some bumps in the road - none their fault - but Rosemarie and Raphael were quick in finding solutions and everything worked out in the end. We highly recommend the Torre Dorada!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ruthless714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2008

Without restating what others have said, this is a great place to stay. The Torre Dorada is the best value of any hotel I´ve ever stayed. The staff is extremely helpful and I´ve never received such personal attention. They drove us wherever we wanted... free of charge. We took the train to Machu Picchu at 6 a.m. and they had breakfast ready early and packed us box lunches... free of charge. We left our bags at the hotel while we were away for two days and they kept our bags and room safe... free of charge. The room and all of these services were only $75 a day! If you´re going to Cusco this is the place to stay.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank NateK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2008

The Torre Dorada in Cusco Peru has simple clean rooms at a bargain price. Yet the best deal is the entire friendly and helpful staff. We have never been so well taken care of, from the clear and helpful referrals, complimentary transportation service and box lunches! When we had complications, such as a landslide train delay they referrred us to a hotel in Auga Calenties and comped that day on our room at the Torre Dorada even though is was not in any way required.

These people are the nicest hotel staff we have every encounter. You should stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — The staff was the best ever
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoPolo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2008

My family and I (5 people) visited Peru over Christmas, and stayed at Torre Dorada for 2 nights while in Cusco. We had read a positive review in Fodors, but were so impressed with the level of service we had to share our experience! The hotel staff assisted us prior to our stay with them by arranging a driver (Victor) who picked us up at the Cusco airport, drove us to pick up our train tickets to Machu Picchu, then drove us (in a very comfortable van) to Pisac where we spent our first night. The next morning Victor picked us up at our hotel in Pisac and gave us a tour of the Sacred Valley, as well as taking us to a wonderful restaurant for lunch in Urubamba. Additionally he drove us up to the high plains to see the salt flats. Finally, he drove us all the way to our next hotel in Ollantaytambo. We all felt like celebrities!
When we returned to Cusco several days later, Victor picked us up at the train station and drove us to Torre Dorada. The hotel is out of town about 10 minutes, but drivers are available to take you in and out when ever you want. It was not a deterent, and actually much quieter staying out of town. The rooms are comfortable and very clean, and breakfasts, which are served on the 4th floor with good views of the mountains, are delicious and filling. The staff could not be more accomodating. Rafael,who speaks excellent English, made sure that all of us received the most personal service! Good restaurants and important sights were recommended by him.
Janet Messick

  • Liked — service
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank janetmessick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
1.0 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
1.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ninos Hotel
Ninos Hotel
#24 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
1.3 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Dorada

Property: Hotel Torre Dorada
Address: Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco CUSC01, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cusco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Residential area 10 minutes away from Main Plaza, Personalized and medical attention, We give advice on where to eat and tours in general according to your preference and we help you with any kind of problem that may arise during your stay in Cusco, airline and bus reservations, etc. We are your "home away from home" we provide FREE transportation to the Plaza, airport and bus terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Torre Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dorada Hotel
Torre Dorada Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing