We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't beat the care and service you receive from the staff at this hotel”
Review of Hotel Torre Dorada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Torre Dorada
Ranked #5 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Torre Dorada is a nice, safe and clean hotel. But what distinguishes it from any and all hotels I've ever stayed at is its service and the care that is provided by the staff. Peggy, the owner, treats the customers like friends, if not family. Anyone from the kitchen to the front desk to the drivers are very friendly and helpful. Very accommodating and professional service is coupled with honesty and care.

One of the best things is the free transportation to and from the hotel to anywhere in Cusco - the airport, downtown, restaurants, etc... The rooms are nice and the bonus is the small sitting area with a TV on each floor that adds living space for the guests. The breakfast is very good, specially compared to other places we stayed at in Peru.

Both my son and I got altitude sickness on two separate days while in Cusco and Peggy came to our room herself to administer the oxygen and monitor our heart rate etc... and stayed until she felt comfortable that we were fine.

If you want to stay at a place where you will have local people caring for you and treating you the way you would like to be treated, look no further. Thank you again Mario, Marco, Aunt Peggy and everyone else!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NXNXNX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

549 - 555 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

Peggy and team show what hospitality and gracious service is all about. In a town that is certainly not cheap and is rife with tourist traps, it's easy to fall foul of spending money unnecessarily. This hotel however embodies the ethos that not every dollar in your pocket is theirs to swipe. I've never stayed anywhere that delivered such value for money. A fantastic staff, quiet area, free 24 hour transfer service to and from town and clean quarters make for in our opinion, one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. I honestly think every hotel chain in the world would be wise to learn from them.

Rooms: The rooms are comfortable, functional, clean (wooden floors kept spotless), the beds are firm and the linens fresh. The area is quiet and you'll get a good night's sleep, which is important as you acclimatise to the altitude.

Staff: I said it all in the intro. From arrival to departure your treated like a long-lost relative. Mario and Jose the drivers are wonderful gentlemen and if you need a transfer to Ollantaytambo they'll take you. Lucy and Carina in the dining room put on a great breakfast and honestly make the most fluffy and delicious omelettes.

Value: An unequivocal "YES" in this category. This is not a 5 star hotel, but honestly, stay here and realise you wouldn't NEED 5 star hotels if every city had a Torre Dorada.

We were both sad to leave Cusco and the magic of Machu Picchu behind us......and if anything is an endorsement of this hotel, in the same breath as saying that I would say we were sad to leave the team at Torre Dorada behind us as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in 403 (top floor) which had more "walking space" and a nice view (though on top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sa-moorei-blogspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This is one of the finest hotels I have ever stayed in. Peggy and her staff understand the concept of customer service that so many other hotels just don't get. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. My backpack did not arrive with me at Cuzco airport and needless to say I was worried as it had most everything I needed for Machu Picchu trek. Martin at the front desk checked with the airport every hour until he could confirm that it finally arrived. They were just so diligent about helping me.

Am from Chicago area and have stayed in big name, high priced, Michigan Ave hotels and I will tell you the experience at this hotel blows them away. Somewhat off the beaten path but they will shuttle you to and from downtown Cuzco as needed. Even gave us a hotel cell phone to call when we wanted to be picked up.

This is perfect place to stay to acclimate prior to any treks.

RLL

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rlauer4564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My husband and I just returned from Peru. On our journey we stayed at the Torre Dorada on three separate occasions. We felt very safe and extremely well cared for. They provided all our transportation to airport, shopping and restaurants for free. They stored our bags when we went to Machu Picchu and Manu Park so that we could take a small back pack with essentials for the individual trips. Restaurant recommendations were excellent. Also, they told me where to go for the most authentic alpaca sweaters. Breakfast was plentiful everyday with eggs cooked to order. Service requests were prompt such as bringing us not only the wine glasses we requested to our room but also a corkscrew. It was a nice quiet environment, more restful than the hectic pace down by the square. There is a nice outdoor deck on the third floor that was perfect for sipping wine at the end of a long day shopping! The quick ride from the hotel to the square is only 10 minutes (15 if traffic is heavy). I would stay there again and again!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a lower level if the stairs are difficult for you. Altitude can make the stairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dixiepeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

If you are looking for a hotel in Cusco, this is it. Hotel Torre Dorada provides the best customer service of any hotel I have ever stayed at, hands down. They offer free airport pick up and drop off, but better than that, they will drop you off anywhere in Cusco, 24 hours a day, for free! They will also pick you up from the city center for free (24 hours a day). From the maids to the hotel manager, the staff goes above and beyond to make sure your stay is excellent.

When you first arrive, they provide you with coca tea and even offer oxygen for those who are having difficulty with the altitude. The free breakfast is great. It includes different cereals, breads, juices and eggs cooked to order. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the shower nice and warm. They offer free drinking water to all guests with as many refills as you want (believe me, this is a very nice perk).

While we hiked the Inca Trail, the hotel held our bags in a secure room for free and then had them waiting for us back in our rooms when we returned. On our final day in Cusco, even after we had checked out, they came and picked us up from the city center and allowed us to relax on the roof terrace until it was time to go to the airport. They even came up to the terrace with coca tea for free. All this, and we had already checked out!

Look at the other reviews and do yourself a favor. Stay at the Hotel Torre Dorada!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in April and we were very impressed! Very friendly, helpful and made us feel at home. Free taxi to Plaza Del Armas and wonderful breakfast in the morning. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaimezs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The exceptional customer service, and personal attention remain a delightful memory for us at this hotel. We had the good luck to choose Torre Dorada for our last three nights in Peru following two weeks in the Sacred Valley culminating with the wedding of our son at Machu Picchu. This hotel is a comfortable oasis, tastefully appointed in hardwoods, each floor with a comfortable lounge, (equipped with tea and coffee, and a computer). It has the atmosphere of a well-run and organized B&B, the staff brimming with helpful local knowledge and suggestions to make your stay meaningful and fulfilling. The property is in a working class neighborhood, about 2 km away from Cusco's central square, but no matter. The staff will immediately (and will insist) drive you to points of interest, and will pick you up within minutes anywhere in the city after a call from one of the many phone boxes. This includes prompt delivery and pick-up at the airport. Breakfasts are outstanding, and cooked to order. But again, the exceptional customer service is what will draw us back. You can't go wrong at Torre Dorada. Note: we stayed in September of 2011 - we were late posting this review.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.3 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#11 of 172 in Cusco
961 reviews
1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#16 of 172 in Cusco
1,561 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#25 of 172 in Cusco
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Dorada

Address: Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco 08007, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £33 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Residential area 10 minutes away from Main Plaza, Personalized and medical attention, We give advice on where to eat and tours in general according to your preference and we help you with any kind of problem that may arise during your stay in Cusco, airline and bus reservations, etc. We are your "home away from home" we provide FREE transportation to the Plaza, airport and bus terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Torre Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dorada Hotel
Torre Dorada Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing